We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise Charges, Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprise Charges, Beware”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

After leaving the hotel, we were charged with a smoking fee when no one smoked (we are non-smokers) in the room. They claim they took pictures yet refuse to show us. We called and spoke with a manager who told us he would not argue with us and left it at that. We checked our bank statement and the charges did not match with what was on the invoice. Again, we called management and they stated they didn't want to argue with us, they wouldn't even fully explain it. The customer service was horrible, the manager was arrogant, fake smoking charges, small rooms, carpets had bleach stains, room was small. Horrible experience.

Room Tip: There's other hotels in Minneapolis, look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank See L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hello See L,

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention, our management has been in contact for follow up.

Regards,
W Minneapolis-The Foshay Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    344
    146
    60
    34
See reviews for
100
521
104
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis, mn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had a great stay. In town a for a wedding. We had stayed at a number of other properties in Minneapolis over the past few years but this is the first at the W. Attentive staff, comfy room, all in all a winner of a weekend. We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obobo3863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Greetings, obobo3863,

Thank you for visiting W Minneapolis-The Foshay, and cheers to a wedding celebration! Your comments regarding our comfortable rooms and attentive staff are appreciated; it will be a pleasure to pass them onto our talent! See you soon!

Best Regards,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is so posh!! All the employees are good looking!! The room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. We had a dirty toilet, but caught a maid in the hallway and she cleaned it immediately. The Prohibition Bar is very nice. Drinks were good, but very spendy. I got a cheaper one and it was $15. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Welcome Monika B,

Thank you for staying with us at W Minneapolis, in the iconic Foshay Tower! I am happy to hear you were most comfortable in your guest room and enjoyed the posh art deco design! My personal apologies the cleanliness of the toilet did not meet your expectations, but relieved our style team could accommodate immediately. Please see my direct message regarding this issue.

I look forward to welcoming you back for another stay at W Minneapolis, or for a sip with a view at the sky high Prohibition bar on the 27th floor.

Cheers!
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Went here for a weekend with a big group. Check-in went flawlessly which was to be commended. The rooms were small but we knew that ahead of time. Major complaint was that the rooms were so warm and for 2 days while we were there, no one could fix this. My friend actually tried to sleep on the bathroom floor as it was the only cool place in the room. For $250 a night, we deserved more than this. Would not stay again.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jonessgekko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hello jonessgekko,

Thank you for reflecting on your recent stay at W Minneapolis-The Foshay. I am glad to hear the welcome process went flawlessly, however, am disappointed to hear you were not satisfied with your guest room temperature. Please see my direct message regarding your room number so we can immediately address the temperature issue. Thank you again for the comments, I will personally ensure this issue is remedied.

Best Wishes,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Easily the best Starwood property in Minneapolis. I've stayed in all of them and the W is head and shoulders above the others. The rooms are great, the staff is wonderful (especially James, Brett, Cyrin and Ashley) and the location is central. Based in the hotel is Minny's best steakhouse, Manny's, and the best breakfast restaurant, Key's. The hotel is part of the skyway system so you don't have to go outside to get around downtown. Great Platinum recognition and attention to service. It was my home during the week for five and half months and they really made it feel like more than a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanc724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hello seanc724,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest for the past six months; and thank you for sharing your fabulous review with the community on TripAdvisor! I am thrilled to pass on your kind words regarding our wonderful talent, and your shout outs to James, Brett, Cyrin and Ashley!

So glad you enjoyed the accessibility and conveniences of the W’s downtown Minneapolis location, and our great onsite restaurants as well. From all of us here at the W, we look forward to welcoming you back soon, to your Home Sweet Home in Minneapolis!

Cheers!
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed recently at the Forshay when we were forced by airline schedules to spend an extra night in Minneapolis. Easy access to everything including the freeway. Great bar and restaurant. The handle on the shower in room 2010 was a little loose and the dark purple paint showed every ding. Those are nitpicks but I try to do honest reviews. It's spendy but they do cash and points if you're on the Starwood system.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaskanabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hello Alaskanabroad,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at W Minneapolis-The Foshay, and it was a pleasure to have you for an extra night! I am happy to hear you enjoyed the convenience of the fabulous onsite bar and restaurant scene, with Manny’s Steakhouse, The Living Room bar, and Prohibition all within the historic Foshay Tower!

My apologies you found the shower door handle loose and the paint did not meet your expectations in your guest room. I will be sure to address these issues with our engineering department right away, please see my direct message to obtain room information. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Minneapolis and the continental US!

Happy Holidays,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

With a moto of whatever whenever, how could it not be a fantastic place to stay. I have been to the foshay several times to go the fantastic bars or to Manny's steakhouse, but never to stay in the hotel. This place has their stuff together! Everyone was pleasant, helpful and accommodating. The rooms are very nice and the location is second to none downtown. The breakfast at Manny's is delicious (must try the smoked bacon carved tableside). Spike the bartender makes a mean blackberry mojito too. The fireplace in the lobby was a welcoming place to sit and visit with friends and family with our favorite cocktail and relax.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide a view above the surrounding buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritsriii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Welcome, ritsriii,

Thank you for staying with us at W Minneapolis-The Foshay, what a pleasure to have you as our guest! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed some of the fabulous on property areas, including Manny’s steakhouse and relaxation and libations in the Living Room! Our doors are always open, and our talent is ready to accommodate Whatever/Whenever!

Cheers,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,618 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Ivy, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Minneapolis
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Minneapolis - The Foshay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Property: W Minneapolis - The Foshay
Address: 821 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2929
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#14 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Minneapolis - The Foshay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious, historical W Minneapolis Hotel - The Foshay inspires innovative style in a soaring icon of art deco splendor. Take in splendid art, music, shopping, dining and theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your W Minneapolis - The Foshay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Minneapolis - The Foshay Hotel Minneapolis
w Hotels Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing