We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and refreshing”

Cascade River State Park
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Lutsen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Northshore park known for its breathtaking waterfalls.
Pine Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and refreshing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Cascade River State Park and surrounding areas are clean, refreshing and beautiful! Definitly a must see for anyone traveling around the area. We hiked there while staying at Cascade Lodge with our two dogs, and had a very enjoyable day! I would recommend having a good map of the area though. There are two different sets of maps on the trails, with one set being more accurate than the other. Follow the metal map that is more detailed, and you will have to problems!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    34
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Caribou Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We climbed Caribou Trail and it was a short 20 minute hike up to a beautiful look out. It's easy to moderate in the difficulty to climb. It was worth the climb for the view alone.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank тнeresa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful park with family friendly trails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Wonderful falls and landscapes. Very family friendly trails, especially if you travel with small children. There are other parks (Goosberry Falls) that are nice but this one is less crowded and more intimate with the hiker. Recommended to all ages. You can do as much or as little as you want in this park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FelixCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starbuck, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Favorite North Shore River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I have been going to the North Shore for over 30 years. This is my favorite river to get out & hike along. It's beautiful no matter water level. Gooseberry is nice but this is more intimate & way more thrilling.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KESinMN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good hiking and wonderful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We first went to the park in early July and then returned in mid August. The river and falls are more impressive in the sprin and early summer but always beautiful. The hike to Lookout Mountain is pretty easy and provides stunning views of the vast surrounding forest, hills, and Lake Superior. The round trip hike their and back is definitely worth it if you have 3 hours to make it and enjoy the view from the top. It's not really much of a "mountain" but is 600 feet above Lake Superior and provides a great view (total elevation a little over 1200 feet above sea level). There are several other trails available as well and it connects with the larger Superior Hiking Trail.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GrowinGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cascade River State Park also viewed

 

Been to Cascade River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing