We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous View”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Cliff Dweller in September. In general, the hotel is reasonably priced and seemed to be a good value for the price. First, my part of the review. The place is quiet, quaint and clean. We slept very well which surprised me considering how close the hotel is to the highway. We heard very little traffic noise. This location has an incredible view of the lake and you are within feet of the crashing waves. I loved the sound and views of those waves and would absolutely stay there again just for that. As for my husband's review, he would not go there again for two reasons. The television channels are limited(no ESPN) and the internet is limited and could only be accessed in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bralle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    62
    16
    11
    8
See reviews for
38
73
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Get reservation confirmation in writing, otherwise won’t honor what staff quoted you. Owners plan on closing by end of October so make sure they will be there.
Very poor owners with very poor customer service. Our screen door wouldn’t open to our balcony so we couldn’t sit out and enjoy the view. Owner tried to fix, but new screen too short, so still couldn’t enjoy view. Promised to fix next day on Friday, but wasn’t fixed and told he didn’t have to fix anything on the weekend. If we didn’t like it come get our money and leave.
She and her husband were very unhappy when they had to bring us toilet paper for the staff didn’t supply us any. They wanted us to go get it.
You go to this motel for the view and not the customer service. The waves crashing right below you are great, that is if you can get out to the balcony to enjoy it. We couldn’t even leave our door open at night because of the screen not closing.

Room Tip: Get reservation confirmation in writing, otherwise won’t honor what staff quoted you. Owners plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polishtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We used to just love staying at The Cliff Dweller. However, our last trip there was less than enjoyable. New owners took over just over a year ago and they are not to pleasant. Blaming staff to guests about cleanliness issues, negative and unhelpful.
It's really a shame because the view from the rooms is great. We have stayed many times, but we won't be back there again unless the nice lady that owned it before buys it back!
Brian Chryst
St. Croix Falls, WI

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brianserenity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The view is spectacular, and you could't be much closer to the lake. We slept with the door open, so we could hear the waves from the lake, hit the shore. The rooms are small, and beds, just OK. The balconies were fine, but I don't think the railings are safe. They are short and sort of wiggly, which is scary if you are on a cliff. The prices are OK considering the location. Great place to stay if heading into the BWCA.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LChapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

OK, we all agree that the view from the rooms is wonderful. But after a few ohh-h-hs and ah-h-hs, you're left with the rest of the place.

The balconies are not "private" as advertised. They are all part of a connected deck that runs the full length of the back of the motel, divided by low wrought iron railings -- not even privacy screens. So if you have noisey or nosey neighbors you're just out of luck. And I sure didn't feel safe leaving the sliding door open for the night. (And with the door closed the only water sound you have is the bathroom in the room above you.)

Bed was acceptable, but chairs were uncomfortable and way too low for the table.

Every electric plug was taken except the one by the sink, but it turned off anytime the sink light was off. So there was really no place to recharge phone or laptop. And the advertised internet service is so weak and slow that it's almost non-existant.

There is no restaurant. No coffee in the room. Breakfast is all carbs and things don't appear to be refreshed during the serving hours. Get there early or go without.

It's ok for a one-night stay if you are just on your way somewhere else, but I wouldn't actually plan to spend a few nights there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsPincheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My husband and I were regulars at the Cliff Dweller for several summers in a row. A couple years ago we went back for our usual July visit, only to discover that the wonderful manager had resigned, and the Cliff Dweller was simply not operating up to its usual high standards. I'm happy to report that it's back to its previous excellence, thanks to the new owners.

If you're looking for a motel with lots to do on site, this is not the place for you. But if you want a peaceful place to relax in the evenings after exploring Minnesota's North Shore during the days, this is the best. The Cliff Dweller is situated right on the cliffs with a fantastic view of Lake Superior. Many times in the warm months, it is possible to leave the balcony door open and be lulled to sleep by the sound of waves on the rocks below. And the breakfast is amazingly good for such a small motel.

We look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Prairie
Level Contributor
217 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My husband found this place, while I had picked a chain accommodation; we had planned to split our time, three nights at each place. When plans changed and our time on the North Shore had to be shortened, he kept this place and cancelled the other. Am I glad that he did! Every room has a balcony overlooking Lake Superior, it's right there. When they say "continental breakfast" they are being modest; there are eggs, and other protein options available. I hope that we have the opportunity to stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, which seemed optimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank texaschic987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
3.7 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
3.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
22.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
7.6 mi away
Solbakken on Superior
4.7 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior

Property: The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
Address: US Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55615
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Dweller Inn Of Tofte Hotel Lutsen
Cliff Dweller Lutsen
Cliff Dweller Hotel Of Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing