We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Solbakken on Superior
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I arrived at Solbakken's sister resort, the Cascade Inn, crying after backpacking the nearby Superior Hiking Trail all day in the rain and getting lost. Amanda at the front desk got me a room at Solbakken and even arranged for another staff person to give me a ride to the resort. Dale gave me a ride and even gave me a ride back in the morning. These staff went way beyond the call of duty to help me out when I was in a pinch. I am so thankful.

Room Tip: Be prepared for an old fashioned Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cabinfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

We spent 4 nights at Solbakken in one of the Villas, attached to the lodge. Our villa had 2 bedrooms, a small kitchen and a fireplace The setting was very nice, near the lakeshore, with windows and a deck overlooking the other cabins closer to the shore.
The unit seemed to be clean but very dated and needs lots of fixing and updates. The furniture was quite worn, the smoke detector was hanging from the ceiling by its wires, the towels were very old and ragged and the heat would not shut off in one of the bedrooms. The handy man looked at the problem and said "I think someone else complained about this. I can't shut it off. You can just open the window when it gets too hot." (We did but it was December so it was very cold!) He also tucked the smoke detector up into the ceiling tiles and said he'd bring a new one later. It was still broken when we left 4 days later!
The employees were friendly and helped us when we asked questions. Too bad they are letting the place get so run down. It could be a very nice resort with some repairs and updates.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie D, Front Office Manager at Solbakken on Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Note to anyone reading these old reviews. As of June 2013, we have new owners and management, who are working hard to update the property. Some of the changes are new mattresses, bedding, kitchen towels and TV's. We are now using a linen service for sheets and bathroom towels. Landscaping is being done while still keeping the natural North Shore look. Repairs are being made promptly and we have a schedule for upgrades. Old carpeting is slowly being removed and furniture replaced as the budget allows. There is lots to be done, but long time guests are noticing the improvements and making positive comments. We really care about our guests and want everyone to have a great time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We just spent three nights in cabin #4. It is a newly undated 2 bedroom cabin right on the lake. It was so relaxing to hear the sounds of the waves crashing against the shore line. We took our two boys whom had a great timing climbing and playing on the rocky shore line. It was a perfect location for us. We were close to all the parks and great hiking trails. We did not spend much time in the main lodge area but it looked very nice and relaxing. The cabin was small but we all felt cozy and very comfortable in it. We went late in October and needed the heat on which felt great in the cabin. Made it feel like a true north woods cabin. it was great to come back to the cabin and relax at night, play games and enjoy the peace and serenity of the big lake! We would absolutely stay there again!

Room Tip: The cabins were great, never saw the rooms in the lodge. The motel looked a bit rough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We've been coming to The North Shore for 20some years and this was the first place we ever stayed. We don't come back every year, but when we want some quiet down-time it is the perfect spot. It is a throwback in time with teeny cabins and the soothing sounds of the pounding Lake Superior waves. Great rock hounding and reflective time on the smooth rock shore. It is close enough to stores, but you still feel like you are away from it all. The rooms are well kept for their age and if you don't want anything fancy, you'll love it here. Book early though!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shinyobjects63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Our daughter introduced us to this family-owned resort with 3 distinct types of lodging on the grounds - motel rooms, cabins & suites in the main lodge. It is all very rustic, with homey furnishings. Our 3 room suite sleeps up to six, had a working fireplace (wood provided) with a full kitchen including oven & compact dishwasher. While we could hear Highway 61 traffic, the sound of the lake was louder. Our windows looked out on the woods & the lake below, with a deck & grill. The sauna & hot tub were right upstairs, as was the lodge living room with games, books & wi-fi access.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the back side of the lodge or in one of the lake front cabins to minimize traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sewhappy1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I enjoyed my stay in Lutsen. The Solbakken has some definite pros, but more cons.

Pros:
-Real wood fireplace in the suite
-Decent beds
-Bedrooms were clean
-Nice space for a 2-bedroom suite (kitchenette, dining area and living room all in one. Definitely big enough for the 4 of us comfortably)
-Kitchen had enough to get by

Cons:
-No hot water in the showers
-Coffee pot leaked horribly
-Heat in the rooms were difficult to work. It was either too hot or you had to have them off all together. The heaters also made an awful noise.
-Kitchen pots/pans, dishes, etc were a bit rough

Again. I enjoyed my stay at the Solbakken, you just have to go with an understanding of the rustic-ness of the resort.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suite in the main building was perfect for 2 couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed in cottage 2, right on the shore of Lake Superior. The cottage has 2 bedrooms, one bathroom and a fully equipped kitchen/living area. The cottage was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The kitchen includes full-sized appliances and a dishwasher. The deck if right above the rocks of the shoreline. There is a fire pit and chopped wood available for use. We enjoyed sitting on the deck, reading and relaxing. The area has a lot of activities available.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loopywi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
15.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
3.9 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
11.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
281 reviews
3.7 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
3.7 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solbakken on Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solbakken on Superior

Address: 4874 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612-9515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Lutsen
Price Range: £58 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Solbakken on Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solbakken is a hidden gem in Lutsen on Lake Superior's North Shore. We provide home base in our cabins nestled along the shore as you experience the Northwoods. Solbakken is situated on seven acres of very special property with over 600 feet of Lake Superior shoreline for guests to enjoy! Our cozy accommodations feature an option for all budgets ranging from economy style units to luxury cabins with fireplaces. Enjoy a variety of activities including canoeing, kayaking, snowshoeing in winter and barbecuing in summer. Welcome to your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Solbakken on Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solbakken Hotel Lutsen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing