We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Minneapolis(Minneapolis)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,333)
Filter reviews
1,333 results
Traveller rating
711
369
154
62
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
711
369
154
62
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsobservation deckmanny's steakhousefoshay towerliving roombliss productscorner roomhistoric buildingcupcakesart decomini bartop floorrain showermain floorwater pressureshower headhell's kitchenvalet parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
692 - 697 of 1,333 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband is a Platinum member with SPG and IHG. We decided to get a hotel room since we were attending a Twins game on Saturday. We prepaid for a room and he used his upgrade. To our complete surprise, we were guaranteed the WOW suite. Completely amazing!!! Fantastic view of the City, comfortable bed, spacious, luxurious, just simply amazing! The WOW suite is the second best room in the hotel... one being the penthouse. We ordered a few drinks at the Prohibition bar (not lobby bar) and brought them back to the room as there was no seating left. No problem as the room was (did I mention) phenomenal. Another great plus is that the W is connected to our favorite steakhouse, Manny's and ate at Key's Bakery for the first time. (Delicious crab Benedict by the way!) The staff was very nice and accommodating, which to be truthful was expected given my husband's status. The hotel does offer valet, but we never do as it's an easy walk (across the street).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jillian852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Welcome Jillian852,
Thank you for being our guests and for choosing W Minneapolis located in the iconic Foshay Tower! Your husband’s SPG loyalty is much appreciated and I am so pleased we were able to offer you a complimentary upgrade to our WOW suite- one of the best in the house! Manny’s Steakhouse and Key’s Café are two of our spectacular offerings right here on site! On your next visit, be sure to visit Prohibition, a fabulous speakeasy themed bar on the 27th floor with views for miles!
Cheers!
Matthew Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were looking for a comfortable, special hotel to celebrate our 20th anniversary. My husband travels for work 2-3 weeks each month and we didn't want to stay at a "run-of-the-mill" hotel. I stayed at a W in Atlanta about 15 years ago and recall it being the nicest hotel I've ever experienced and decided that we would try it for our anniversary weekend in Minneapolis.

From the moment we arrived, your staff was extremely nice and professional. From the valet attendees to the cleaning staff - they were all first class. It is rare for EVERYONE to make you feel like they truly care that you have a great experience at their hotel and your staff accomplished just that. :)

We want to make you aware of one especially outstanding experience that we had during our stay. While checking in, Kara asked some typical questions followed up with "Why are you here?". We told her that we were celebrating our anniversary. We didn't think anything else of it as we continued with plans for the evening. Upon return that evening, we were greeted with strawberries, dippers, and champagne! WOW! What a HUGE surprise! We were absolutely taken back by this level of caring and generosity. Kara also included a hand-written note with the surprise. The treat was awesome and it something that we will always remember.

Room Tip: We were directly outside an elevator and it was even quiet. I don't think there is a bad room -- maybe other bad guests, but not bad rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Greetings, OnTheBr1nk,
Thank you for the awesome five star review and being our guests at W Minneapolis-The Foshay! And Happy 20th Anniversary!! So happy you were able to bask in luxury and enjoy our Whatever/Whenever service promise. Your review made my day and it will be a sincere pleasure to share your wonderful comments with Kaeryn and the entire team! The doors of the historic Foshay Tower are always open, and we look forward to your next visit!
SIP.BASK.CELEBRATE.
Matthew Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I’ve stayed at the W Foshay in MSP on 2 occasions, with my last visit being the last week of July. First, this is a great hotel, good service, clean and in a great location downtown. The rooms are comfortable with good bedding and the shower during both stays has been particularly nice with plenty of pressure. I always end up eating the snacks from the minibar – just cause they seem to put a little thought into them…dang late night cravings. I also particularly like the prohibition bar on the 27th floor of the hotel. Ask the bartender/waitress to explain the history of the bar which was planned to be Wilbur Foshay’s private, retreat.

You do need to prep yourself for the contemporary feel of this hotel. In the public areas, it’s dark – and where there is light is usually some sort of plutonium enhanced neon. It’s actually pretty cool, but if you are a more traditional traveler you might be taken aback. I’ve noticed other people mention the lighting, and would have to agree there is just something slightly off about it. With that said, the rooms themselves although also contemporary have plenty of light available.

W brands are usually trendy with a youthful feel and this one is no different. It’s a great historic building with a ton of character in a great city. I love the Foshay and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views of the city.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Topherallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hello Topherallen,
Thank you for making W Minneapolis your hotel of choice once again on your trip to the Twin Cities, your loyalty is much appreciated! The Foshay was built in 1929 as an office building and reopened in 2008 as the W Minneapolis – The Foshay. The designer took the art deco time frame and mixed the prohibition/speakeasy era for the interior design. The unique design of the building, different room styles, colors, and lighting has caused a passionate response from some of our first time and repeat guests. Come back soon to check out the Foshay Museum and Observation Deck on the 30th floor, and enjoy a cocktail in Prohibition Lounge on the 27th floor!
Best Wishes,
Matthew Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The W Hotels have a reputation for being unique and trendy, the Foshay building not to disappoint those visiting the Minneapolis hotel. One thing to consider if you are staying with friends is to know is that because of the building size, there are only kingsize bedrooms. If you're one for charming and location this is a great choice. If you want more space in a room, I would consider perhaps the Hilton right down the street, but come back to enjoy a drink or small bites on the 27th floor. You can't beat the location if you're wanting to walk around the city. There are also a lot of great restaurants nearby- including Manny's Steakhouse which is connected to the hotel. The staff is friendly and very prompt when you request items. Do your research on the history of the Foshay to have a better understanding when you see older artifact type things amongst the building.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hello Monica P,


You're quite the Insider when it comes to staying at W Minneapolis-The Foshay & we love that! Thank you so much for the 5 star review, it will be my pleasure to respond & share your review with the team here at W Minneapolis! Please come back and visit us soon for more insider experiences.

Cheers to Summer!

Matt Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a great hotel in the historic Foshay Tower right in the middle of downtown Minneapolis. The staff are second to none. I left my camera lens down at the desk and the staff ran it up to my room on the 21st floor within minutes. We were unable to print our tickets in the business center so Ryan the desk clerk had me e-mail the tickets to him and when we came downstairs to leave he had them printed. Excellent service.

The rooms are a little small but this is an early 1900's building so it is to be expected. The 30th floor is an observation deck that you can walk all the way around and see the city. They also have a museum up there with pictures and history. Pretty cool actually.

The hotel had some Beatles photos in the lobby. They were from the only time the Beatles played here in Minnesota. Manny's is the restaurant in the hotel and we didn't eat there this time but have eaten there before and they have excellent steaks and a huge $100 lobster tail.

All and all it was a great little get away.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor have an excellent view of the city. We stayed in 2105, small room but very well accommodated.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hello Gina E,

Thank you so much for making W Minneapolis your destination for your staycation. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest! It was great to read that you enjoyed the Bob Bonis Beatles Exhibition on display! We hope to have you as our guest in the near future.

Thanks for stopping by!

Matt Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews