We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointed..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little disappointed..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

My husband daughter and 2 other couples stayed for 3 nights in the 3 bedroom townhouse. We were happy about getting it for 50% off but once we checked in we were glad we didn't pay more. First of all there are no photos to view on their website. You have to trust that you are getting something decent. The 3 bedroom townhouse is more of a condo. It's all on one level which is fine but not what we expected. Furniture and carpet needs to be replaced. Landscape needs some attention. Pool is nice and overall the stay was good. We have stayed at a few other places so we are comparing this to those areas. Probably won't be back unless we got a great deal again and nothing else was available for that price.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juleeaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MdLutsen, Guest Relations Manager at Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for visiting Eagle Ridge Resort; we are sorry that you were disappointed. We understand it can be hard with not many photos as you described, but our Three Bedroom Condo is described as a condo rather than a multi-level townhome. Also, our front desk associates are more than happy to answer your questions about our rooms and our resort. I am glad that your overall stay was good despite a few of the things that you mentioned.

Since you were comparing us to other resorts in the area, Eagle Ride is not positioned as a luxury property as some of the others are. We take pride in our natural, mountain setting, cozy mountain view accommodations (some of which are more updated than others), proximity to recreation at Lutsen Mountains, and our relaxed ambiance that speaks to outdoor enthusiasts.

We hope you will consider another stay with us, perhaps in our One Bedroom Executive Condos, which are newer and more updated. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    80
    44
    19
    26
See reviews for
96
72
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Perfect location! Ski in/ Ski out, and right in between Papa Charlies and Moguls Restaurants. Rooms are nice, we have stayed in the motel style rooms and condo's, both are comfortable. Some noise from upper rooms during ski season so my advice is request a top floor when staying.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiMom2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a 2 BR condo in building F. It was very clean and well set up. One bedroom had 1 QB and the other had 1 QB and bunks. The beds were very comfortable and the bedding was clean. Kitchen area was small but served the purpose with all cooking utensils, pans, coffeemaker, toaster, full fridge, microwave and small dish washer. Living room had two futon couchs, flat screen TV with DVR and fireplace. Balcony out the back gave us a breathtaking view of the mountains and the gondola ride. Bathroom was large and had a heat lamp. Grounds were well kept and the pool buidling was near. Pool was nice and clean. It is an indoor/outdoor pool which was a nice feature as it cools down in the evenings and the water was a nice warm temp. The hot tub was good size but a bit too hot. The dry sauna was very nice. Only problem with the pool area was the showers which didn't work very well and were cool (good thing it was a short walk back to the condo for a nice shower). Some of the tiles in the outdoor pool area need replacing but other than that it was well kept. Our buidling was down the hill from the registration buidling and activities but it was a nice walk. We enjoyed the Gondola ride and the Chalet (great lunch place). We also had fun on the Alpine slide (get wristbands as you will want to go more than once). The only disappointment to our trip was our meal at Papa Charlies as I don't think it is much of a "family" place. The town of Lutsen is a short drive down the mountain for supplies or food. The sound of the poplular river rapids and falls are very soothing and could be heard from our balcony. Wifi was free but wasn't always available in our room in the evenings. With the amount of people around, the resort was peaceful and our room was quite.

Room Tip: Building F Room 281 has a great view!! Eat at the Chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We rented a 1 bedroom with king bed, Murphy bed and futon in the living room. Shower and separate jacuzzi in the bathroom. Full kitchen with dining table and stools at the counter. Deck with Chairs too! Free DVDs and table games to check out from the office. Alpine slide is great fun as is the gondola ride up to the mountain top. Food on top of the hill is not bad but priced high. Breathtaking view from the top! Papa Charlie's food was terrible and the service was so bad! It was 85.00 for a family of four for dinner of sandwiches or burgers and one beverage each. It was such a disappointment! Free music on the deck and there was not room and musicians had guests taking up some of the chairs and tables versus paying customers. Bad business practices at Papa Charlie's. Yes we would stay here again but we won't eat here. Eat down the hill at the main Lutsen Lodge. Other places in the area are worth checking out too!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank harleytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We got here on Saturday after a Friday wedding. We knew we would be late checking in and the friendly staff assured us not to worry, take our time and they would have the key and map waiting for us. The room was beautiful, all new and moderized. We had our chocolates and champagne waiting for us on the fireplace. The rooms were cleaned every day of our stay. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The scenery was amazing! The only negative was the upstairs neighbors. They were so loud in the morning I thought construction was going on in the room. We did mention it to the front desk upon checkout, but the assured us there was not. We realize this is family season and guests have little ones, obviously not the resorts fault. We would absolutely recommend staying here and will definitely be back!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank elsiejane15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

As a premier Minnesota ski resort, Eagle Ridge makes for an average lodging in the summer. (We visited for a family reunion.) Visitors who come to ski int he winter aren't likely spend much time indoors, so our room provided little summer comfort with its lumpy chair and couch, noisy window air-conditioner, sway-back bed, open closet area, and inexpensive furniture. With no central lobby to visit, we headed for Papa Charlie's, the on-site but distant from our room bar where the north woods food was superb: walleye prepared every which way, extensive beer selection, very limited wine. But the incredibly loud pop music and ping-pong table discouraged visiting beyond eating and exiting.

Rooms are contained in two- and three-story buildings, and as we visited rooms of others in our group, none was easy to access, and we needed a map of the grounds to find our way around. Rooms were as clean as one would expect in north woods resort lodging.

Outdoor scenery is extensive. So are mosquitoes. Limited bandwidth restricted WiFi use.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms mean no tramping by neighbors above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lutsen hotels

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
89 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We rented a jacuzzi studio room on the top floor of building A, and loved it. The room was clean and very comfortable. For city folks like us, it was a real treat having a balcony with a forest/mountain view. The pool was very nice. They need to replace a few tiles, but it was a beautiful place to have a swim. Breakfast was not included, at least when we there, but breakfast at Cascade Restaurant (north of town on Highway 61) was cheap and delicious. Papa Charlie's food was okay, but the servers were overworked the night we were there. Bed was very comfortable, in-room jacuzzi was great. I do have to agree that the wifi service was so-so. Sometimes, it worked fine and sometimes it didn't. On the other hand, when you're sitting on a balcony watching a beautiful Northwoods sunset, consistent wifi doesn't seem very important.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urban_Hillbillly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
1.8 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
18.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
8.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
9.1 mi away
Cascade Lodge
Cascade Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lutsen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain

Property: Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
Address: 445 Ski Hill Road, Lutsen, MN 55612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Ridge has 75 slope-side studios and condominiums set amidst the peaceful Sawtooth Mountains where guests play by day and relax by night. Each of our units have been designed to complement the natural beauty of the surrounding Superior National Forest and of Lake Superior; stunning views of both are right outside your door. All rooms feature a gas fireplace and patio overlooking the mountains and Poplar River valley along with refrigerator, microwave and TV/DVD. Many rooms have a whirlpool and all of our condos have a full kitchen. While you're here, enjoy the only indoor/outdoor heated pool on the mountain (heated year-round), whirlpool and sauna, and in the summer the campfire pit is a great place to build a fire and make s'mores! Pet reservations are accepted between Mid-April - October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Ridge At Lutsen Mountain Hotel Lutsen
Eagle Ridge Hotel Lutsen
Eagle Ridge Resort Lutsen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing