We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a good time despite weather”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The rooms were clean and supplied cooking and dinnerware. The buildings are older and not heat efficient. Our door to the balcony leaked cold air. The pool area was nice. I wish they had a gym! The lifts were right outside our door. We were there when it was 50 below zero. The refunded our lift tickets for that day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiesmant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

We went spring skiing and wanted to stay at a ski in\ski out place, so we chose Eagle Ridge. The views were phenomenal AND the ski in\ski out was perfect. We went out to the back of our building and picked up a trail that was skiable for any ability level--and we had both intermediate and beginner skiers with us. The room itself was fine--had enough space for two adults and two kids, ages 9 and 13. The kitchen didn't really have enough pots and pans to make anything other than a simple meal, but there are ample dining places nearby that it wasn't a problem. The bed was a bit uncomfortable and the mattress was pretty old and saggy. There were a lot of pillows which was nice. We did have one problem in that the tub wasn't draining properly. I did call right away in the morning when I realized it and was assured maintenance would get over there and look at it. They did not. The maid service was ok--although they typically showed up after 5 or 6 pm. Luckily we had asked for additional towels when we checked in. The inside\outside pool was great. The kids had a really fun time swimming in that. The hot tub worked well the first two days and not so well the third day. Additionally, it can get quite noisy, particularly after Papa Charlies closes....Overall, it was an okay experience, although I think I would try the other ski in\ski out places first before going back. One dining tip....The kids love Ole and Sven's pizza in Grand Marais! We ate there the first night and they wanted to go back for every meal! :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acsubial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is hard review to write and to finalize a rating. On the plus side, our "room" (like a small apartment) was pretty nice and had a jacuzzi tub. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils. We loved going to the small pool in the neighboring building (especially swimming to the outdoor section and being out while it snowed!). We were also fairly close to the slopes. Not exactly, "ski in/ski out," but close enough. And walking distance to the ski rental center etc. Also, the restaurant that was within walking distance was well above my expectations. Overall, we may head back to the area. And if we do, I think we'd stay here again. The biggest downside is that the accommodations are pretty pricey. I'm still avoiding a look at my credit card statement! Also, we had really noisy neighbors and a toilet that backed up even with the smallest "deposit." Not having wifi is a mixed issue on a vacation (but something to keep in mind -- cell coverage was quite good though). By the way, our kids LOVED the Murphy Bed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A few years ago, we stayed at the Caribou and had no problems. Just recently, we stayed at the Eagle. The linens for the futon bed were dirty and didn't fit the bed. The blankets had dried on crusty red stains. We had low water pressure most days and last night, we had none. Absolutely no hot water for the 3 nights we were there. The thermostat in the oven was missing, so we burned out food until it got fixed. ABSOLUTELY NO WIFI IN THE ROOM!! We even went to our friend's rooms and had no wifi, but we went to the Caribou to visit with some friends and we had perfect wifi there. Our other friends in building A had no water for all of the days that they were there. Pools were dirty. Really needed a cleaning. Sauna benches were rotten and tiles were nearly all cracked. Over all a bad experience, would NOT stay at the Eagle Ridge again.

Room Tip: Book at the Caribou Highlands. This was not a good choice if you really want to stay right on the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MdLutsen, Guest Relations Manager at Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

We are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. We have significantly stepped up our quality control and housekeeping programs; we quality check each room prior to arrival to make sure everything is just right before our guests check in. Regarding the housekeeping and maintenance issues, I did not see in our notes that you contacted our front desk for service. We would have been happy to make things right for you during your stay if we would have known. Also regarding Wi-Fi, since we don't have broadband yet on the North Shore, our property has limited capabilities and bandwidth. We do the best we can to provide the service to our guests, but we will not be able to improve the service until we get broadband; it is not a service that we advertise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Plumbing issues in our room kept us from sleeping all weekend. Company was aware and did not inform and would not fix or credit. Spa in need of repairs. Sauna also in bad shape. Overall terrible experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HKSchaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MdLutsen, Guest Relations Manager at Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

We are so sorry about the noise from the plumbing you were hearing. It has been an intermittent issue that has gotten worse over time, and we did not know the extent of it until we received your call. If we knew the problem was as bad as it was, we would not have placed you in that room. Unfortunately, that weekend we were full and we didn't have another room for you to move into. Our Guest Service Manager (me), left a phone message for you saying we refunded one nights stay + tax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My boyfriend surprised me with a weekend get away which was absolutely Amazing. We stayed in one of the Hot Tub rooms which was elegant & surpassed all expectations! The staff when we signed in & out were very helpful and courteous:) Will definitely go back again in the future. Another thing I've always wanted to do off my bucket list:)) CR & Leo

Room Tip: Make sure to check out the Gondola ride to Mountain top & variety of Restaurants in the surround...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CR H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LM_Customer_Service, Customer Services at Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We couldn't agree more about the Summit Chalet with the mountain tram ride to the top and it's panoramic views of Lake Superior. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My room was cold...the wind blew in around the door and the bedspread was too heavy to sleep under, and I couldn't get another blanket until the next morning when someone was around to bring me one 4 hours after I requested it.
I wouldn't say the room was that clean either, my wife cleaned the bath tub before she would take a bath.
We came prepared to ski in the cold and were able to dress for bed. The skiing was good, and very few people up there..
Their restaurant served us good food, which helped save the trip.
Next time I will stay else where.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miacheal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LM_Customer_Service, Customer Services at Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. We have significantly stepped up our quality control and housekeeping programs; we quality check each room prior to arrival to make sure everything is just right before our guests check in. We do see from your comment that the rest of your trip was a great success and that you enjoyed the area! We do hope that you will give us another chance, thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
1.8 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
8.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
18.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
283 reviews
8.3 mi away
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
19 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain

Address: 445 Ski Hill Road, Lutsen, MN 55612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Price Range: £69 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Ridge has 75 slope-side studios and condominiums set amidst the peaceful Sawtooth Mountains where guests play by day and relax by night. Each of our units have been designed to complement the natural beauty of the surrounding Superior National Forest and of Lake Superior; stunning views of both are right outside your door. All rooms feature a gas fireplace and patio overlooking the mountains and Poplar River valley along with refrigerator, microwave and TV/DVD. Many rooms have a whirlpool and all of our condos have a full kitchen. While you're here, enjoy the only indoor/outdoor heated pool on the mountain (heated year-round), whirlpool and sauna, and in the summer the campfire pit is a great place to build a fire and make s'mores! Pet reservations are accepted between Mid-April - October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Ridge At Lutsen Mountain Hotel Lutsen
Eagle Ridge Hotel Lutsen
Eagle Ridge Resort Lutsen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing