We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older, but pet friendly”
Review of Cascade Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cascade Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2006

We've stayed in the motel unit (5-C)of Cascade Lodge a few times, mainly because it's Pet Friendly, and OFF the Highway for a quiet night's sleep. The unit is quite dated, but the important things were ok, like clean sheets and a clean bathroom. The unit does have an old, musty smell, but I relayed it on to the front desk, and maybe they'll shampoo the carpet, or better yet, tear it out. The desk staff was very helpful and friendly. I think the lodge is now owned by a rather large conglomerate that owns several properties in the area. I hope they'llput some money into renovations and upkeep as it's located on a beautiful little corner of Lake Superior!

The restuarant next door did a nice job with our meals.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank akkamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for Cascade Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 364 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2006

We were booked to spend 2 nights in the lodge house itself, but left after just 1 night. The building had an overwhelming musty, moldy smell, the carpets were sorely in need of a vacuuming, the mattresses had little to no support, and the doorknob to our room was barely hanging on. The staff were friendly and pleasant, but the hotel obviously has had little updating since it opened in the 1930s. If you have kids, allergies, or want either a clean room or a restful night's sleep, this is not the place to go. There are other "historic" lodges in the area that are well worth looking into first. If they're booked up, make the 15 mile drive into Grand Marais and try finding a room there.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank tbromann17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2006

This lodge had been nice at one time, but the present management must have let it go. Although the view is spectacular, the lodge itself is run down. Rooms were only semi-clean and in need of much maintenance. It's a shame that a lodge with historical value has been allowed to pass by the wayside. It really could be a wonderful stay if someone decided to put some effort into it.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jenner67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2006

We stayed in the "house". It hadn't been cleaned. Bathrooms were filthy, dead flies in kitchen sink, microwave was dirty
and "hot tub" is actually a whirlpool bathtub. Cigarette butts in ashtray. 1 roll of toilet paper for 2 bathrooms. We ended leaving after 1 night and stayed somewhere else. House is very run down, dirty and smokey.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MNtraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2005

A quaint old-fashioned pine lodge from 1937 with a spectacular view of Lake Superior. We stayed in Room 101, which is within the lodge itself. The room has a small kitchenette and two entry acesses - one to the lodge and the other to the outdoors. The backdoor opens right into the parking lot. I was able to back my car up to the door for easy unloading. Other rooms and cabins are available along with a restaurant next door. Terrific corned beef and cabbage for St. Patrick's Day! Specials run daily. Cascade is a clean, friendly and affordable family atmosphere with easy access to Lutsen Mountain and Cascade State Park. Will stay there again!!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ooladec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
520
Reviewed 24 July 2004

I've stayed at Cascade twice: once in the lodge and once in a cabin. I preferred the cabin because the price was almost the same as the lodge room, and because I enjoy the privacy and lack of noise. The restaurant on site is decent, but overpriced for the quality of food. The best part about Cascade is definitely the immediate access to the trails. The staff was very friendly during both of my stays. The one thing I didn't like was the fact that it is across the street from the lake; instead you must cross the busy road to reach an uninteresting part of the beach. Overall, Cascade is a wonderful place to stay!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
9.6 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
17.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
9.1 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
5.7 mi away
Solbakken on Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascade Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Lodge

Address: 3719 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612-9534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Lutsen
Price Range: £62 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cascade Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascade Lodge on the North Shore of Lake Superior featuring log cabins, a historic main lodge and motel units. Miles of wild, scenic and accessible Lake Superior shoreline interspersed with ledge rock and cobblestone beaches unspoiled by any development. Completely surrounded by one of Minnesota's finest state parks, Cascade River State Park with the nationally recognized Superior Hiking Trail coming right to your door. Excellent restaurant and pub onsite serving hand crafted meals daily. Ten minutes to the quaint village of Grand Marais or the Lutsen Mountains ski area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cascade Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascade Hotel Lutsen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing