We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't count on any wi-fi”
Review of Cascade Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cascade Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We only wanted to check email once or twice a day, but the wi-fi was either not working, or they were "out of minutes", most of the four days we were there. The computer in the lobby didn't work either--and neither of the two attendants we talked to knew when or whether it would be fixed.

The accommodations were just OK. The food was just OK. Confusion about the billing made us even less enthusiastic.

We wanted to like this place, but our experience was not what we had hoped for.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

I am sorry you were unhappy with our internet service. It is the best service available in our area but sometimes falls short of what people are used to. Thankfully, the Federal Government working with our local cooperative is in the process of installing broadband internet service for all of Cook County. At that point, there will be no limits on minutes or internet usage. We have been patiently waiting for this and expect to see it this summer! Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback, we would love to have you give us a call with more specifics as to the ok comments. Ok simply does not represent the vast majority of very favorable comments we receive concerning our award winning restaurant and lodge. You can call me anytime to discuss at 800-435-3950. Thanks again! Michael O'Phelan, Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

We spent a terrific weekend at Cascade Lodge, wonderfully located between Lutsen and Grand Marais, across the street from Superior. The XC ski trails started a few hundred yards from our door, all beautifully groomed, through beautiful rolling hills and woods with some lake views. The staff were all helpful and friendly. In fact, one helped us out of a jam & would only accept our thanks. The restaurant has great atmosphere & reasonably priced, tasty food. Plenty of vegetarian options.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tully H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for mentioning our vegetarian items in your recent review. We have been developing that portion of our menu for several years now with an emphasis on hand crafted (cooked from scratch) items that are both unique and tasty! I was happy to help with your car, it was really no problem, but thanks for mentioning it! Michael O'Phelan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We found Cascade Lodge very comfortable and clean with friendly staff. We sent to x-c ski and snowshoe in February and their trails were excellent. Some trails were on state land and were part of the Superior Hiking Trail. We even were given a complimentary sleigh/hay ride through the woods under the stars at night. The Lodge, although old, is well maintained. There are two nice gathering rooms, one with a fireplace and the other with game tables. It was a short walk to their restaurant and pub. The food was good. It is mid-way between Lutzen and Grand Marais. A great place for families. It looks like there are lots of activities for kids in the summer.

Room Tip: Internet access is a challenge in this area, but they gave us a free code that was good for an hour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We always appreciate helpful feedback. The horse drawn sleigh ride has been very popular this year with all the snow we have had. Your comment about summer activities is right on the mark with daily summer activities from about mid June through Labor Day. Thanks again, Michael and Maureen O'Phelan, Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed mid-week in the lodge itself (room 202), which we were very pleased with. The room and the furnishings were very simple, and yes, the furniture was a bit outdated but it passed the white gloves test. Checking in went smoothly, and the entire staff is extremely helpful and friendly. We ventured downstairs into the game room, which is very retro! Foosball table, ping pong, pool table, and a couple vending machines. Again, everything was immaculate. I would describe this place as charming, but not upscale or pretentious. With Cascade River State park right next door, snowshoeing/skiing/hiking is so convenient. This is a mom and pop establishment, so please don't expect CovePoint Lodge or Bluefin Bay type of accommodations. Cascade Lodge is comfortable and simple. The restaurant is right next door and the food, drinks, and staff are above average. Nice winter getaway!

Room Tip: Room 202 has a large King bed. Slept very well. Although could be noisy in the summer months due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank checkdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thanks for choosing Cascade Lodge to enjoy your winter getaway. Room 202 has been very popular since we remodeled it with the King Bed and sitting area. We live on site so we are very aware of how convenient it is to be surrounded by Cascade River State Park. A real bonus for us and our guests! Michael and Maureen O'Phelan, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had a great time! The staff were friendly and helpful. They gave great recommendations for where to go exploring. We ate at the restaurant and enjoyed ourselves. The cabin was very nice and had heated floors which was perfect for MN in December!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooks J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for your excellent review of our property. Winter is such a magical time on the North Shore and we are glad you enjoyed our heated floors, many have noted how comfortable they are! Michael and Maureen O'Phelan, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We came to know about this place via Groupon. As long as you remember it is a lodge in the woods and not your downtown hotel you will be fine. But that is what we were looking for and it worked out well. We stayed in the lodge and our 6 year old son enjoyed it thoroughly. The lodge is kept old, still has the old fittings, antique style bed skirts, which we loved, but adequately maintained. Rooms were clean, cozy and the lakeside view was beautiful. The mattresses could do with a change. Ours felt like springs were not even, made it a bit difficult to fall asleep, and hence my 4 stars. The best part is the restaurant. It has amazing, comfort food, perfect for a winter vacation. Do try the flavorful veggie options and the wall-eye fish cakes were the best! The staff made us feel welcome and were very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mydeen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thanks for your review of our resort and restaurant. We really appreciate the comments about our onsite restaurant. We work very hard at quality hand crafted food items and at keeping our prices reasonable. We are happy you noticed and enjoyed your time on the North Shore! Michael and Maureen O'Phelan, Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is our fourth stay at the lodge, we love that we can get there, park the car and spend the weekend. Skiing and snowshoeing is right off the property, the restaurant and pub are cosy, and with good food and deals. And the owners work the place and all of the staff do a good job. Keep in mind you are in the north woods so do not expect fancy. We stayed Jan 3-6, so even at -29 we were warm and happy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thanks for your wonderful review of our property. Winter on Lake Superior's North Shore is really something special and with Snowmobiling, Cross Country skiing and Snowshoeing trails coming directly into Cascade Lodge we like to say "All trails lead to Cascade" Thanks again, Michael and Maureen O'Phelan, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
9.6 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
985 reviews
17.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
9.1 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
3.4 mi away
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascade Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Lodge

Address: 3719 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612-9534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Lutsen
Price Range: £63 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cascade Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascade Lodge on the North Shore of Lake Superior featuring log cabins, a historic main lodge and motel units. Miles of wild, scenic and accessible Lake Superior shoreline interspersed with ledge rock and cobblestone beaches unspoiled by any development. Completely surrounded by one of Minnesota's finest state parks, Cascade River State Park with the nationally recognized Superior Hiking Trail coming right to your door. Excellent restaurant and pub onsite serving hand crafted meals daily. Ten minutes to the quaint village of Grand Marais or the Lutsen Mountains ski area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Cascade Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascade Hotel Lutsen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing