We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caribou Highlands Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior(Lutsen)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior(Tofte)(Great Value!)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior(Tofte)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Shoreline Inn(Grand Marais)
US$111
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Inn(Grand Marais)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Bay Suites(Grand Marais)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveller rating
148
116
67
43
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
148
116
67
43
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspoplar ridgeoutdoor pooltown homesfront desk staffnorth shorelutsen areacanoe tripprime ribwe've stayedbunk bedsgrand maraismain floorwood burning fireplacealpine slideliving roomgreat resortping pong table
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 409 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Our family- grandparents, parents, and 3 young children had a terrific time at Caribou Highlands Resort in Lutsen, MN. Although not everyone stayed all night in our Villager Unit, we were able to enjoy meals, skiing, and swimming together. Everyone at the resort was friendly and we had all the amenities that we needed. We are eager to try this fun family adventure again!

Room Tip: Get a view of Moose Mountain!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miama-mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent family vacation with us here at Caribou Highlands. We are ecstatic that you and your family enjoyed all that we have to offer here at our resort and we hope the memories will last you a life time! We look forward to welcoming your family back in the future. We would be honored to be a part of your family’s adventure tradition! Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We came up for a family spring break ski trip and did not have a good experience. We stayed in one of the Alpine condos. The unit was nice on the surface, but when you actually try to use anything, it quickly disappoints. Little things like burned out lightbulbs and flies in the room, to actual safety issues like a broken bunk bed ladder add up to an unsatisfactory stay. The furniture was decent - clean and comfortable, but the bunk bed was so wobbly I was afraid my daughter would get squashed in the lower bunk.

We tried to light a fire on the first night, but there is no kindling in the unit or outside by the wood pile. Ever try to light a log with newspaper? They shouldn't have a fireplace if there is no way to start a fire.
Finally, our refrigerator stopped working on our final day. I put our stuff in a cooler on the patio, but it all froze overnight and was unusable for breakfast. I called down the morning of checkout to see if they would give us a voucher for breakfast in the restaurant, but was rebuffed. Apparently I needed to call the night before to see if they could repair it - while we were watching a movie in our room.

The proximity to the ski hill is nice, but really doesn't get you anything. I'd look elsewhere, especially for the money they are charging here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SquidStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I apologize for the experience you had while staying with us at Caribou Highlands. I want to assure you that the issues mentioned above have been directed to their appropriate department managers for correction. We do appreciate all feedback, good and bad, as it provides us with the opportunity to improve our facility and the experience we provide our guests. We appreciate your business and as the Assistant General Manager, I encourage you to please contact me directly at Jennifer@caribouhighlands.com if there is anything further I can assist you with. Again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

this was our second trip to Caribou. We liked the location - ease of ski in / ski out. And i appreciate the mid week discount.
This time i may have been a little more critical as i felt like i noticed things that i didn't the first time.
For example, the indoor pool area is pretty dated and run down, not to mention needed cleaning in a really bad way. Our unit had some mechanical issues that were bothersome, but didn't ruin the experience. Overall our unit was cozy, but a bit dated. Floors were very squeeky. Our kids in the bedrooms downstairs said it was so loud we woke them up every morning.
TV channels were limited - we were in a 10 person unit, so it wouldn't hurt to have a 2nd TV in one of the downstairs bedrooms. WiFi was almost non-existent. We tried on 3 different devices and didnt get a connection until the last half of the last day we were there. Parking is decent - 2 spots right outside your unit. Convenient Ski lockers. Pretty cramped and cluttered on the little 3' x 3' landing right when you wank in the unit. You have to step over wet shoes / boots to get inside and/or go up and down the stairs. need more bath sized towels.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 25chrisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay with Caribou Highlands. We appreciate all the feedback you had to offer us as it does provide us with insight on how we can better improve our facility and our guest experience. We are happy to report that the town of Lutsen is schedule to receive Broadband connection in spring 2014 which will help elevate the Wi-Fi connection issues. We are pleased though to hear you were able to enjoy the location to the ski hill along with the other amenities we had to offer. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I could not help myself but leave a review to offset some of the negative reviews of this resort.

We stayed in a Alpine with Whirlpool room and were very impressed. This is not a five star resort but the amenities were nice. There was a full kitchen, updated televisions, nice chair and couch, wood burning fireplace and a deck that overlooked the pool and Moose Mountain.

This is truly a ski-in/ski-out location. We walked down the stairs and had 20 feet to walk to the slope which had access to Moose Mountain and to the main lodge. If you were in a townhouse, this is along the Moose Mountain trail but that is where you want to be eventually anyway.

The restaurant (Moguls) is very nice. It is slightly higher priced, but that is always the case for a resort that is at the mountain opposed to a few mile drive. It is not overpriced relative to any other resorts.

This is not a five star resort and the buildings are not brand new. We had some noise from children next door in the morning getting ready to go skiing, but it is a ski resort, it's good to have people around.

The resort is very nice and I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wcm18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and we are glad you found our accommodations and location to your liking. We thank you for being our guest and we look forward to you arrival again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at the Superior town homes for President's Day weekend. The location is great for skiing, but the units themselves are a bit dated and small. Everything was clean, but the heating was uneven and difficult to control. The price seemed excessive for the quality of the lodgings. The indoor pool was nice to have available. The wood burning fireplace was a highlight and was kept burning during most of our stay. They supply ample wood just outside your door which was great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikenaomipalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Caribou Highlands. We highly value your feedback and will be sure to address the uneven heating you mentioned. For your next stay I recommend booking a Poplar Ridge Home which is our newest addition to our resort. They will offer you not only the wood burning fire place but also more square footage for your group to spread out. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews