We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic north resort”
Review of Cascade Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cascade Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had a group of 9 women for 3 days of hiking in sept. It was a great experience and the accommodations ( especially cabin 12) were great. We loved the hiking, the spectacular waterfalls and awesome lakefront. The front porch of the lodge is a great place to relax and unwind. The staff recommended a spa for after hiking that was great too,

Room Tip: Cabin 12 and 14 are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnTheRoad1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for your kind review of our resort. The Superior Hiking trail directly accessible from our location is second to none and we are happy you enjoyed it with your friends. We hope to see you again soon! Michael and Maureen O'Phelan, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a motorcycle ride of 3 couples. Stayed in cabin 14. It was beautiful! The games room at the lodge kept us amused as we did our laundry. The Irish Pub has terrific food and drink at a great price. I want to go back there in the winter. Just beautiful.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Synnaminkiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thanks for the excellent review of our property. Cabin 14 has always been very popular and is enjoyed by many guests every year. We appreciate your feedback. Michael and Maureen O'Phelan, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Our stay from aug25-27th. We were in cabin 6. Fantastic view of lake from deck and living room. The bad the pic on line was not what was in the room. Very dated, furniture extremely worn, you sank in the couch when sat down, fairly dirty oil leak stains on carpet fron the heaters. The good the staff very helpful and attentive. We were ther for the current hot spell and with no ac it was challenging but staff came up with an extra fan that was a life saver. Would I recommend yes. has a camp feel to it. the newer updated cabins don't have the lake view. Restaurant next door fantastic, we ate almost all meals there. Thank you Helena and Rita for fantastic service

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 2pugsMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thanks for your review of our property and I am glad the extra fan helped out! We generally do not need air conditioning on the North Shore as Lake Superior's cool breezes often create a perfect environment all summer long. 2 of our rooms do have air conditioning if you ever need it--Suite 104 and room 214. Just FYI--the mentioned "oil" on the floor is actually wax from a candle somebody left carelessly on the heater. Thanks again, Michael O'Phelan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Loved our stay at the Cascade, so convenient to the state park and hiking trails and a short drive to Grand Marais. The lodge was classic and could use some updating in the rooms. The Irish pub/restaurant next door was a bonus! We loved the Northwoods/Irish decor and excellent food and happy hour. A real treat after our hikes.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrajdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

We really appreciate your taking the time to review our property. It is a great asset to be surrounded by Cascade River State Park since all sorts of winter and summer trails can be accessed without ever getting in your car! We have been steadily re-modelling our Main Lodge rooms and common areas each and every year. We are working hard to restore this classic Lodge to it's full potential! Thanks again, Michael and Maureen O'Phelan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We visit the North Shore of Lake Superior every year and just returned from the Cascade Lodge knowing that we stayed at a true gem of a resort. In the past, we have stayed at two other resorts in Lutsen, but this was the best resort of the three. After checking in, the owner Mike and his wife Maureen treated all incoming guests to a nice Brat and Beans BBQ which was a great way to start out the trip. We used a two night for one special and were put in the smallest cabin and we loved it. The room was clean with a nice sized shower and all we needed. The main lodge has a beautiful view of the lake and plenty of Adirondack chairs and a swing to sit and enjoy the view. It's just a short hike to the Cascade River.
The restaurant was the BOMB! Happy hour with 50% off all appetizers and a dollar off beers and rail drinks seven days a week, Where can you get happy hour seven days a week? Best of all the food was fantastic. The chicken wings were huge and the walleye fingers were basically a nice walleye fillet cut up in 7 pieces. We added another appetizer and two craft beers and ended up with a tab under $20. They had live music both nights we were there. This restaurant has received two awards in 2013 for best casual food so you won't be disappointed.
One last note. We met a couple who had car trouble and they needed a ride to a state park down the road. The owner Mike drove them there without hesitation even though they were not staying at his resort. How can you not cheer for these owners?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank headrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thanks for your kind review. It was nice getting to know you at our weekly grilling event. We really appreciate the feedback and comments. Our goal is always to exceed our guests expectations. Michael and Maureen O'Phelan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This cabin is great. Large for two couples. Huge wrap around deck that basically hangs over a rolling river. If you need two rooms (couples) this is the place. at $245 per night you can't beat it. There is no wifi, but there is a flat screen with dvd player for entertainment.

Room Tip: If you want two rooms ask for 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purplemania56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Thanks for the excellent review of our property. We work very hard at keeping our place clean and our prices reasonable. We hope to see you again soon! Michael-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed in one of the large cabins and one of the smallest. Both were very clean and comfortable and fitting for the north shore, I prefer the rustic feel over the larger hotels you can stay in anywhere. Cabin 14 has a wonderful deck to hang out on and is large and attractive log style. We had a very nice time. It is in the perfect spot to stay on the north shore you can go north one day and south the next and visit all the wonderful sites and state parks. It is one of most beautiful spots in the USA . I would recommend this to anyone. This is also best time of year (may) for the waterfalls they are running wild.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Thanks for staying at Cascade Lodge on Lake Superior. It's fun to see the different options available to our guests and especially fun to see somebody try 2 completely different styles during their stay. We appreciate your nice review of our property. Michael--Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
9.6 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
995 reviews
17.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
9.1 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
3.4 mi away
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascade Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Lodge

Address: 3719 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612-9534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Lutsen
Price Range: £64 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cascade Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascade Lodge on the North Shore of Lake Superior featuring log cabins, a historic main lodge and motel units. Miles of wild, scenic and accessible Lake Superior shoreline interspersed with ledge rock and cobblestone beaches unspoiled by any development. Completely surrounded by one of Minnesota's finest state parks, Cascade River State Park with the nationally recognized Superior Hiking Trail coming right to your door. Excellent restaurant and pub onsite serving hand crafted meals daily. Ten minutes to the quaint village of Grand Marais or the Lutsen Mountains ski area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cascade Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascade Hotel Lutsen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing