We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves 5 star or at least a 4.5”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Deserves 5 star or at least a 4.5”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Beautiful ex grand old bank building. The good features lovingly preserved in the rehab. Rooms big, a/c perfect and quiet , bathrooms huge with walk in showers and high end fixtures.
Lovely bar and breakfast room. Best thing was all the staff are 5 star. They were helpful happy and cheery well above the call of duty
We got a fabulous price from Hotwire. Only negative is its in the business high rise office tower area downtown so as we were there on a weekend it was deserted at street level. But that was fine by us. 7 to 10 mins walk to shops and many restaurants. Area felt clean and safe and light rail to airport 2 minutes walk away. Good food and fun at "Hell's Kitchen" restaurant

Room Tip: No real views so all ok. Elevators fast rooms quiet
See more room tips
Green Features: $5 bar credit if you skip a days room service. If only 2 persons why not
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    283
    119
    49
    28
See reviews for
87
269
57
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

But for a unpleasant valet parking experience at check in, this review would have been outstanding. When we asked if the was an alternative to $34 per night we were referred to city parking lot. We decided valet, got no help with luggage. Rooms clean and upscale other staff helpful. Breakfast was outstanding. We would go back without hesitation

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jimy32301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The wife was in Minneapolis for several days, so I decided to join her for a long weekend. Wanted to stay somewhere other than her typical business hotels. Tried this, which is a Marriott brand.

Expected a lot more from a 2-room suite. Room was very small, with little room to store luggage (wife was on a 10-day trip. Worst of all --- views and NOISE. Second floor location meant we saw mechanical equipment! NOISY mechanical equipment. Wife had interrupted sleep both nights. Made her grumpy. Never saw much staff, so can't praise service. And not much action in the hotel - Friday and Saturday nights. But that may be downtown MSP. Convenient to Nicollet Mall, downtown attractions, and the light rail. Didn't need a car.

Can't rate the topics, because TripAdvisor doesn't work well with Mac Safari.

Room Tip: Never accept Room 207!!!!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RielyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison S, General Manager at The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience. I apologize that you found the two-room suite layout to be unsatisfactory and the location to be noisy. I understand how valuable a good night's rest is and I'm sorry we were not able to provide that for you but unfortunately this is the price we pay to be located downtown. Should you travel to the city again, I hope you will give us another chance to provide an excellent stay and hopefully we can provide you a quieter room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The valets and front desk are super-helpful and nice.
The retro design of the room we were in was awesome. The room wasn't huge, but it was really well maintained.
My only complaint in the entire experience is the shower head-- the pressure wasn't that great and the spread was so wide you had to point the head toward the wall a bit.
But overall: very pleased!

Green Features: I commented that this was one of the first times I'd seen recycle cans in a hotel room-- LOVE that and I hope it catches on.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is typically my backup hotel in Minneapolis. Not that it's a bad hotel, but there are almost always rooms available on short notice and it's one of those hotels where you can rely on a consistently good experience. Breakfast in the lounge is good and the bar/restaurant are better than average for MPLS. The rooms are a bit small and the bathrooms are pretty standard, but the location is good (right next to the light rail) and it's a good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bsmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinelander, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked our room on hotwire.com got a good price . I Then called and requested a king size bed , upon checking in on a Friday and Saturday night was our stay , they only had one worker at the desk Friday night . Got to our room and guess what it was a queen size bed, so back down to the front desk we go . Got our king and settled in . Our room face another building no view to see , and also the rooftop of another building, which we got to hear the exhaust fans or whatever all night long . Very noisy . The coffee maker so so don't get excited , it was a Cuisenart , use pods of coffee . On a good note the bed was very comfortable the bathroom and shower very nice . On Saturday when we return to our room our key did not work , back down to the front desk again .

Room Tip: As for room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VGA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison S, General Manager at The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We take our guest feedback very serious as we are continually looking to improve our products and services. I apologize that you had issues with your room assignment and location. No room request is guaranteed as we allocate our rooms upon check in. I am sorry for the noise problem that you had. I understand how frustrating it can be when you cannot get a peaceful night’s sleep. Also, I’m sorry that your key was not working on your last day causing an added inconvenience. We strive to always provide an excellent stay and it is obvious that we weren’t able to deliver on that for you this time. I hope you will give us another chance in the future should your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The front desk staff couldn't have been better but the housekeeping staff was spotty. The concierge level was really at the level of a lower-level Marriott property--drinks are not free for example. The bedding was comfortable and the room was well laid out. The hotel itself is in a good location as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpsychologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,255 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#21 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,102 reviews
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
The Marquette Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Property: The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Address: 215 S 4th St, Minneapolis, MN 55401-1709
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#21 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#27 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection is conveniently located in downtown Minneapolis, Minnesota, combining urban energy with a sophisticated and comfortable experience that truly mixes business with pleasure. The hotel is connected to the city's renowned skyway system and within blocks of the city's most desirable destinations:Nicollet Mall, Target Headquarters, the Minneapolis Convention Center, Mall of America Field, shopping, entertainment, and restaurants including the award winning restaurant MAX located right at the hotel. We are a preferred choice among hotels in Minneapolis because of our excellent location, just 1 block from Light Rail Transit connecting to Minneapolis International Airport and Mall of America. Featuring 6,000 square ft. of flexible meeting space, 24 hour fitness and business center, and 222 guestrooms with high-speed wireless Internet Access, work desks, flat screen LCD televisions, and MP3 docking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minneapolis Doubletree
Minneapolis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing