We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“North Shore Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cascade Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cascade Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Burnsville, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“North Shore Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

This location is REALLY ideal. Stayed here about a dozen times over the years. About as good of a location as you can find on the North Shore. Not too far away from 'civilization' and yet still close to a multitude of different vacation locations and activity options! GREAT as a "base-camp" for day trips. Scores of waterfalls and beautiful cascades within a reasonable drive and even walking distance, as Cascade River adjacent to the property. You can also visit nearly limitless incredibly beautiful hiking trails nearby.

We stayed in the lodge this time. Had a wonderful fire in the rustic main floor common area's floor to ceiling stone fireplace. Very relaxing, long ago-era atmosphere. The staff are extremely well mannered and you can sense their true sincerity of trying to help out as best they can. The owners work very hard at not just hiring people, but hiring the 'right' people.

If you are looking for a 5 star spa and luxury experience - stay at one that focuses on that. Not here. You can probably stay in your own city to get that experience. But for a "North Shore Adventure" (as we call them in our home) this is your place to start it off from!

Room Tip: You have options ranging from a basic hotel style room to a full small home. Our FAVORITE place is c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tkihlstadius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your generous review and your consistent patronage to our business over the past 10 years! We are very fortunate to enjoy many repeat guests who always seem to find new adventures at Cascade Lodge. I especially appreciate that you took the time to write a review on us. See you soon! Michael O'Phelan, Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    107
    36
    14
    10
See reviews for
87
163
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover, mn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We only wanted to check email once or twice a day, but the wi-fi was either not working, or they were "out of minutes", most of the four days we were there. The computer in the lobby didn't work either--and neither of the two attendants we talked to knew when or whether it would be fixed.

The accommodations were just OK. The food was just OK. Confusion about the billing made us even less enthusiastic.

We wanted to like this place, but our experience was not what we had hoped for.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
I am sorry you were unhappy with our internet service. It is the best service available in our area but sometimes falls short of what people are used to. Thankfully, the Federal Government working with our local cooperative is in the process of installing broadband internet service for all of Cook County. At that point, there will be no limits on minutes or internet usage. We have been patiently waiting for this and expect to see it this summer! Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback, we would love to have you give us a call with more specifics as to the ok comments. Ok simply does not represent the vast majority of very favorable comments we receive concerning our award winning restaurant and lodge. You can call me anytime to discuss at 800-435-3950. Thanks again! Michael O'Phelan, Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We spent a terrific weekend at Cascade Lodge, wonderfully located between Lutsen and Grand Marais, across the street from Superior. The XC ski trails started a few hundred yards from our door, all beautifully groomed, through beautiful rolling hills and woods with some lake views. The staff were all helpful and friendly. In fact, one helped us out of a jam & would only accept our thanks. The restaurant has great atmosphere & reasonably priced, tasty food. Plenty of vegetarian options.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tully H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for mentioning our vegetarian items in your recent review. We have been developing that portion of our menu for several years now with an emphasis on hand crafted (cooked from scratch) items that are both unique and tasty! I was happy to help with your car, it was really no problem, but thanks for mentioning it! Michael O'Phelan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We found Cascade Lodge very comfortable and clean with friendly staff. We sent to x-c ski and snowshoe in February and their trails were excellent. Some trails were on state land and were part of the Superior Hiking Trail. We even were given a complimentary sleigh/hay ride through the woods under the stars at night. The Lodge, although old, is well maintained. There are two nice gathering rooms, one with a fireplace and the other with game tables. It was a short walk to their restaurant and pub. The food was good. It is mid-way between Lutzen and Grand Marais. A great place for families. It looks like there are lots of activities for kids in the summer.

Room Tip: Internet access is a challenge in this area, but they gave us a free code that was good for an hour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We always appreciate helpful feedback. The horse drawn sleigh ride has been very popular this year with all the snow we have had. Your comment about summer activities is right on the mark with daily summer activities from about mid June through Labor Day. Thanks again, Michael and Maureen O'Phelan, Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed mid-week in the lodge itself (room 202), which we were very pleased with. The room and the furnishings were very simple, and yes, the furniture was a bit outdated but it passed the white gloves test. Checking in went smoothly, and the entire staff is extremely helpful and friendly. We ventured downstairs into the game room, which is very retro! Foosball table, ping pong, pool table, and a couple vending machines. Again, everything was immaculate. I would describe this place as charming, but not upscale or pretentious. With Cascade River State park right next door, snowshoeing/skiing/hiking is so convenient. This is a mom and pop establishment, so please don't expect CovePoint Lodge or Bluefin Bay type of accommodations. Cascade Lodge is comfortable and simple. The restaurant is right next door and the food, drinks, and staff are above average. Nice winter getaway!

Room Tip: Room 202 has a large King bed. Slept very well. Although could be noisy in the summer months due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank checkdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thanks for choosing Cascade Lodge to enjoy your winter getaway. Room 202 has been very popular since we remodeled it with the King Bed and sitting area. We live on site so we are very aware of how convenient it is to be surrounded by Cascade River State Park. A real bonus for us and our guests! Michael and Maureen O'Phelan, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had a great time! The staff were friendly and helpful. They gave great recommendations for where to go exploring. We ate at the restaurant and enjoyed ourselves. The cabin was very nice and had heated floors which was perfect for MN in December!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooks J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of our property. Winter is such a magical time on the North Shore and we are glad you enjoyed our heated floors, many have noted how comfortable they are! Michael and Maureen O'Phelan, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We came to know about this place via Groupon. As long as you remember it is a lodge in the woods and not your downtown hotel you will be fine. But that is what we were looking for and it worked out well. We stayed in the lodge and our 6 year old son enjoyed it thoroughly. The lodge is kept old, still has the old fittings, antique style bed skirts, which we loved, but adequately maintained. Rooms were clean, cozy and the lakeside view was beautiful. The mattresses could do with a change. Ours felt like springs were not even, made it a bit difficult to fall asleep, and hence my 4 stars. The best part is the restaurant. It has amazing, comfort food, perfect for a winter vacation. Do try the flavorful veggie options and the wall-eye fish cakes were the best! The staff made us feel welcome and were very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mydeen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thanks for your review of our resort and restaurant. We really appreciate the comments about our onsite restaurant. We work very hard at quality hand crafted food items and at keeping our prices reasonable. We are happy you noticed and enjoyed your time on the North Shore! Michael and Maureen O'Phelan, Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
9.6 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
17.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
5.7 mi away
Solbakken on Superior
9.1 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascade Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Lodge

Property: Cascade Lodge
Address: 3719 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612-9534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Lutsen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cascade Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascade Lodge on the North Shore of Lake Superior featuring log cabins, a historic main lodge and motel units. Miles of wild, scenic and accessible Lake Superior shoreline interspersed with ledge rock and cobblestone beaches unspoiled by any development. Completely surrounded by one of Minnesota's finest state parks, Cascade River State Park with the nationally recognized Superior Hiking Trail coming right to your door. Excellent restaurant and pub onsite serving hand crafted meals daily. Ten minutes to the quaint village of Grand Marais or the Lutsen Mountains ski area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cascade Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascade Hotel Lutsen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing