We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, nothing special, good service”

Gulden's 61 Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #1 of 57 Restaurants in Maplewood
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1,064 reviews
619 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
“Average food, nothing special, good service”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Went here with a group of people to celebrate friend's birthday on a Friday night. Service was good but food was nothing special. Had turkey and it was only ok. Another person in group had walleye. Again, only ok
Salad bar small, well below average of many restaurants. Food is moderately price and restaurant was about 6 on a Friday night. But there are many far better dining options in east metro area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seniordad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
245 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A local favorite”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Always a good meal and reasonably priced. The have early bird specials for those so inclined, and more than few complete meals specially priced. Steak, shrimp and salad bar for 12.95 is a great deal. Service is consistently good. Salad bar could have a few more items to get a higher rating.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharkhunter2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Happy hour every day 11-7 and perfect onion rings!”
Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

We had lunch and a beer at this place. I loved two things: happy hour prices, even on the weekend and perfect onion rings! Yum!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krismamabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Lake, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very rude Karaoke dj. The overal bar was just okay”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My family and i went out for karaoke night on friday,. We all were very disappointed with there Karaoke Dj host. He is one of the worst host i have encountered, And i sing karaoke very often at other places. He was rude, and not personable. He even insulted my sister and i when we choose our duet song!! his exact words were "ugh really, this song"!! i mean even if it's not your favorite song to hear, he should have kept his opinion to himself, and shouldn't have made us feel bad about our song choice and wanting to sing. He also had that attitude that was like i know i'm better than everyone else. I even said good job or great singing voice a couple of times and he Just kept walking away as he already knew! The waitress was very rude to us at first, almost as if it we all were being an inconvenience to ask for our drinks. Later on however she was more personable and friendly. It was very crowed and the older lady who worked the pool tabs glared at you from across the room. Overall i was not happy with my experience here, and more so from this karaoke host. needless to say i will not be returning back. If your looking for some where fun to go more for karaoke . Turn around and go somewhere else!! This is honestly the worst group of people i have ever encountered!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
226 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We have eaten here many times and just never gave it a thought to review them. They have been there for so many years so that says a lot. We have never been disappointed with their food. It is always fresh and hot. The salad bar is kept stocked with the usual veggies and a few variety salads. This is always fresh looking no matter when you go. There is a large variety of food from sandwiches to entrees. Anyone could find something to eat. Their fish is fresh and has always been very good. The service is quick and efficient. Many of the staff have been there for years. The owner is always visible and available to talk to you. He circulates the dining room. This is a great place to go at any time. The dining room is dated but that is part of the charm of the place. It reminds of places from my past.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2gothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gulden's 61 Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Gulden's 61 Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing