We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but glad to have a unit with a kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband and I spent four nights in one of the master units in the Poplar River condominiums last weekend. It was very clean and comfortable with a lovely view. The mattress was rather firm and a little uncomfortable, but otherwise our accommodations were great. (Last year we stayed in one of the condo bedroom units, which was also very nice.)
We chose to stay in one of the master units with a kitchen because we were not particularly impressed with the restaurant at the lodge last year. We did eat dinner there one night during this year's stay, but again, did not feel the quality of the food was up to par.
The staff at the activities desk is friendly and helpful. We like taking advantage of the free snowshoe rentals the resort provides and exploring the area's hiking trails. Overall, we enjoy staying at Lutsen resort and will likely return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RandeeMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
There are newer reviews for Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in the main lodge in Feb of 2014. Our stay was mostly very good, but with a few significant issues.

The room was small, but quaint, and had plenty of charm. Everything was very clean. Some updates would help. The mattress was old, creaky, and offered little support. The bathroom was straight out of 1985 - but again, clean. Nice flat screen TV, and the ancient radiator actually worked quite well.

Most public areas were very nice. The lobby was great. They had excellent live music on Saturday night. The pool and sauna were nice, but the pool bathroom needed a good cleaning.

The Poplar River Pub was nice. Good service, good food, and a nice tap beer list. The value was questionable ($16 for cheeseburger and beer, no fries). We ate breakfast in the main Dining Room. Here we had very poor service. We waited 10 minutes for our waiter to arrive, and another 10 minutes for coffee. Value was also lacking ($11 for pancakes and coffee). Too bad - the room itself was beautiful, and the food was decent.

The location is excellent, and the resort offers really great outdoor programs. We skied at Lutsen, and took advantage of their free shuttle - very convenient! If we were staying longer, or in summer, we would have plenty of other great activities to chose from.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissedMuskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I've stayed at the Lutsen Resort several times, and have never had a bad stay there. The staff have always been pleasant and the view of Lake Superior, with the river running right outside, is absolutely serene. Be prepared to overpay for meals, while good, they are overpriced. The resort does offer excellent spa services, have a wide selection of movies that you can take back to your room, an arcade, and fabulous indoor pool and hot tub. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: They have rooms across the river, the Poplar River Condos, that a brand new, have fantastic lake vie...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedSpecV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Good: We enjoyed the view of Lake Superior and the breakfast buffet was a great deal.

The Bad: Dinner was not a value, even for a resort location. I'm wishing we had gone out instead.

The Ugly: The outlet in our bathroom was broken. We reported it in the morning, nothing happened with it. We reported it again that evening and they came up to tell us that they would have to fix it after we left on Monday. So my wife had to do her hair and everything in the bedroom area.

We had noticed an odor in our room. The second night I found out why. There was a huge urine spot on the mattress. Too low for a child to have done it. When we informed the staff, it was barely acknowledged. Tried to make contact after the fact thru their website and no contact number listed, no return e-mail or anything.

Working at a hotel, I would be mortified if our staff were to blow off a guest who had a similar issue. I definitely wouldn't return to this location or refer business here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clarence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LutsenResort, Owner at Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

You are correct that your description of your stay is not in keeping with our standards for our resort. Please accept my apologies. We did receive your email of January 29 and I see in our reservation system notes that we replied to you the same day with contact information for our general manager as you requested. I regret that somehow that conversation did not happen. The issues you raised have been addressed and we appreciate your calling our attention to them. Again, it is always personally distressing to find that we have fallen short of providing a high-quality guest experience and I apologize. I hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Lutsen resort is definitely for those who want something simple, clean, and quiet. My wife and I stayed in a one bedroom king in the poplar river condos (571) and highly enjoyed the room. Great view of the lake, super clean and nice to have the fireplace in the room especially in winter. Resort has a free shuttle that will pick you up at your door and bring you to Lutsen mountains. We stayed three nights and skied two days. Lodge is very quaint and has old world charm. We even played a few games of checkers by the fireplace. We would stay again!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Devs429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Lutsen Resort has so many wonderful qualities - great location, charming history, excellent food, friendly service. I've been here many times and look forward to returning every time I leave. The setting on the lake is spectacular. I have had many wonderful meals here. The activities desk is helpful and thanks to them I've learned to snowshoe. I love sitting in front of the fire in the lobby reading on a cold winter night. Yes the rooms are small and simple, though they are clean and comfortable. If you require sterile luxury this isn't the place for you. If you want, for a few days, to feel a part of a place that personifies warmth and beauty, charm and history, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthernLez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Just returned from a fun birthday celebration weekend and took advantage of Lutsen Resort's "3 for 2" special they run in January. We did the trip last year and had to repeat- you can also get 3 for 2 day lift ticket at Lutsen Mountain. You can book all online with Lutsen Resort. You can also book them separately if the possibility of a frigid January day scares you from the lift ticket-we got lucky with the weather. Last year it was just two of us and we stayed in the historic lodge- this year we traveled with another couple and stayed in a log cabin. We had so much fun last year, despite feeling that the rooms in the lodge were a bit overpriced for the sparse accommodations we had SO much fun we had to come back.

The log cabin was PERFECT for two couples. Had to fight over who got the room with the king bed, the other bedroom had two full sized beds. The kitchen was very well stocked with utensils/dishes/soap/coffee filters/etc which was very much appreciated. The wood stove is small but allows for a very COZY fire and puts out lots of heat. Wood/kindling/paper is all provided for you. We had a gorgeous view of the lake and had fun watching how the ice formed and changed every day, and had a deer that wandered through the property more than once. It was a brisk walk to the main lodge for the restaurant/bar hot tub/sauna. We love the lodge, but I think the cabin is our new favorite since you can easily get to the lodge. The cabin is well stocked with towels and linens. They do offer cross country skis and snow shoes as well. Didn't take advantage this year as we were all whipped after downhill skiing.

They have a shuttle available to take you to the ski hill and it's a short drive up and down the shore for many other attractions (warning: lots of stuff is closed in winter).

Lovely time and we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNJenRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
19.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
7.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
19.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
1.8 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
3.7 mi away
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior

Address: 5700 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Price Range: £103 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutsen Resort On Lake Superior Hotel Lutsen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing