We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poplar Condo No. 522 - August 3-7, 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caribou Highlands Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Before writing my review, I read some of the others. Here are some things I believe people considering this resort should know when booking here:

- There are five distinct types of accommodations in this development.
1. Lodge rooms are like a discount hotel. Not well furnished and small. Review comments tend to be negative for these. I have never been in one, and won't based on the comments.
2. Condos in the condo building are privately owned and managed by the resort on behalf of the owners. Because these are privately owned, unit and finishing quality varies. The common areas in this building are tired and need updating.
3. Poplar, Poplar Elite, and Superior - These are also privately owned and managed by the resort for the owners. These vary in size and finish quality as well. They offer better privacy and are in a quieter area. Poplars have one loft bedroom and a bunk room in the basement. Poplar Elite are a little bigger with two bedrooms in the basement. Superior are the end units and offer bigger decks.
4. Executive Lodges are four bedrooms and have much bigger common space in the unit. Also privately owned and resort managed. A bit nicer than the three units in (3).
5. Poplar Ridge units are four bedroom townhomes with many ways to lock off such that they can be turned into one-, two- and three- bedroom units as well. These are the newest lodging in the development.

-We stayed in Poplar Condo No. 522. We had our dog with us and this was a pet friendly unit, which we appreciated. While there are beds for 8 people in this unit, I couldn't imagine having 8 people in the unit on a rainy day. It would be bodies on bodies. We were comfortable with four.

-In sum, we had a great trip. Caribou Highlands is well located and offers excellent access to all that the North Shore has to offer. We spent a day in Grand Marais, a day on the alpine slide and in the resort, and a day at the Temperance River. We enjoyed the outdoor pool and indoor hot tubs, all of which were in operation while we were there, contrary to others' comments.

-The biggest problem with the resort is the severe need of updating of common areas and finishing in the units. Everything seems dated and tired.

-We had an ongoing saga with the electronic key mechanism not working on our unit. Staff was diligent and friendly in addressing this and offered us some much appreciated accommodations for our trouble. While not promptly fixed, it wasn't for lack of effort.

- Wifi service was spotty.

- The televisions in our unit were TINY. These should be updated with more modern units.

-If I were coming to ski at Lutsen, this is the only place I would stay. In the summer, I think there may be better choices and we intend to test that theory. My daughters have expressed a desire to be closer to the lake.

-One nice touch is that the resort keeps s'mores supplies stocked at the community fire pit in the evening.

All in all, CH is a decent place to stay, but not ultra lux. This could be a great resort, but unfortunately is simply a good resort at this time.

Room Tip: Know what you are booking. There are five different types of units in this development and vacation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at Caribou Highlands. We are happy to hear that your accommodation suited your party comfortably and you enjoyed your stay. We definitely appreciate all your insight and feedback that you have to offer in your review. We will be sure to pass it along to the various department heads and owners. We are continuously working to update our facility to enhance our guest experiences. Again, thank you for your comments and we sincerely look forward to your return in the future! Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

My Husband and I have stayed here before for a long weekend get away and the views are just beautiful. We stayed in the hotel for one night the last weekend in July and it was our first time staying in the actual hotel rooms. Our room was clean with the acception of 2 dark black hairs in our tub but all in all the room was nice. The front desk at check in was awesome took time to go over the resort and location of where the amenties are and point out where our room was. When we went down the stairs to the pool it was gross... the smell of mildew/ mold was there the carpet was in poor condition the ceiling needed many repairs from water damage. The pool light were off and it clearly said pool open umtil 11pm it was only 9pm on a Saturday night. We played ping pong but the smell was horrible so we left. The up keep of that area along with the womens bathroom is horrible. They have a nice outdoor pool and a cool area for a fire and smores with a lit path that was nice. All and all we love that area up north and that was our 2nd stay at Caribou and we will go back there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sadi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at Caribou Highlands. We are happy that you found the location and views to meet your expectations. I do apologize for the cleanliness matter you experienced during your stay and I want to assure you that this has been communicated to our Housekeeping Manager. In regards to the pools, they are open till 11:00 pm on the weekends so I do apologize if the pool was closed earlier. I will be sure to look into this. We are also in the midst of creating plans to renovate our indoor pool area. We do appreciate your feedback and we do hope to see you again in the future. If there is anything more you would like to share or if you wish to book a future stay please feel free to contact me directly at Jennifer@caribouhighlands.com or 218-663-7241. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The room was a great value since there were many amenities and the room looked like it had some recent updates.

We stayed at the lodge portion of property. They provided complimentary dvds, games, mountain bikes, books, tennis, volleyball, basketball, hot tub & 2 pools.

The restaurant was very good. Definitely recommend the walleye cakes - the best I have ever had. Full service bar with many beers on tap.

The misses: weak shower water pressure; restaurant not open for breakfast; mountain bikes in mediocre condition; not enough bar help.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindyfrsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your summer stay at our facility. We are glad that you took advantage of the many amenities and activities we do have to offer our guests. We also appreciate your feedback on areas of improvement as well. We thank you for your response and we hope the memories you made last you a lifetime! Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I guess summer is off-season, but the place was nearly full. The condo we stayed in was clean and functional. The mattress on the bed is worn out -- peaks and valleys, lumps and bumps. The hallway light outside our door had a dead bulb all weekend, even after I told a maintenance man. Our building was marked pet and smoke free, but there was a dog barking in the unit 2 doors down from us. The deck was great, but if I'd brought a hammer I would have tightened up a few boards. The wi-fi is free but so unpredictable it was almost worthless. The outdoor swimming pool is very nice. You have to wander into the indoor pool area to find the towels, and I didn't find a basket to discard used towels so we took them back to our unit. Attention to details at this property along with consistent staff enthusiasm would go a long way. The property is aging, but it could be more graceful about the process.

Room Tip: Horrible and inconsistent, but free wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We do apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. The service matters and maintenance issues you did mention have been relayed to the appropriate department for correction. We do highly value our guest feedback as it provides us with the opportunity to make our guests stays even more enjoyable. We are also currently working on updating parts of our facility which includes our Wi-Fi connection. We hope you will consider us again in the future as your destination vacation. If you need any additional assistance please feel free to contact me at Jennifer@caribouhighlands.com or 218-663-7241 ext. 4502. Thank you for being our guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have stayed here before in the Townhomes. The townhome we stayed in had a few maintenance issues that needed addressing as well as wifi issues. The canoe guide had quit an hour before we arrived, so no canoeing, and one of the hot tubs was being reroofed, and the restaurant was only open one of the nights we were there. We had asked for clean towels every day and received them twice ( 4 days) but had to ask each day, they did not bring them automatically- same with the trash. I like to have clean towels and have the trash taken out daily and think this should be done. The front desk was super friendly upon check in and the gal when checking out was effecient but never asked us how our stay was or said thank you or anything, just doing her job. We do love the view and love the townhomes, so we will probably go back and give it another try.

Room Tip: The townhomes (Poplar Ridge all face the mountains and trees and the decks are very nice to sit out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We do apologize for the issues/service you did endure during your stay. We have had unexpected staffing changes and we do apologize that it negatively affected your stay. We are currently rebuilding our team for both canoeing and restaurant staff. We too would love to have you be our guests again in the future. If you need any additional assistance please feel free to contact me at Jennifer@caribouhighlands.com or 218-663-7241 ext. 4502. Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had an excellent, quick family getaway at Caribou Highlands from July 16 to 18th. We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo. The condo had a large balcony and functional kitchen. Our room had some updated decor, but it's northern MN, so don't expect ultra-modern.

The outdoor pool was great for the kids and was very quiet (since we stayed Wed-Fri).

We had dinner at Moguls which was quite good.

I was surprised that it wasn't busier, but I guess many people want to stay right at the lake (rather than 5 minutes off the lake). The location is actually great since being off the lake makes it a little less windy and chilly.

It is a little pricey and perhaps the mid-week rates should be lower, given the quiet-ness of the resort.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank dmacgills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent family getaway with us here at Caribou Highlands Lodge. We are pleased you enjoyed the location, accommodations, and amenities that we have to offer here at our property. We thank you for being our guest and we look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

For the July 4th holiday I had reserved a Nordic Whirlpool condo for one week. When I reserved I was informed there was also both indoor and outdoor pools and hot tubs, an award winning restaurant/pub that would be open daily for lunch and dinner and the room would have a private balcony. When we arrived the parking lots were roped off due to the roof being replaced and the shake shingles, tar paper and nails being everywhere. When asked how long this would be going on we were told 2-3 more days. The restaurant would only be available one night from 4-8, the indoor sauna was closed, the balcony was not private and the tv and internet would not be working due to the roofers having to remove the satellites. The balcony also had shingle pieces, nails, and other items on it along with roofers working above and next to the balcony. The room itself had the items described, although very old and outdated.
We checked out, received a full refund but being a holiday week we spent hours trying to find another place that could accommodate us for the week and had to split the time between two places.
Caribou Highlands should have notified us of these issues prior. We drove 10 hours to arrive to this and it certainly did not start our vacation off well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank dznyfn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the experience you had at our property. We did have roofing take place that unexpectedly was delayed last minute which prolonged the process into the holiday time. As a result of the roofing we did have to unexpectedly close our hot tub during this time due to some additional maintenance issues. I assure you this is not the norm and is definitely not the experience we like to provide our guests. The two hot tubs on site are back in running order as well as the indoor and outdoor pool. Moguls each week is extending their hours bit by bit as we have more staff join our restaurant team. I cannot apologize enough for your stay and I would like the opportunity to welcome you back in the future where you can experience all that our resort has to offer. Please contact me directly at Jennifer@caribouhighlands.com or 218-663-7241 ext. 4502. Thank your for your review and I hope to speak with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
1.6 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
18.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
986 reviews
8.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
283 reviews
8.2 mi away
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
19 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribou Highlands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribou Highlands Lodge

Address: 371 Ski Hill Road, PO Box 99, Lutsen, MN 55612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Price Range: £97 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caribou Highlands Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Caribou Highlands Lodge on Lutsen Mountains, Minnesota's and the Midwest's largest ski destination located at the tallest mountain in the Midwest. Caribou Highlands is Minnesota's favorite ski resort. Our location nestled in amongst the Sawtooth Mountains just one mile inland from Lake Superior's North Shore, offers great views and a unique ski experience. Where else can you get big skiing and enjoy the unbroken Lake Superior horizon at the same time.The mountain views as enjoyed from our lodge rooms, condos, townhomes and spacious four-bedroom Poplar Ridge log homes are magnificent. Take the mountain gondola to the top of Moose Mountain and enjoy the breathtaking vistas of wide open water of Lake Superior.A Minnesota Family Ski ResortOnce you arrive at Caribou Highlands family ski resort in Lutsen, you'll find so much to do that there's no need to drive further. We have many resort activities that are offered as complimentary guest services, and are included in the very popular Explore! program. One of our most popular activities is the Mountain Kids Camp where kids are entertained with games and activities that are both challenging and fun. With so many choices of activities, it's nice to know there are also many ways to relax. There are three spa areas at the resort and an indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caribou Highlands Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribou Highlands Hotel Lutsen
Caribou Highlands Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing