We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Owners, Incredible Property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackwater Lodge

Blackwater Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blackwater Lodge
WI, USA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Owners, Incredible Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

If you are looking for a scenic and private place to host a gathering, the Blackwater Lodge is a perfect spot. An incredible amount of thought and detail went into this beautifully appointed "cabin" on the lake. The layout of the property definitely has large groups in mind with the main floor being an open space with a seating area and fireplace, deck, large kitchen, a master bedroom and bath, half bath and laundry. Upstairs is a multi-level movie room and the downstairs features another living area, wine room, large bedrooms, a two-sided fireplace, and bathrooms. As other reviewers have mentioned, sleeping large groups is no problem.
In addition there is a pontoon, ski boat, jet skis, water trampoline, plus a firepit, land for hiking and snowmobiles for the winter months. I have been to the Blackwater in both winter and summer and both were incredible stays. One was shortly after the new owners took over and then about a year later. By the second trip they had made many improvements to the property, although it was beautiful to begin with. I found the owners to be very accomodating and helpful. There is something so warm and inviting about this place - it is wonderful for an intimate gathering and I am already planning our next stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandPrincess30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    1
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

The house is beautiful and the grounds are decent (although very soggy). The water in the house is very rusty and my daughter's blonde hair turned orange from showering at the house (and we couldn't get it out!). The boat equipment (which you pay a lot for) wasn't working very well and we had to make several calls to the owner to get it working. It is old equipment. We also had difficulty getting the grill to work too. We never could get the surround sound stereos to work in the house. What really irritated me, however, was that we never received our deposit back. I sent several emails to the owners and tried to call them and never received an acknowledgement. I now have had to go through a dispute process in order to get the $1500 deposit back. Very frustrating!
All in all, although the house is nice, I am not sure it was worth the money that we paid, especially since we haven't been able to get our deposit back. I have a feeling that these owners are in financial trouble.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MNTraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpls, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

The home is very nice and very spacious on a lovely lake. The kitchen is large enough for 4 or 5 to cook in. We were 22 ladies sharing the 4 bathrooms and that worked well. Here are a few suggestions: Towel racks in the bathrooms for wet towels; more large pots and pans would be very useful, after all large groups have to cook big quanities. We ran out of toilet paper after the first day so bought our own. Never saw a roll of paper towels anywhere which would have been nice for cleaning spills or drying wet counters. The carpets were quite soiled by September so maybe the cleaning service should at least spot clean them.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, MN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

Perfect for large groups. We had many and never felt like we were on top of eachother. Plenty of room. They have thought of many amenities that I would not expect. Music, movies, fire pit and wood, kayaks, trampoline in water, all the comforts of home but bigger! Beautiful area, top of the line kitchen, plenty of room for your refrigerated/frozen food. Huge pantry to fill with your supplies. Plenty of linens. Very nicely decorated and designed. Owners a pleasure to work with. Will be going back for sure!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stewartsmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

There's something for the whole family at the Blackwater Lodge. The home is spacious, clean, and spacious. The lake is great for the pontoon boat and the jet ski.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldie_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

My view is from the perspective of matriarch of a large family - my children, grandchildren and siblings in attendance numbered over 30, ages 7 to 70+. Not everyone stayed in the lodge, but we cooked, walked and jogged, sunned, played lawn games. We have great pictures of our group diving, kayaking, tubing and enjoying the water toys. Someone else will post those. BlackWater Lodge accommodated us well. We didn't go anywhere else - there was no need. The lodge architecture is gorgeous, and the site and available activities are particularly amenable for familes of all ages.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joriga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

We just returned from a fantastic stay at the Black Water Lodge near Brainerd Minnesota. We had a large family get together with 30 people coming and going from all areas of the country. None of us had ever experienced anything as wonderful as BWL. This beautiful log lodge is huge, but very comfortable. The finest quality in wood and stone interiors with huge ceilings and windows everywhere such that you were always connected to the lake and trees. There are 5 massive bedrooms, 4 with huge stone fireplaces. The 5th BR is a huge bunk room with log bunk beds that sleeps 7 kids. Our teenage daughters were in heaven. There is also a theater room that the boys found to qualify as a 6th sleeping area as well.

The lodge is on a great lake to ski, wakeboard and tube on. It has a private dock with a water trampoline that the kids were on all day. We fished, swam, boated and enjoyed the huge lakefront yard with summer games and family gatherings. At night there is a bonfire pit by the lake that we enjoyed late evening gatherings on. My favorite spot was the huge hammock by the lake that we all took turns napping in. Inside there were huge common areas to cook, eat, or just lounge. We never felt over-crowded.

We truly had a great time and all of us want to find a way to get back.
The owners, Sandy and Chris met us at the lodge when we arrived and showed us around. They are great people and the perfect icons for "Minnesota Nice".
I highly recommend Black Water Lodge for any families that want a stunning and comfortable place to stay in the Minnesota Lakes area.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shash-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blackwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwater Lodge

Property: Blackwater Lodge
Address: 2977 S Green Forest Dr NW, Longville, MN 56655-3277
Region: United States > Minnesota > Longville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Longville
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5BR 4BR 2 Master Suites on Lake frontage 100ft to beach. 7500 plus square feet of Log Cabin on crystal clear Blackwater lake and 25 acres of privacy. The entire structure is log beams, wood floors and stone. 5 Massive stone fireplaces and 40" SONY PLASMA TV with 110" HD SONY Home Theater room. The cabin has a 100 plus windows with floor to ceiling soaring views of the lake and many large white pines. All stainless steel WOLF and SUBZERO appliances including WOLF BBQ Bar-b-Que. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing