We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emerald Inn of Maplewood
Nearby Hotels
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
2
6
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
6
8
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We reserved a king non-smoking room but when we checked the desk attendant took us to our room only to discover it was still occupied. He kept apologizing that he didnt normally work this shift and he found another room but it had no sheets! He then gave us keys to a different room with two beds which is not what we wanted. He then called his manager and told us he was giving us a suite at no additional cost to us! WOW! The room was a storage/resting place for end tables and broken items!!! There were 6 end tables lined up around the room, the phone wasn't plugged in because the cord was broken, there was a floor lamp that had two different color cords taped together with painters tape ( which we never plugged in) one end table had a leg that was totally broken off and the desk behind the couch was missing the front middle drawer front and had sharp nails sticking out on both sides! The sheets were terribly frayed and see thru!!! The bathroom was so small you had to straddle the toilet to close the door. On the plus side we had no towels or wash cloths in the room and when we called they were promptly delivered. The room was very old and tired and had not a picture anywhere on any of the walls.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vluv2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We needed a room for one night and didn't need any frills. This hotel is located at the intersection of I-694 and White Bear Avenue, so it was very convenient and easy to locate. The check-in process went smoothly, although there had been a small mix-up during the reservations. The employee was friendly and professional. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The heater worked perfectly, with no weird smells or temperature fluctuations. They offer a great variety of TV channels. The bathroom included towels, etc. for two, plus plastic drinking cups, shampoo packets, hand and bath soap, and a hair dryer. There is no complimentary breakfast, but there is a Perkins right next door. They are right by the Maplewood Mall, so there are tons of great restaurants and shopping within just a few blocks. Although they advertise themselves as "no frills", I didn't notice anything important missing from our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TerriKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We were in the area for a graduation had many family members so we all stayed at the Emerald Inn. Easy to find and to get back on the freeway. Close to Maplewood Mall and a few eating areas. Not the fanciest place, no pool, but the rooms were clean and the bed so so. If had to be in the area again would stay for the price.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank DebSoular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Surprised at how expensive this area is to "rent" a bed. Looked for 2 nights lodging while on a 2 week trip and found this place because some friends live in the area. Convenient to freeway, gas, food, and stores.Just over $50 a night when we stayed. Rooms are VERY clean, good size. Bathroom was clean, defiantly on the small size but adequate. Fridge and microwave were handy for us. Internet not quite high speed, but did the job for checking e-mail and light browsing. Were a few construction workers staying and had some of they're trucks taking up some of the parking which seems limited already for the size of the building. Considering the Twin cities hotels can go for 2,3 or 4 times what we paid, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitewolf505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This seems to be a pretty pricey area. I needed to be in this neighborhood for a MN Drinking Team event, and all the other hotels were much more expensive (even with loyalty discounts).
the room was average to small, but clean and has a frige and microwave, which I always appreciate.
The smoking floor was very smokey, but luckily the window opened and let in some fresh air.
It's right on the freeway and easy to locate. We didn't have trouble with the noise until a big-rig truck decided to park (with the motor ON) outside our window for a long time in the wee hours of the morning.
There's no breakfast, but there's a perkins right outside and a couple vending machines.
They have a strict "no visitors after midnight" policy.
There are plenty of bars and restaurants in walking distance, as well as a shopping mall and a nightclulb.
They do have free wiFi

Room Tip: Proably better higher up.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HurricaneAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews