We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonably Priced on The Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Solbakken on Superior
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Reasonably Priced on The Lake”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed in one of the fireplace suites with our two children (13 & 15). It was a large suite with two bedrooms (both with queen beds) and a fold-out couch in the living area. The kitchen & shower were a bit outdated, but functional. There are four cabins that are near the water that appeared private and romantic. The "lodge" is further from the water, but you can walk down to the shore. Unfortunately, the shore is rocky and the shoreline drops off steeply, so it's really not a place to spend much time. Attached to the lodge are motel rooms that looked a bit dingy. Inside the lodge, the gathering area was warm and inviting.

We stayed here because we wanted to rent a cabin on the shoreline. I would stay here again if we could stay in one of the cabins where you can hear the waves. Otherwise, I would try to find a place closer to shops and restaurants that was more up to date. The suites in the lodge are roomy and functional, but not quite what I was looking for in a cabin stay. When I saw the motel rooms from the outside, I was glad that we did not rent one of those.

Overall, our stay was pleasant. The price was reasonable. The facility was very clean. The owners were accommodating. We were a bit disappointed in the access to the lake and the shoreline. It was a good place to stay as a base camp for visiting other sites, but not a destination in itself.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waldodeefendorfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    29
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
34
36
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

My wife and I went up here with our dog last year and loved it. Unfortunately for us, we just had to cancel our trip for July 22 of this year! So that means there's an opening! Book it people! You won't be disappointed!

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

We have stayed at Solbakken Resort three times and have it reserved for ten days next summer! Between my husband and I and our families we have literally been in every cabin! My favorite is the three bedroom cabin 1. It has a really open roomy feel to it. it's right on the shore of Lake Superiior so you can go to sleep listening to the waves.
The staff are all incredibly friendly and helpful. Scott, the manager, not only booked our first reservation, he helped me plan my wedding as I didn't know anything about Lutsen. He was our photographer (highly recommend him) he also helped me find a florist, a baker, a JP and a great place to have our wedding dinner!
All in all I can't think of anything negative about Solbakken. I do recommend that if you rent a one bedroom cabin you should have no more than 2 people as they are really small, but really cozy!
I'm already doing the countdown to next year and I think I'm going to try to squeeze a fall trip in this year also. Oh and one other thing, they are very pet friendly! Which is important to me because we don't travel without our dogs!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiariamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sauk Centre, Minnesota
Level Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Solbakken is an older resort, with several rustic cabins and a 3-bedroom house called the Jonas House, where we stayed. We had been in the smaller cabins before, but this time wanted the whole family there for a birthday celebration. I would call the place "shabby chic," because even though it is an older facility, everything works as it should and one really gets the sense of privacy, as though the cabin were one's own. The lodge owners are very friendly and eager to please. There is nothing deluxe about the place but if you are looking for peace, quiet and isolation in what is possibly the most beautiful part of Minnesota, the Solbakken is the place to check out. Rustic, cozy and comfortable -- a perfect lake getaway!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crisro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iron Mountain, MI
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

I just got back from 4 nights at Solbakken, 3 nights in a cabin on the shorline and one in the handicap accessible lodge suite with my elderly mom. This place is a treasure! The cabins are right on the rocky coast allowing the guests a panoramic view of Lake Superior and shoreline. Our cabin was barrier-free making it possible for my elderly mom to come. The privacy, tranquility and serenity of the place make it worth the 7.5 hour drive for me. The owners are hard-working good people who truly care about their guests and work hard to address any special need or concern. My only complaint would be that the beds need new matresses. I called ahead and requested boards be put under each mattress. These were in place when we got there. An employee actually helped me get my mom settled and helped me bring in our things. The cabin was clean and the kitchen very clean, equiped with nice pans and stoneware dishes as well as any utensile you might need. A Weber Grill is outside for each cabin's use. The ancient lava flow that comprises the shoreline here slopes gently to the lake inviting some gentle rock scrambling if you wish. But the huge deck out front places you right at the water's edge. You can be enveloped in the scene with out getting out of your chair if you choose. If you want electronic media entertainment and luxury then find another spot. But if you are looking for a genuine northwoods experience amidst the splendor of mighty Lake Superior then this is truly the place! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjfnokomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadelodge, Owner at Solbakken on Superior, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
Thanks for your kind review of Solbakken! We really appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

We needed a place to stay for one night in Lutsen, MN. My husband booked a room at the Sobakken Resort (Motel). We stayed in room #8. The smell of mildew in this room is so strong it is nearly toxic. We asked for different room and none were available. It was literally hard to sleep as the smell was so strong. The cabins were on the water and looked nicer. There is not really access to the water when you stay at the motel. It was the worst room I have ever stayed in I am in the travel business.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnesotamom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie D, Front Office Manager at Solbakken on Superior, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Please note that we have new owners and management as of June 2013. The 6 unit motel is one of the first to get upgraded. Besides an exterior facelift, we are in the process of removing all the carpets room by room, and have addressed some issues in the crawl space which both have resolved the funky smell. Bathroom remodels are scheduled soon also. May I also point out that each motel has access to a deck with lovely lake view. There is access to the shore for exploring that area and even a few steps to take you closer. The shore is to be enjoyed by all our guests, not just those staying in the cabins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2008

On the way home from a past camping trip to Cascade River State Park last summer, my wife and I stopped at nearly every Resort / Lodge we could find between Grand Marais and Duluth, looking for A) A place we could afford; B) a view of Lake Superior; & C) cozy romantic and private cabin at which to spend our first anniversary.

Solbakken, on price alone, was by far, less expensive then other resorts, of nearly any quality. On top of that, every room had a view of the Lake: from the motel-style rooms with nice wood decks, to 1-2 bedroom fireplace suites, to fully furnished cabins & lake homes (with outdoor fire pits on the rocks a couple feet from the Lake.).

While affordable and having a great view, certain little details could use a little updating (several of the cabins are new, concerning which this probably doesn't apply), but nothing worth writing home about. In deed, it was quite clean and well kept.

The property is family owned, which is certainly a boon, they live on site and take personal interest in your stay. The great room / lobby has beautiful exposed log beams, and hunting lodge-style decor. There is a library of books, videos, & board games available for use on the honor system as well.

We would have made use of the hot tub and sauna in the main lodge, but my wife is pregnant (yea!).

All around, nothing is better than feeling at home up north for the weekend, with a fire roaring and the clash of the waves against the rocks heard easily with the window slightly open, and knowing that you are getting it all for a great price too!

(They have a good website with 360-degree photos in all the rooms/cabins, and on the property as well. [-] )

  • Liked — Location, Price, Fireplace
  • Disliked — Firm Bed
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ventureJeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
3.9 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
15.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
11.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
15.3 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
5.7 mi away
Cascade Lodge
Cascade Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lutsen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solbakken on Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solbakken on Superior

Property: Solbakken on Superior
Address: 4874 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612-9515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Lutsen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Solbakken on Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solbakken is a hidden gem in Lutsen on Lake Superior's North Shore. We provide home base in our cabins nestled along the shore as you experience the Northwoods. Solbakken is situated on seven acres of very special property with over 600 feet of Lake Superior shoreline for guests to enjoy! Our cozy accommodations feature an option for all budgets ranging from economy style units to luxury cabins with fireplaces. Enjoy a variety of activities including canoeing, kayaking, snowshoeing in winter and barbecuing in summer. Welcome to your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Solbakken on Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solbakken Hotel Lutsen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing