We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Food, Upscaled”

3 Squares Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 120 Restaurants in Maple Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$16
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
St. Paul, MN
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Comfort Food, Upscaled”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had a good lunch the 3 Squares. While the menu of at-first familiar items (burgers, sandwiches, salads) isn’t inexpensive, the quality and creativity that goes into them still makes for a decent value.
The chefs are clearly allowed to have some fun and latitude in coming up with specials, and that day’s Euroburger and an Asian-inspired beef salad were really good. Our more picky kids loved their upscale grilled cheese sandwich and shrimp & pesto flatbread.
Our server was really great. He volunteered some of his favorites as he described the menu and specials, and made sure the kids understood that (for example) a 3 Squares grilled cheese is not the same as what you would get at a Perkins.
Overall, a comfortable, pleasant meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThatRHguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    112
    26
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A no nonsense place for some comfort food and a good glass of wine”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

A great neighborhood spot to meet with friends and neighbors that is sure to please. This is a no nonsense unpretentious place where you can find dishes that mom made for us growing up, and some that she would never have prepared but should have. There is something for everyone, and it's a go place for us.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Torn8oChaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great, innovative restaurant”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We like Three Squares, and enjoy taking visitors and guests there. The breakfast menu is varied, with a great breakfast burrito and Belgian waffles. The rest of the day has varied menus, something for all tastes, as well as two happy hours. The happy hour menu is different from the regular menu. I especially like the sliders - all flavors. They have a wide variety of craft beers on tap, a much larger selection than found in most restaurants. We also like their wine selections.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good home cooking like mother used to make”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The food at 3 Squares is plain but delicious. Their sweet potato fries are to die for. You can eat breakfast all day, and all of it is appetizing and good. The restaurant always has a good crowd of casually dressed people of all ages. That speaks well for its popularity.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manycruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best sweet potato fries”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The restaurant is good for all three meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) but I really like the sweet potato fries. I tried the turkey sliders but I really didn't like that. However, my friend who also had the sliders, liked them so it is probably more preference than anything.

It is a little bit on the pricier side but the food is definitely solid and the service is good. If you have a few extra bucks, stop in!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to 3 Squares Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing