We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wing selection, best for take-out”
Review of D-Spot

D-Spot
Ranked #3 of 57 Restaurants in Maplewood
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing wing selection, best for take-out”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Over 70 different imaginative and complex chicken wing concoctions. From sweet to savory to impossibly spicy. (Exclusive menu for those looking for challenging spicy combinations). Black Widow with its soy glaze seems to be a crowd favorite. My favorites are the Goats Blood and Incredible Hulk. Burgers are also well executed. Fresh hand formed patties. The fries are hand cut and heavily seasoned - might be over seasoned for some. All items made after you order by a dedicated crew in the open kitchen. They do a very brisk take out business out of a tiny and "divey" hole in the wall location. I stop by about once a month and would likely stop more often if the prices were just a bit more moderate.

Sadly, one of my favorite flavors " Goats Blood" cost $7.50 for a 6 wings. They are wonderfully crispy outside and meaty, but not huge. Big appetites can easily spend $20 after fries and canned pop (no refills with those spicy wings). Due to brisk business,open kitchen and poor ventilation the small dining area can be extremely warm and smoky. D's spot is definitely best as an adventerous take out.

A must stop for any gourmand of chicken wings !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpooh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    14
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“For the wing enthusiast”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Unbelievable! If you like wings, you gotta try D Spot if you are anywhere within 200 miles. Very casual, family friendly and down right amazing. Our group of 6 sampled several: tarantula, muay thai, spicy caramel, el rancho, johnny appleseed, caramel delight. Yes, these are wing flavors.... Intense flavors, each with a specific taste but all five star. Service was quick, friendly and fun, and the wings, besides flavorful and loaded with sauce, were meaty. A MUST stop place!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Flava!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Wow, such intense flavors! Being a big eater, I can't really get my fill without breaking the bank. However, best $20 appetizer I've ever had. I'll be back for more. Try as many flavors you can stomcah.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WarriorGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wings Galore!”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband read about a place on Century Avenue in Maplewood, MN called D-Spot. The write-up indicated they had the best chicken wings around, and we decided it was worth a look and taste. We each ordered six wings and shared a small order of french fries and also onion rings. Hubby had the Four Seasons which is a dry rub, not-so-messy wing, and he thought they were very good and would order them again. However, he favored my wings which are the Black Widow. They have a soy glaze, cracked fennel and dry rub seasoning. There was more kick to the Black Widow than the Four Season. The fries had a dry seasoning on them which was very good.

This place is a real winner. He has so many variations of wings - spicy, sweet, savory, with everything from garlic to peanut butter, chocolate, caramel, chipotle. You name it, they have it. They were excellent! We will go back again.

The seating area is pretty sparce, and I gather from the time that we were there, the majority of his business is take-out. This will be one of those places we call in an order before we leave work and pick it up on our way home. It will take us forever to sample every item on the menu. He's got a good thing going here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harley246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good wings”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The wings are good. I got some of the sweet kind on this stop. The chicken wings are crunchy and the onion rings were pretty good to. The place is tiny and great for take out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed D-Spot also viewed

 

Been to D-Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing