We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable weekend”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lanesboro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brewster's Red Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Reviewed 14 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here a weekend in early June. I made a reservation here a few months prior without much knowledge of lodging options in Lanesboro. This was a surprise trip for the wife. I scoured the web reading reviews and checking prices and availability. So I picked it without any first hand knowledge or referrals from friends. During the weekend, we biked, walked, and drove around Lanesboro and we did not see one place we'd rather have stayed at, and some we are glad we did not chose. On arrival we were very impressed with the location and quality for the price. The owner greeted us, showed us our room and provided several nearby dining options for dinner when we inquired. We stayed in Butternut East. Much of it was newly remodeled: carpet, new doors, paint, the entire bathroom. Very cozy and relaxing. It is right next to the Root River bike trail, which is beautiful. You can bike many miles either east or west right from here. Walk to many restaurants and theaters, just 1-2 blocks away. A simple continental breakfast of coffee and bagels or English muffins was appreciated. Parking and inside bike storage were provided. The only downside were the late night noisy drunks from the bar across the street. Otherwise very relaxing and quiet.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MinnesotaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed at Brewster's Red Hotel over Memorial day with the intention to bike a lot. Unfortunately the weather did only let us bike for one day, which was fine. There are also other activities to do, so we had a good time. The Brewster's Red Hotel was a good choice. Nice, clean rooms with beautiful Amish furniture. Access to a micro wave and fridge so we could warm up and store the milk for our son. They have storage space for your bikes, which is very confenient. We also had a nice little terrase outside of our rooms where we could sit and have a drink, the kids could play in the yard.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cherry room, which was perferct for myself, my husband and our 3 year old son. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnetteandHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Brewster's Red Hotel is centrally located in downtown Lanesboro, so it's easy to walk from there to the stores, restaurants, bike trails and rivers. The staff was very friendly later on, but no one was there when we checked in, so we had to search for our key. The beds were comfortable and the room was cute, but there wasn't breakfast like there had been advertised. Lanesboro itself is one of my favorite towns in the Midwest, or even in the US in general. I'd definitely recommend visiting if you're into nature, biking, homemade food or Amish culture.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two days (July 2012). We enjoyed our stay and will visit the hotel and bike trail again. The room, grounds, and hotel are clean and tidy. This is a perfect spot to stay when biking the Root River trail. The owners are very helpful in every way and offered to pick us up on the trail if the weather turned bad (thunder storms). The grounds offer some nice areas to relax outside after your ride, and everything in the town is a short walk. We live in Chicago and consider this a great area to ride. The drive from LaCrosse is very beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

My wife and I visited Lanesboro this week for two days of biking and rest. Brewsters was a clean, fresh hotel located literally steps from the bike trail. The owners were very involved and concerned that we have a good stay. Our room was great and our short trip to southeast Minnesota was a healthy break. Thanks much!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pine room, which is one of the upper rooms. better view and breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I'm told that there are new owners this year, so some of the older reviews may not be totally relevant. We rented the Aspen apartment. The four apartments are in a separate building just south of and behind the main building. Our apartment was on the same level as a small parking lot which was also up the hill in back of the main building - this is the only apartment or room that does not require at least one flight of steps to get from your car to your room. The apartment has two rooms - a living room/kitchen and a separate bedroom with the bathroom in-between. The apartment was clean and well kept; the owners seemed to be on top of everything and the place is well run. You have your own deck (ours faced west) with a very nice view of surrounding trees and the Parkway. Some of the tree cover mitigated the setting sun in the evening. There was a table and chairs on the deck, so dining al fresco is an option. Bringing in take-out or cooking something yourself is a good idea, especially if you don't want to loose your parking space or walk down/up the hill to dinner.
Be aware that this hotel sits on a hillside, as you can see from their website pictures. If you're in an apartment, you have three flights of stairs to take (or a steep hill in the alleyway aside of the hotel) if you want to walk down to the street for shopping or dinner. If you drive, you take a narrow alley to the backstreet and then down to the Parkway (better than the very steep alleyway aside of the hotel). Also be aware that there are not enough parking spaces for everyone, so you may have to park on the street.
The owners set out regular coffee and some type of pastry for breakfast, nothing else.
Prices seem on the high side for mid-week ($130 for the apartment), but relatively good for what you get with respect to the rest of Lanesboro (I don't think that Lanesboro is a bargain for lodging, but demand seems to exceed supply in season!). The location is very convenient to restaurants and shops. As other reviews have pointed out, there are also chairs and grills on the hill (relatively flat terrace half-way up) in front of the apartments and to the side of the main building. All in all, it's a lovely setting if you don't mind taking steps.

Room Tip: Aspen apartment to avoid steps between your car and the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coon_Rapids_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Right beside the Root River Trail, this quiet hotel is perfectly placed for bicyclists and has good bike storage. The new owners, Jim and Pam Watson, are friendly folk who have made this already good hotel a great place to stay--clean and modern rooms with elegant Amish-carpentered furniture, nicely appointed two-room suites also. We very much enjoyed sitting on the porches or hill under the trees watching the activity on the street and listening to the birds. Good restaurants and the restored 1928 wooden Spud Boy diner opposite an added attraction.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank jblakesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Brewster's Red Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster's Red Hotel

Address: 106 Parkway Ave S, PO Box 196, Lanesboro, MN 55949-9774
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing