We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hearty fare reasonably priced; fun atmosphere.”

Cascade Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Lutsen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, View, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Award winning serving breakfast until 2pm, lunch from 11-close and dinner from 4-C. Handcrafted meals, vegetarian options, fresh fish seasonally. Happy hour 3-6 pm with half price appetizers and drink specials from our full bar. Pub and Restaurant open daily except for Christmas day.
Red Wing
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hearty fare reasonably priced; fun atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great daily specials and happy hour offerings. Food is very good and reasonably priced. Great daily specials.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank candlerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    123
    52
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect little place to relax and unwind!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

After driving much of the day to the North Shore for a long weekend with my family, the last thing I wanted to do was cook dinner, so I took a few minutes to check out our options in the area. Seeing the Cascade Lodge & Restaurant listed #1 for Lutsen got my attention and after verifying they were open for business (always a hit or miss proposition this early in the season), we decided to give it a shot.

The decor is most definitely North Woods, with really cool lighting coming from old wagon wheels with lanterns attached. That said, it's supposed to be a semi-Irish pub kind of establishment, so it was a bit odd to see all the cabin style decorations throughout the place. Not a huge concern for us though as we really just wanted a decent meal and a beer to drink, which we got and then some.

The food came out right on time and was definitely made from scratch as opposed to many places that seem to think frozen or canned is better. My broiled walleye was very nicely cooked and well seasoned, and the price was not too bad at $16, given the large baked potato, vegetables, and cup of clam chowder I got with it. Wife had fish and chips and found them to be cooked very well with an excellent beer batter on the fish.

That said, the best plate might have belonged to my daughter, with a kid's portion of spaghetti. I tried a bit to see how it tasted and found out why the Cascade Lodge & Restaurant is known for their spaghetti. The sauce is to die for. Completely fresh ingredients and flavor in spades. I will be sure to order an entree size myself the next time we're in the area.

It's refreshing to find places like this up north that keep things simple and let the fresh ingredients do the talking for them. We will definitely be back in the near future!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNSoxChief102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great place on the North Shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Food is always great and Service is good too. Always try to eat there when I am on the North Shore. I have had Breakfast, lunch and dinner there many times.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carver48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

A restaurant and pub with a north woods theme right along the highway. Easy walk from Cascade Lodge. Good food, friendly staff. Quite an Irish theme to the pub and beer offerings.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CDS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Level Contributor
154 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Attempted Irish Pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

A weak attempt to replicate an Irish pub. Food was average, waiters were Russians, beer was good. Parking is easy as the lodge is right on highway 61. Great hiking trails for Cascade State Park run by the lodge. Great XC skiing trails in the winter.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mr_PeteBurnsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We like to call ourselves a Northwoods Irish Pub and we believe we pull that off quite well. With wagon wheel lantern lights in the Restaurant as well as a caribou above our fireplace, we have had to integrate our "Irish-ness" as best we can! We are proud of our homemade food and extensive menu, including the area's most extensive options for vegetarians. Although we occasionally have international students as servers, right now all of them are Americans! We hope you'll give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cascade Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing