We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wings for those who might not want the heat!”
Review of D-Spot

D-Spot
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in Maplewood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Television
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great wings for those who might not want the heat!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

While my mouth still loves spicy food, the older I get, the more my stomach doesn't. But so many places with good wings are all about how spicy they are. Not at D-Spot, which is wonderful!

They do make spicy wings - I was there one day ordering and a cloud of spices came out of the kitchen that made me cough. You want incendiary wings? They appear to have them. But my husband is from Central NY, and he is more than happy with an order of the savory Iberian wings (seasoned with smoked paprika and studded with chunks of chorizo sausage). I love either the Ochre (honey and spicy mustard) or Vaporizer (honey, spicy mustard and horseradish). We both could live on their signature Black Widow wings (soy, fennel, and other spices).

We prefer to do takeout if it's just us, since they can get really busy. (And it's kind of fun to get your chicken wings in Chinese takeout boxes. ;) ) But it's also fun to go and sit with friends, and to order a table full of different wings. They recently put some fun murals on the walls, but it's not an otherwise prettied-up place - they make wings, they do them well, the tables are clean. Don't expect a fine-dining atmosphere (but you absolutely don't need it here). They also have affordable water and sodas in cans and bottles.

Just a note - if you want to get these wings on Sundays, that's only during football season. And if you want them for the Super Bowl, you need to place orders well ahead of time. And possibly for an hour or so before you need them, because they get swamped. But rightfully so. :)

D-Spot - we love you!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chasmosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    14
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“holy cats those wings are amazing!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I went to D-Spot recently for take out and LOVED it! It's in a tiny strip mall and it was hot in there (I felt sorry for the cooks I tell you what). Since they have 80+ flavors of wings, I asked the guy behind the counter what he recommended. I went with three kinds because so many sounded good: Iron Man, Buffalo Bill and Tarantula. Iron Man were a great combo of sweet and spicy, Buffalo Bill had buffalo sauce and were rolled in bleu cheese crumbles, Tarantula had a great rub with a subtle and sophisitcated flavor that I really enjoyed. I basically made love to these wings they were sooooo good!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
112 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“One of the top two burgers I've ever had”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A small group of us were looking for something different for lunch and a burger sounded great. This petite restaurant located between two other restaurants in a tiny little strip mall delivered a giant-sized-tasting burger. The Italian Stallion made with ½ ground chuck and ½ ground capicola. This was a stand-out burger like no other. I was surprised we didn’t have more competition, but being a super nice day after our long difficult winter it’s understandable. The D-Spot had a very impressive menu of wings, but only the burgers were sampled and 100% of the group was WOWWED. Keep up the great work.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T4TwoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
174 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Unique and unexpected, these wings blow your mind!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Whether you're looking for something spicy and Cajun or totally off the wall like Caramel covered wings you'll find it here at D-Spot! My first time here the maybe 90 types of wings had my mind spinning! Tough to be disappointed if you try this spot!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EclecticTastes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Smokin'”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Smoke burning your eyes and smokin' wings too. Little hole-in-d-wall place in a string of shops tucked behind McD's. Wing choices were amazing, we loved the ones we tried and took a take out menu to track what we've ordered for future visits. We were the only people there over 30 and loved watching an artist creating surreal paintings on the walls. Warning: smoke gets in your eyes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katyk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed D-Spot also viewed

 

Been to D-Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing