We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice overall, a few minor problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caribou Highlands Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Champlin, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Nice overall, a few minor problems”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and skiied for two days. Overall, we had a really great time, this was my second time staying at the Caribou Highlands Lodge. The beds were decent, but the pillows were very small. There weren't too many channels on the TV, maybe 20, consisting of about 5 local channels and 15 cable channels. They make up for it by offering complimentary movie rentals from the front desk. The WiFi was very spotty and kept disconnecting and then reconnecting. I would've used 4G data but T-Mobile didn't have any coverage at the time up there. We had to walk outside to get to the pool but it really wasn't that far (50 ft outside) and we just stayed in our swimsuits. Our minor problems were the wifi, also our room didn't have bath towels and when we tried to get them from the front desk it literally took them an hour to get us some towels. Overall a really nice stay and the restaurant in the hotel was really nice. I wanted to give it a 5 star rating but there were a few minor issues.

Room Tip: Getting a condo or nicer room will put you within inside walking distance of the pool and be closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cesamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay with Caribou Highlands. We appreciate you brining the minor problems to our attention. We are located so far north and within a mountainous area our cell phone coverage can be limited. We are happy to report that the town of Lutsen is schedule to receive Broadband connection in spring 2014 which will help elevate the Wi-Fi connection issues. We are pleased you enjoyed our facility and the amenities we have to offer. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    106
    61
    39
    30
See reviews for
183
94
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My friends from college get together every year to go snowboarding and catch up. We rented a condo this year and it was perfect for all of our needs. We had a fire in the fireplace every night, took advantage of the cribbage board and played a few hands of euchre. having the two bathrooms, and full kitchen where a huge benefit for us and will return again next year. Thank you for your hospitality and we are already working on locking in a date for next year.

Room Tip: Spend a few more dollars and go for the condo for the full kitchen and added elbow room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at Caribou Highlands. We are overjoyed to hear the amenities and accommodations exceeded your expectations. I hope the memories will last you and your friends a lifetime! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed at the Caribou Highland Lodge for 2 nights in middle February 2014.
I have nothing to say but great things about this accommodation.I was impressed with how nice the facilities were and how helpful and nice all the staff were during our visit. The rooms were clean, well stocked, and roomy. The lodge was first-class all the way with a great dining room/bar downstairs. Food and service were terrific. I checked in and the staff were friendly and gave good customer service. I was amazed to how well the lobby was. Had a nice sitting area and a nice fireplace. The room I had was on the 2nd floor and was great access. Short walk to anything. My room faced Moose Mountain and the below walkway which was amazing. Room was very clean. Also came with a nice whirlpool bathtub. The water was always nice and hot. Also room came with a nice fridge and microwave. The bed was very big and comfortable. Large assortment of different pillows to choose from. This would be room 206. Which also had a plus of having main stairwell to outside beside. As this was a ski in and ski out property. Very amazing. I just walk outside my door and I was on the blue diamond path that goes straight to Moose Mountain lift. Then at end of the day. You just ski down from the Bridge run and you end up back at the Lodge either in front or out back. Quite convenient for sure. Parking out front is quite good enough for anyone staying here. This property has many options. As I stayed in the main lodge. There is also a condo facility. Also the Poplar Homes and another part of a lodge are all with Caribou Highlands.
I recommend anyone to stay here at anytime. Whether it be singles, families, Seniors or couples. A good time for everyone.

The bar and restaurant at this facility is really good as well.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor is best. Same level as lobby and best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtravellers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly N, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Wow! Thank-you for the wonderful review, it is much needed during the mid-ski season. As you have seen, most guests do enjoy our fireplace in the lobby to relax by. It is a great place to meet others, or have a family game night by. Our staff tries their best to make sure your stay with us is a positive memorable one! We appreciate you supporting all that we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My family rented a 4 bedroom home for a weekend getaway. We had a group of 10 adults and 7 children. The home worked really well for us. It was furnished and decorated nicely, and had lots of the little things we needed like salt, pepper, paper towels, dish soap, etc.

Good things about the home: Good amount of bathrooms, very clean, updated appliances, beautiful views, three fireplaces, nice big kitchen table.

Not So Good things about the home: The kitchen was tiny. Only one person at a time could be in there. The pool was far away. Not a walk-able distance in the cold.

The indoor pool was fun for the kids, but not so fun for the adults watching them! The pool complex was so humid and hot -- more ventilation needed!!! And there were big puddles of water a few inches deep all over the floor. I was not so impressed.

Overall -- We had a really nice time. The home we rented met our needs and we were comfortable there. There are some things Caribou Highlands can improve on, but overall it is a decent place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahBee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly N, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
It sounds like you had a wonderful time with your family of 17 in our Poplar Home! These homes are large enough to accommodate a family of your size. Thank-you for taking the time to inform us of how we could have done better... pool area. I will forward your response onto our maintenance department to see if we can find a fix for the ventilation problem. I am sorry we did not inform you about our shuttle service that would not only take you to the ski hill, but to the pool area as well. That would have made the pool experience a little bit better. I hope to see you back perhaps in the summer months or next ski season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great place, great staff! They make it so convenient to stay and ski with kids, dogs, non-skiiers, ... This place is really for everyone! They will shuttle you to and from the main chalet, or you can ski right out your door. They were very prompt in my requests as well. We have stayed here in previous years, and will be staying here again.

Room Tip: They have choices for any size party. The reservation staff was very helpful in my decision with 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kauralobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly N, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to put a review on Trip Advisor. It sounds like your stay with us was just as you hoped it would be! Yes, we do have pet friendly rooms, however not all of them are, so by calling the front desk, we were able to make sure your lodging was the right fit for you. We hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I recently went to Lutsen to ski with my school and the cabins along with the hot tube after a long say out in the cold were awesome. Plus, Karen, the front desk attendant helped me out with making my stay the best I've had. I would definitely recommend staying here if you want to have a great time and the ability to ski directly from the cabin.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UST16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly N, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Caribou Highlands is a great school trip for the ski season! I am glad that you agree. Yes, the easy access to Moose does make it a bit more easy to ski in and ski out of your cabin. Karen is a long time employee who has been with Caribou for over 15 years. We all appreciate her as much as you do. We look forward to seeing you again at Caribou, and thank-you for your nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Caribou while I was skiing at Lutsen. Caribou is very close to lutsen which is a plus. I don't understand why every room is either a king bed or a double? Why no queens? So, we had 3 people and had to have one sleep on the floor. The hotel is quaint and nice. Most people are staying here to ski so it doesn't have anything crazy. But it is a nice place to stay. The hot tub and pool is in a different building. Once again this seems like cheap planning. We had to run outside in 5 degree weather just to get to the pool.

Overall, the staff was kind and the location was great. You get what you pay for and this place is cheap and close. I would stay again but only because it serves a purpose of close proximity to lutsen.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jnewton31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. I am sorry that the accommodations did not meet your expectations. Our Lodge rooms are standard with a king bed or two double beds and are our most economically friendly accommodations. In your next visit our Condo’s would suit your group perfectly! The condos provide you with a variety of bed sizes as well as other bonus amenities such as a kitchen and fireplace. The condos are also connected to the main pool/spa area as well as within close proximity to the Bridge Run and Moose Access ski runs. They are reasonably priced too! You may give us a call at 1-800-642-6036 to book your next stay. We would love to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
1.6 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
8.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
18.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
9.1 mi away
Cascade Lodge
Cascade Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lutsen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribou Highlands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribou Highlands Lodge

Property: Caribou Highlands Lodge
Address: 371 Ski Hill Road, PO Box 99, Lutsen, MN 55612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caribou Highlands Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Caribou Highlands Lodge on Lutsen Mountains, Minnesota's and the Midwest's largest ski destination located at the tallest mountain in the Midwest. Caribou Highlands is Minnesota's favorite ski resort. Our location nestled in amongst the Sawtooth Mountains just one mile inland from Lake Superior's North Shore, offers great views and a unique ski experience. Where else can you get big skiing and enjoy the unbroken Lake Superior horizon at the same time.The mountain views as enjoyed from our lodge rooms, condos, townhomes and spacious four-bedroom Poplar Ridge log homes are magnificent. Take the mountain gondola to the top of Moose Mountain and enjoy the breathtaking vistas of wide open water of Lake Superior.A Minnesota Family Ski ResortOnce you arrive at Caribou Highlands family ski resort in Lutsen, you'll find so much to do that there's no need to drive further. We have many resort activities that are offered as complimentary guest services, and are included in the very popular Explore! program. One of our most popular activities is the Mountain Kids Camp where kids are entertained with games and activities that are both challenging and fun. With so many choices of activities, it's nice to know there are also many ways to relax. There are three spa areas at the resort and an indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caribou Highlands Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribou Highlands Hotel Lutsen
Caribou Highlands Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing