We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pho 79

Pho 79
Ranked #225 of 1,790 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This was the first time I have ever eaten in a Vietnamese restaurant; definitely won't be my last! Not a fancy place but friendly staff and great food. My daughters and I had some of the best shrimp egg rolls we have ever had, followed by HUGE bowls of Pho.
The ingredients were fresh and plentiful; add sauces to give the Pho as much zing as you like. We thought we would just be having a light dinner but we ate till we were full and still brought home a quart each. Be sure and try the bubble teas for a great beverage.
This Norwegian will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Admiral727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
409 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

After returning from Viet Nam in February we were seeking some of the food we so enjoyed overseas. We found the Pho to be a good option and the Goi Cuon (fresh spring rolls) close but not as good as we found in VN. The fish sauce was good, but lacked the spiciness we were seeking. All-in-all it met our needs. The service was good and the staff friendly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank gpotvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Pho”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

...well and everything else we tried. This was my favorite of the restaurants we went to while we were in the Twin Cities. My pho was perfect, best I've ever had, and my iced coffee was sublime (but really, it would be hard to mess up Vietnamese iced coffee)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank estrempler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
119 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Pho; helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

I had a friend from Hong Kong recommend this restaurant. She raved about noodle soups so I needed to try one. I tried one recommended by staff. It was very plentiful, and they provided interesting accompaniments including basil, limes, bean sprouts etc. I had enough of the soup to bring some home so that my husband could try it. He liked it also. I'm not used to having noodle soups so it was an interesting experience. I might try vermicelli salad on a return visit. The spring rolls were also good.

It's a bit confusing to locate the restaurant, as it shares the address and literally the restaurant space with Caravelle. It seemed that the sign outside only listed Caravelle, but I could have missed a Pho 79 sign.

The staff was helpful and made good recommendations.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank georgierocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waconia, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I live west of the Twin Cities by about 1:15, but recently when my oldest son and I went into Minneapolis, we went here. I have eaten at Pho 79 many times and was anxious to turn my son on to Pho.

He devoured the spring rolls and Pho like a wild animal who had not eaten for a week. He declared it an overwhelming success and I was very happy as usual.

The quality is very high, the taste is superb, and my favorite IS the spring rolls. I got 3 orders for us when we went, and had to order a 4th because we loved them so much!

If you like good Vietnamese food, go here, you will be hooked!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pho 79 also viewed

 

Been to Pho 79? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing