We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners not responsive!”
Review of Blackwater Lodge

Blackwater Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blackwater Lodge
Reviewed 12 November 2010

The house is beautiful and the grounds are decent (although very soggy). The water in the house is very rusty and my daughter's blonde hair turned orange from showering at the house (and we couldn't get it out!). The boat equipment (which you pay a lot for) wasn't working very well and we had to make several calls to the owner to get it working. It is old equipment. We also had difficulty getting the grill to work too. We never could get the surround sound stereos to work in the house. What really irritated me, however, was that we never received our deposit back. I sent several emails to the owners and tried to call them and never received an acknowledgement. I now have had to go through a dispute process in order to get the $1500 deposit back. Very frustrating!
All in all, although the house is nice, I am not sure it was worth the money that we paid, especially since we haven't been able to get our deposit back. I have a feeling that these owners are in financial trouble.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MNTraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2009

The home is very nice and very spacious on a lovely lake. The kitchen is large enough for 4 or 5 to cook in. We were 22 ladies sharing the 4 bathrooms and that worked well. Here are a few suggestions: Towel racks in the bathrooms for wet towels; more large pots and pans would be very useful, after all large groups have to cook big quanities. We ran out of toilet paper after the first day so bought our own. Never saw a roll of paper towels anywhere which would have been nice for cleaning spills or drying wet counters. The carpets were quite soiled by September so maybe the cleaning service should at least spot clean them.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Perfect for large groups. We had many and never felt like we were on top of eachother. Plenty of room. They have thought of many amenities that I would not expect. Music, movies, fire pit and wood, kayaks, trampoline in water, all the comforts of home but bigger! Beautiful area, top of the line kitchen, plenty of room for your refrigerated/frozen food. Huge pantry to fill with your supplies. Plenty of linens. Very nicely decorated and designed. Owners a pleasure to work with. Will be going back for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewartsmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

There's something for the whole family at the Blackwater Lodge. The home is spacious, clean, and spacious. The lake is great for the pontoon boat and the jet ski.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goldie_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

My view is from the perspective of matriarch of a large family - my children, grandchildren and siblings in attendance numbered over 30, ages 7 to 70+. Not everyone stayed in the lodge, but we cooked, walked and jogged, sunned, played lawn games. We have great pictures of our group diving, kayaking, tubing and enjoying the water toys. Someone else will post those. BlackWater Lodge accommodated us well. We didn't go anywhere else - there was no need. The lodge architecture is gorgeous, and the site and available activities are particularly amenable for familes of all ages.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joriga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

We just returned from a fantastic stay at the Black Water Lodge near Brainerd Minnesota. We had a large family get together with 30 people coming and going from all areas of the country. None of us had ever experienced anything as wonderful as BWL. This beautiful log lodge is huge, but very comfortable. The finest quality in wood and stone interiors with huge ceilings and windows everywhere such that you were always connected to the lake and trees. There are 5 massive bedrooms, 4 with huge stone fireplaces. The 5th BR is a huge bunk room with log bunk beds that sleeps 7 kids. Our teenage daughters were in heaven. There is also a theater room that the boys found to qualify as a 6th sleeping area as well.

The lodge is on a great lake to ski, wakeboard and tube on. It has a private dock with a water trampoline that the kids were on all day. We fished, swam, boated and enjoyed the huge lakefront yard with summer games and family gatherings. At night there is a bonfire pit by the lake that we enjoyed late evening gatherings on. My favorite spot was the huge hammock by the lake that we all took turns napping in. Inside there were huge common areas to cook, eat, or just lounge. We never felt over-crowded.

We truly had a great time and all of us want to find a way to get back.
The owners, Sandy and Chris met us at the lodge when we arrived and showed us around. They are great people and the perfect icons for "Minnesota Nice".
I highly recommend Black Water Lodge for any families that want a stunning and comfortable place to stay in the Minnesota Lakes area.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shash-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

I know it looks a little cheesy to give a perfect review, but to me that's what this place was. We had 27-28 people staying there for a total of four nights, mostly adults but also several teenagers and pre-teens. And though there were only 6 (I think) bedrooms to split between us all, those of us that had to sleep elsewhere on mattresses or couches were plenty comfortable. The back decks are very nice, but were hardly used because of the great backyard space. The cabin was very spacious, specifically because of the large vaulted ceilings on the main level and open kitchen that connects to the living room, dining room, and sunroom/den. The kitchen is amazing, and was a constant gathering place for us. There is also a wonderful amount of natural sunlight that lights up the place beautifully. Chris and Sandy were AMAZING hosts, and I cannot begin to thank them for their kindness and hospitality in this space. Thanks again for enabling us to have such a memorable family vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank costanza29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blackwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwater Lodge

Address: 2977 S Green Forest Dr NW, Longville, MN 56655-3277
Region: United States > Minnesota > Longville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Longville
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5BR 4BR 2 Master Suites on Lake frontage 100ft to beach. 7500 plus square feet of Log Cabin on crystal clear Blackwater lake and 25 acres of privacy. The entire structure is log beams, wood floors and stone. 5 Massive stone fireplaces and 40" SONY PLASMA TV with 110" HD SONY Home Theater room. The cabin has a 100 plus windows with floor to ceiling soaring views of the lake and many large white pines. All stainless steel WOLF and SUBZERO appliances including WOLF BBQ Bar-b-Que. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing