We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
Nearby Hotels
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Minneapolis Marriott City Center(Minneapolis)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites(Minneapolis)(Great Value!)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown(Minneapolis)(Great Value!)
US$313
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Minneapolis(Minneapolis)(Great Value!)
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Millennium Minneapolis(Minneapolis)(Great Value!)
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
aloft Minneapolis(Minneapolis)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$192
Loews Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,333)
Filter reviews
1,333 results
Traveller rating
711
369
154
62
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
711
369
154
62
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsobservation deckmanny's steakhousefoshay towerliving roombliss productscorner roomhistoric buildingcupcakesart decomini bartop floorrain showermain floorwater pressureshower headhell's kitchenvalet parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
729 - 734 of 1,333 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the W Minneapolis for the first time this past weekend and were very pleased. The lobby is ultra-modern and fun but the dark decor might not appeal to everyone. The room was nice - not huge but well laid out and everything was clean and well maintained. We were on a higher floor (13) and had good views. The location was perfect - close to everything downtown.

The staff was wonderful - front desk, concierge, valet's - everyone. This hotel should be very proud of their employees, they are an asset.

Valet parking is expensive but they were responsive and there are self-park options close if you choose.

My only complaint is the bedding. Apparently Starwood hotels don't believe in fitted bottom sheets so by the end of every night the bedding was coming untucked. I've experienced this in other Starwood hotels so it must be a corporate thing.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hello freetr,
Thank you for being our guest at W Minneapolis-The Foshay! I am so glad you enjoyed everything from the layout and views from your guest room to the unmatched accessibility of our historic hotel. And thank you for the comments regarding our wonderful staff; it is truly our pleasure of our talent to ensure we deliver Whatever/Whenever during your stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Best Wishes,
Matthew Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We enjoyed a very comfortable stay at the W Minneapolis--The Foshay. It is ideally located to reach everything in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area. The restoration of the Foshay Tower is beautiful and effective. Our room was comfortable and QUIET! We made good use of the public areas of the hotel (the ground level bar off the lobby and the Prohibition Bar upstairs). The only drawback was catching up with our bar bill at check out--the bars and restaurant (Manny's) are quite expensive. Nonetheless, we enjoyed our time at the W. And we were among the oldest people staying at the hotel. It was a lot of fun!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello Ken T,
Thank you for being our guests at W Minneapolis, in the iconic Foshay Tower! I am pleased you enjoyed the accessibility of our downtown location, and thank you for visiting our fabulous food and beverage outlets right on property- Manny’s Steakhouse, the Living Room Bar and Prohibition. We invite you back for another fun filled stay at W Minneapolis-The Foshay!
Cheers!
Matthew Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Check in was a nightmare,only one person and snooty customer service. Rooms are tiny and you can't control the temperature woke up and frost wax on the windows and we were freezing went to take a shower and no hot water for 200 dollars a night not worth it and facing a garage parking lot ,checked out and told the manager the problems in the room and that would be a stare at you blank look ....many other hotels downtown

Room Tip: Go to the graves hotel instead
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gloria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello Gloria A,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at W Minneapolis-The Foshay, it is my pleasure to read and respond to your review. My personal apologies your expectations were not met during your visit regarding the check in process, guest room temperature and lack of hot water. I truly understand that warm water is a basic expectation for your morning showers; unfortunately, the hotel experienced an unforeseen hot water equipment failure. Again, we certainly want to apologize for this emergency hot water shutdown and express our deep regret that you left experiencing anything less that the high level of service we are capable of providing during your experience here at W Minneapolis. At your convenience, please see my direct message. Thank you.
Best Wishes,
Matthew Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I just stayed for a weekend in town to visit family. He is Marriott Platinum so this was our first W experience and I was not sure what to expect. He's always wanted to visit the Foshay tower so we chose to stay here rather than our usual. I am thrilled we did! We had a great stay. We usually stay by the airport since we travel to a variety of suburbs but the location is ideal. It's easy to find and easy to access the highways.

It's very atmospheric to be in the Foshay tower. The sense of history is palpable and paired well with the modern decor. We checked in late and the DJ was just getting started so our introduction was somewhat jarring and definitely loud. We are not party people but the bar area is very nice. And quiet during the day, thankfully. The Prohibition Bar on the 27th floor is not to be missed. That's more my style. We enjoyed great service from both the bar and the server, I think her name was Jasmine, and watched the lightning in the sky from a comfortable and somewhat quiet spot.

We have long-loved Manny's and it was a nice treat to have it relocated to this hotel. We enjoyed a terrific lunch there.

We also enjoyed visiting the observation deck and small museum at the top. What a perk!

We were thrilled to be upgraded to a corner room from the basic one we booked. (we booked a free room on points so the fact that we were upgraded was even more spectacular).
The views from the large windows were great.
The room's decor is nice. Very memorable and unique. It's a hotel you will remember staying at. I loved the hot pink round mini bar.
There was also a nice round chair and the usual desk. The chair was comfortable and had a "handle" on the back that I thought was a nice design touch so it was easy to pull back. We did not use the TV except to play the CD that came in the room. We had requested cotton balls and a champagne bucket since the ice bucket in the room was not large enough and a gentleman brought it, complete with ice, and helped us figure out how to play the CD. He was there within minutes of my request by the way.
The bed was comfortable, as were the linens and pillows. I slept great the first night until someone staying near us did not use their inside voices at 3 AM returning to their room and conversing in the hallway. GRRRR.
The bathroom is good-sized. I liked the shower but I dislike rain shower heads and there was no alternative. That's really my only nit-picking for this property. The Bliss products were fantastic.
Yes, there is no coffee in the room but they have great free coffee at Manny's and they have a card in the room telling you that if you want a coffee maker to call and they will bring one up. We just got coffee at Manny's.
Our room was great. The lighting was fine! I was expecting a cave from the reviews. But it was sufficient. Even for putting on makeup.
The staff were all very friendly. We had no surprises on our bill at check out. We were talking in the elevator about where to print a boarding pass and this nice gentleman walked us pass the ropes and through the nightclub to show us the business center, which was not accessible from the elevator we had taken. The valets were friendly, offering directions, and retrieving our car was very quick.
We would not hesitate to return, and probably will on our next trip to visit family. :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Welcome HVB,
Thank you for staying with us at W Minneapolis-The Foshay, we are thrilled you enjoyed your experience! So glad you could revel in the Roaring Twenties Meet Modern Cool ambiance throughout the entire property, and took in a mix of history and views in the top floor Foshay Museum and Observation Deck. Your kind words regarding our Whatever/Whenever guest service is much appreciated and will be my pleasure to pass them onto the entire team! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Midwest.
Cheers!
Matthew Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Sometimes W hotels are able to bring the "wow" effect while still providing with a cozy stay - have a party-like atmosphere in the lobby but homey feel to the rooms. To my disappointment, that's isn't the case here. The location is great and the rooms are ok but it lacks the famous Wness; the floors are dated, the rooms look old and uninspiring, the furniture looks plasticky and the gym is small. While this is a good hotel overall - it isn't what you'd usually expect from a W and there are better Starwood options within 2-3 blocks like the LM or the Ivy

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omerabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello Omerabin,
Thank you for being our guest at W Minneapolis-The Foshay; it is my pleasure to read and respond to your review. I am glad you found our location great, however, am sorry to hear you were disappointed in your recent stay regarding the guest room décor. We would love the opportunity to have you as our guest again, and deliver a Whatever/Whenever experience.
Best Wishes,
Matthew Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews