We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“geared toward a certain demographic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Norman
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“geared toward a certain demographic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Compared to other upscale chain hotels, this one seems geared to young people aiming to party down. I thought it was not as well designed as the Radisson Blu or inviting as the Grand (a Kimpton). The Foshay is a beautiful landmark, but only the elevators are evidence of this legacy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodomontade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hello Rodomontade,

Thank you for contributing a review on your recent stay at W Minneapolis-The Foshay. My apologies the art deco inspired design and contemporary setting was not most comfortable for you. We look forward to welcoming you for a fabulous Whatever/Whenever guest service experience soon.

Thank you,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    339
    145
    58
    34
See reviews for
100
513
101
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at the W for a 3 day weekend. I have stayed in hotels on 5 continents and have never been so uncomfortable. It's a beautiful Art Deco building, but you can't see anything because of the poor lighting. After entering the front door, you have to walk down a dark hallway that's half a block long to the reception desk. It was so dark that I didn't even notice they have a concierge desk until I had been there 2 days! You have to use your room key to make the elevators work, which is a great security measure, but they only worked 50% of the time. Frustrating! My room was painted in dark colors with minimal lighting. Why???? Do you think that staying in a cave is cool? The lounge chair was saucer shaped and uncomfortable to get in and out of, much less to sit in. The bathroom was spacious, but DARK! There was ONE plug to the left of the sink, which meant that cords had to drape over the sink, not particularly safe. The vanity and room were large enough for multiple plugs, but no. The shower was large, but only had a rain head faucet. Again, looks hip, but not everyone appreciates having water pour straight on their head. Our shower had 2 translucent walls, which provided quite a show when a visitor stopped by as my husband was taking a shower. On the plus side, I used the gym everyday and it was wonderful, even providing bottled water and apples. Valet parking, bellboys and front desk staff were all top notch. But, would I stay there again? Never. They value their hip vibe over the comfort of their guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliemj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hello juliemj,

Thank you for being our guest at W Minneapolis-The Foshay. I am sorry to hear the hotel lighting did not meet your expectations, if you prefer, I am happy to accommodate additional lighting your guest room for any upcoming stays. Thank you for the kind words regarding the top notch service from our Welcome Desk, Welcome Ambassadors, and Wheels valet staff, it is our pleasure to accommodate Whatever/Whenever.

Thank you!
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The room was dark (and very small), the halls were dark, and couldn't read the buttons in the elevator they were so low. The people working here are very nice. The bar was nice but very expensive (guess that's normal for downtown hotels). $30 for overnight valet parking. If you get a chance, go up to the observation deck around the top.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houbrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Greetings houbrm,

Thank you for being our guest at W Minneapolis. My apologies you were not comfortable with the dim lighting within the historic Foshay Tower, and we did not meet your full expectations during your urban retreat. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the wonderful 360 degree views of downtown Minneapolis and took in a historical perspective from the Foshay Museum. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chartres, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Thoughtful hotel with thoughtful employees. They go out of their way to be of assistance. Must have some great minds in management. Great location with Mannys and Hell's Kitchen within one block. They have very popular bars, but we were not bothered by noise or rowdiness. The rooms have great bathrooms, getting just a bit scuffed but nothing major.

Room Tip: Fantastic package specials with Orbitz
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Bonjour mark w,

Thank you for visiting W Minneapolis all the way from France! What a wonderful compliment- thank you for recognizing the efforts of our thoughtful talent and management! Please see my direct message regarding your guest room and stay information, as I would like to ensure our Engineering department remedies the scuffs you referenced. We look forward to having you as our guest again to W Minneapolis, where you can discover a sophisticated mix of innovative architecture, contemporary comforts and historical influences.

Happy Holidays!
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberts, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

A couple days before check-in I received an email from Lisa, a W-insider. I explained that my wife and I were getting away from the kids and would like to request a room with a good view. Upon check in we were upgraded from Wonderful to a corner King - NICE! The room was extremely clean, bed was comfortable and the Bliss products were very nice. Shortly after getting settled into our room, there was a knock on the door. Lisa had not only upgraded our room, but sent chocolates and wine to our room as well. We were very impressed. All of this on top of a great promotional rate we had taken advantage of. Unfortunately our trip did not afford us the opportunity to visit prohibition or the observation deck. I guess we'll have to come back!

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views, but each floor gets progressively smaller in the Foshay tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hello Nick R,

Thank you for celebrating a night away with us at W Minneapolis! It was a pleasure to accommodate an upgrade and send a sweet simple something to enjoy during your stay. I will be sure to share your great review with Lisa and the rest of the team here at W Minneapolis! Next time you visit, be sure to check out the amazing 360 degree views from the Foshay Tower observation deck and museum, and unwind with a signature cocktail at Prohibition!

Happy Holidays!
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

After leaving the hotel, we were charged with a smoking fee when no one smoked (we are non-smokers) in the room. They claim they took pictures yet refuse to show us. We called and spoke with a manager who told us he would not argue with us and left it at that. We checked our bank statement and the charges did not match with what was on the invoice. Again, we called management and they stated they didn't want to argue with us, they wouldn't even fully explain it. The customer service was horrible, the manager was arrogant, fake smoking charges, small rooms, carpets had bleach stains, room was small. Horrible experience.

Room Tip: There's other hotels in Minneapolis, look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank See L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hello See L,

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention, our management has been in contact for follow up.

Regards,
W Minneapolis-The Foshay Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis, mn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had a great stay. In town a for a wedding. We had stayed at a number of other properties in Minneapolis over the past few years but this is the first at the W. Attentive staff, comfy room, all in all a winner of a weekend. We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obobo3863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Greetings, obobo3863,

Thank you for visiting W Minneapolis-The Foshay, and cheers to a wedding celebration! Your comments regarding our comfortable rooms and attentive staff are appreciated; it will be a pleasure to pass them onto our talent! See you soon!

Best Regards,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Ivy
Hotel Ivy
#8 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Minneapolis - The Foshay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Property: W Minneapolis - The Foshay
Address: 821 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2929
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#14 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Minneapolis - The Foshay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious, historical W Minneapolis Hotel - The Foshay inspires innovative style in a soaring icon of art deco splendor. Take in splendid art, music, shopping, dining and theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Minneapolis - The Foshay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Minneapolis - The Foshay Hotel Minneapolis
w Hotels Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing