We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Reviewed 10 April 2014

A room with a view, a walk on the shore, a spectacular dinner - we got the Lutsen specialties and had Kevin wait on us recommending a few unusual beers, delicious! - this spot is perfection. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We're just two and asked to be set apart from families with kids and were in the river condos. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alisonyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

My wife and I had dinner in the Lutsen Resort dining room last night and were just charmed by the experience. Partly it was the weather: a softly lit, pink sunshine evening overlooking the icy Big Lake. But the food was excellent, the waiter (Kevin) was attentive without hovering, and the magic of that historic dining room worked on us. It was just a very pleasant dinner that left both of us relaxed, satisfied, feeling well looked after. This was a last-minute decision with no real expectations, which somehow made the experience even better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Belvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just got back from our annual spring break ski trip to Lutsen, and once again Lutsen Resort killed it. Just love love love this place--we have tried some of the other resorts along the lake and always come back to Lutsen Resort for the location, the service, and the ambiance. To be fair, we've only stayed in the Poplar condos, so I can't speak to the experience of the other options, but the condos are lovely and an amazing value if you do one of their ski and stay packages. We ski all day (and the free on-call shuttle to and from the hill is awesome) and then come back to relax in the pool and hot tub, play checkers in front of the fire in the lobby, have dinner in the Pub, play some air hockey, and gaze at the lake. Really can't say enough good things about this place--we usually end up coming here in the summer too!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Ami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Nestled in the beautiful rustic woods and rock of the Superior North Shore, this resort offers all the amenities a person needs. We try to return nearly every year - even in the off-season (wintertime). The views are spectacular, the rooms are immaculate, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the food is great. This is a perfect place for a young couple to fall in love or for an older couple to rekindle the fire. Make sure to visit many of the sights of natural beauty nearby (waterfalls, forests, etc.), as well as the small northern towns, especially Grand Marais. While there, make sure to stop at the fudge shop, coffee shop and the Ben Franklin store! Every season of the year offers a unique experience on the shores of Lake Gitchigoomee.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My boyfriend treated me with a surprise getaway up to Lutsen. We are from Duluth, so it was the perfect mini vacation. We stayed on a Sunday and it was $129. The room had a nice fireplace and jacuzzi. Very relaxing and quiet. We drove to Grand Marais for lunch and walked around the town. Went hiking, snowshoeing and he went snowboarding at the hill. Perfect night away

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My husband and I stayed in one of the Cliff House Townhomes. We didn't have a single complaint. The unit was clean and well supplied. This resort is in a beautiful location on Lake Superior. We never used the pool, but it looked very nice and clean. We ate in the Poplar River Pub on Tuesday night. They had a special going on offering .35 cent wings with a choice of honey BBQ or Buffalo! The place was packed on a Tuesday night in March. They had a good selection of beer and wines to choose from and was not over priced. Our waiter was very good and cheerful even when it showed that he was very busy (sweaty head!). He checked back several times and was always smiling! They posted that they had live entertainment, but there was a mix up and no entertainment, but that wasn't an issue at all.
The activities desk fella was also pleasant and helped me pick a couple of nearby snow shoe trails to go to. We had our own snow shoes, but they also offer ones that you can use for free if you don't have your own. Our unit had several board games and a puzzle, so if you decided you wanted to do something like that, you didn't need to leave the room.
They had a bonfire on the beach each night.
I guess the one thing that was a negative was the internet. It was very slow and easy to lose the connection, but you are up north and I didn't want to check emails anyways!
I will return to Lutsen Resort for a future stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view unit if that is important to you. Not all units have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamaraJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This was our first time to visit Lutsen in the winter and it was wonderful. Our extended family stayed on the upper level of the Poplar River condominiums, occupying all three units. The master unit has a nice loft with 2 twin beds (beware: the loft sleepers are subject to all the noise of the living/kitchen space). The very clean kitchen was nicely stocked with utensils, pots, pans, dinner ware - everything we needed. There aren't a lot of restaurants in the area, so it was good to have a kitchen. There's a small store in the town of Lutsen if you need to pick up milk or basic items. We stayed in unit 570 which has a spectacular view of Lake ,Superior. Each unit has its own gas fireplace, Jacuzzi tub, tv/dvd. It's a easy walk across the bridge from the Poplar River Condos to the Main Lodge.

We enjoyed the free amenities Lutsen Resort offers - snowshoes, cross country skiis and the campfire on the shore each evening. The activities desk people are extremely helpful. Ian helped us find snowmobiles to rent at Steve's Sports in Grand Marias (about 25 minutes North) and dog sled rides with Stoney Creek Kennels in Tofte, MN.

The staff at Lutsen Lodge is very helpful and friendly. Tom at the front desk was always patient and answered all our question. Housekeeping staff was great.

While in Lutsen we also enjoyed a couple of days of skiing at Lutsen Mountain. The road to the ski mountain is across the street from the Poplar River Condos - about 1.5 miles. We rented our gear from Lutsen Recreation, Inc. which is on the way to the mountain.

Lutsen Lodge and its setting is beautiful. Our family loves this place.

Room Tip: Unit 570 of the Poplar River Condos was great. Great view of Lake Superior, easy access to Highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdventuresinOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
7.3 mi away
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
19.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
998 reviews
19.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
1.6 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
1.8 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior

Address: 5700 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutsen Resort On Lake Superior Hotel Lutsen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing