We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, need to pave the parking area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Twin Cities
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice location, need to pave the parking area.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I stayed in a one story Sea Villa with a deal we purchased on LivingSocial. These are located a little south of the main resort. We were a bit early on Good Friday and there was noone in the small office. We went down to the main resort to check in. Wonderful desk clerk, very friendly and helpful. We went back to our unit and the parking spot and walk to the door was covered in 3 inches of snow from the day before. No shovel in the unit, so my wife started clearing it her foot, all the while a young man that worked for the company was about 150 feet away with music blasting from his work truck. When she came back in the room we heard somebody out there clearing some of the snow she hadn't. The room was smaller than I expected but very nice and close as possible to an unusually calm Lake Superior. Everything in the room worked fine, full kitchen with utensils, wood burning stove/fireplace. The views all weekend were wonderful. Went into Grand Marais, (my favorite place in the world), on Friday afternoon for a bowl of clam chowder w/wild rice soup and what turned out to be a very potent ale from Bell's brewery in Michigan at the Gunflint Tavern, It was called "Takeover", and it did, Bed was a full, I expected a queen, but that might be my bad. We woke Saturday morning to a mini blizzard blowing in off the lake. Personally I like a day like that when we visit. The hill driving into the villas is pretty steep and I noticed our neighbors had a very hard time going up abot 8:30am. About 9-9:30, a young man in a truck with a plow cleared the hill but nothing else, the whole parking area was a mess. Went to GM again for ice cream at DQ. Relaxed, and wife did one of their puzzles, nice touch. Sunday morning when we left, there was so much mud and ice and slush around the car that we got our feet soaked loading. It's probably a great place in perfect weather but it gets a 3 for me. This resort is nice and has a great reputation, but they need to do something about the parking area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milesb1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    127
    61
    35
    16
See reviews for
159
173
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent two nights in the Poplar River Condos. I paid extra for a "Premium" condo, specifically because we wanted an excellent lake view. I do not recommend you do this unless you definitely know the view you will have. Our view -- and others around us -- were blocked by huge trees, leaving only a sliver of lake visible. So that was extremely disappointing. At least one other couple we encountered had the same problem; they insisted at the front desk on being moved. The cheaper "non-premium" Poplar River Condos have a much better view since they are at the top of the hill; you might consider those instead. I think the resort needs to address this false representation issue of charging more for "premium" views that do not deliver. In addition, we had only one set of towels and the sheets and towels were the scratchiest we have ever encountered.
Positives: The room had a nice balcony. The walk across the bridge to the main lodge is lovely, and though steep I was able to climb it. The pub restaurant offered delicious food and excellent wait staff both nights we were there. Walking tour of grounds was interesting and my husband really enjoyed the kayak activity (though the first half was kayak "training" and organization, so you are actually on the water only half the allotted time). Lovely setting to sit on the chairs provided along the shore.

Room Tip: Do not pay more for "Premium" view Poplar River Condo, the non-premium condos actually hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 45traveler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Lutsen Resort provides an incredible year-round family experience. From great food to excellent activities, we love the nature, the adventures, and even the quiet family moments spent reading or playing checkers in the lodge together.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_Youngblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

A room with a view, a walk on the shore, a spectacular dinner - we got the Lutsen specialties and had Kevin wait on us recommending a few unusual beers, delicious! - this spot is perfection. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We're just two and asked to be set apart from families with kids and were in the river condos. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Marais
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My wife and I had dinner in the Lutsen Resort dining room last night and were just charmed by the experience. Partly it was the weather: a softly lit, pink sunshine evening overlooking the icy Big Lake. But the food was excellent, the waiter (Kevin) was attentive without hovering, and the magic of that historic dining room worked on us. It was just a very pleasant dinner that left both of us relaxed, satisfied, feeling well looked after. This was a last-minute decision with no real expectations, which somehow made the experience even better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Belvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Just got back from our annual spring break ski trip to Lutsen, and once again Lutsen Resort killed it. Just love love love this place--we have tried some of the other resorts along the lake and always come back to Lutsen Resort for the location, the service, and the ambiance. To be fair, we've only stayed in the Poplar condos, so I can't speak to the experience of the other options, but the condos are lovely and an amazing value if you do one of their ski and stay packages. We ski all day (and the free on-call shuttle to and from the hill is awesome) and then come back to relax in the pool and hot tub, play checkers in front of the fire in the lobby, have dinner in the Pub, play some air hockey, and gaze at the lake. Really can't say enough good things about this place--we usually end up coming here in the summer too!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammond, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Nestled in the beautiful rustic woods and rock of the Superior North Shore, this resort offers all the amenities a person needs. We try to return nearly every year - even in the off-season (wintertime). The views are spectacular, the rooms are immaculate, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the food is great. This is a perfect place for a young couple to fall in love or for an older couple to rekindle the fire. Make sure to visit many of the sights of natural beauty nearby (waterfalls, forests, etc.), as well as the small northern towns, especially Grand Marais. While there, make sure to stop at the fudge shop, coffee shop and the Ben Franklin store! Every season of the year offers a unique experience on the shores of Lake Gitchigoomee.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
19.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
19.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
277 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
3.7 mi away
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
3.9 mi away
Solbakken on Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior

Property: Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Address: 5700 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutsen Resort On Lake Superior Hotel Lutsen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing