We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST PLACE TO STAY IN LANESBORO, MN” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Certificate of Excellence
Hiawatha, Iowa
1 review
“BEST PLACE TO STAY IN LANESBORO, MN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

For the past 4 or 5 years we have stayed here at the Sone Mill Suites in Lanesboro, MN. We started coming around our wedding anniversary, but now we like to come anytime we can get away. It's a very relaxing & comfortable atmosphere. We always have stayed in the Grain Room because we like the view looking over main street, seeing the people coming and going around town. We love that the hotel close to shopping, the bike trail, and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garyandleanndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    71
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
61
259
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Merton, WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

We really enjoyed the Stone Mill and the shop next door. Everyone we met was great (including Picasso from the the Commonweale) except for the waiter at the pastry shop the day we left. The only suggestion I would have for the Inn is to put a cover over the toilet. We stayed in the Garden Suite and in the bathroom, there was no lid on the toilet. I feel uncomfortable flushing the toilet as there is a lot of "stuff" that comes up into the air when you flush the toilet. Also, there was no place to sit down and put on lotion, slippers, etc.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarybelleMerton_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle Plaine, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

Great hospitality and service when we wondered about taking an Amish tour. Very helpful! Our room was spectacular and we felt very relaxed and at home. Lanesboro is a great little town with lots to do. We hated to leave!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akahle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

We picked the garden loft because it had a loft with a queen size bed and on the main level had a full size futon when our adult son slep. The staff was very helpful and breakfest was great.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptJoeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

We have stayed here twice and would stay again. It is very clean and roomy. Nice breakfast provided and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It it right close to everything in town including the biking trail, beautiful scenery. It will be gorgeous in the fall.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liv052301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cross Plains, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

A historic building renovated with theme rooms that are inpired by the history of the building and the area of Lanesboro. Peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARKIPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed at the Stone mill Suites 8/17-20/2010. The room was very clean, and well maintained. The themed rooms are neat, and we stayed in the Grain Room overlooking Main Street. We had cinnamon rolls and coffee every morning on the porch, and watched the town wake up. The staff gave us tips, and insight into business we expressed interest in visiting. All this and just a few hundred yards from one of the best rail trails in the country!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie5years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanesboro
13.5 mi away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
21.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Spring Valley
17.9 mi away
White Valley Motel
White Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Saint Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Mill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Property: Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
Address: 100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone Mill Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1885: Stone Mill Suites Historic Inn Hotel at the Lanesboro Feed Mill is a unique lodging destination. The limestone building has nine themed suites that depict the history of the building and the unique charm of Lanesboro. Room amenities may include; iron-claw fireplaces, double whirlpool baths, private baths, lofts, coffee, microwave and mini-refrigerator stations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing