We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great wine, wonderful setting.... romantic”

Lutsen Scandinavian Resort Dining
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Lutsen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Level Contributor
154 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great food, great wine, wonderful setting.... romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Lutsen Lodge dining room looks out over Lake Superior and offers some of the best meals along the north shore, a great wine list, and a romantic setting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr_PeteBurnsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    43
    13
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5+++ Stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We ate in the lodge's main restaurant. We've eaten in many restaurants in the US and Europe, and this rates with the best of them. Fabulous walleye, exceptional pecan salad, warm bread, cream fresh for dessert. And as an extra treat on Wednesday it's a bottle of wine for $20. Service spot-on. So surprised at such an exceptional meal. We were there 30+ years ago and had no desire to go back; so glad we did. Envy this exceptional gourmet delight for all who haven't yet been there.

Helpful?
Thank Looking4class
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best in Lutsen!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Love this restaurant for its local/scandinavian dishes. We usually only eat here once per trip to the North Shore, but the last time we decided why eat any where else in the Lutsen area. We also played checkers in the Lobby by the fireplace after dinner!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Canadian Walleye ! and Lake Superior Herring! Locally Grown Organic Veggies! Great Restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Potato Encrusted Walleye Fillet was Awesome! .Lynne-Anne, Kathleen..and..well me too...I got to steal some from my wife's plate. Bro was way too busy into his Teriyaki Ribeye to even look up..so we knew it was a great steak. We all need the Canadian Walleye recipe. (It is all we catch on our lake) Lutsen Resort served us localy grown veggies and they are all organic.... I had the most incredible baby carrots along with my catch of the day ! Lake Superior Herring (which is another recipe I would love to have) It is honestly the best I have ever had ....Congrats Chef Rob ......and believe me I have had it at a few restaurants along the north shore.! We only stayed one night due to my brother going back to L.A. anyways we will definitely be treating them to a night out there on their next return! Thank-you for a wonderful place to stay on the North Shore!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
605 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Pub and Lakeside Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We ate at the pub as well as the Lakeside restaurant. The pub is much less expensive. The service in the pub was a bit slow. The food was good and the environment is a bit stale. The ambiance in the main Lakeside Restaurant is beautiful. The food is very expensive. We had the wild rice soup in both the pub and main restaurant and it was ok. (Not as good as Panera) The exact same dinner salad was larger with more lettuce in the main restaurant. The food in the main restaurant was excellent as was the service. The beef tips were excellent and the london broil and ribeye were good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MinnesotaRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lutsen Scandinavian Resort Dining also viewed

 

Been to Lutsen Scandinavian Resort Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing