We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky, fun in a great downtown location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Funky, fun in a great downtown location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Fantastic downtown location in a very cool, vintage building. Funky atmosphere coupled with large rooms make this a great choice downtown Minneapolis. The concierge floor was quite nice, and the workout facility was above average. Easy to walk to the shops and a fabulous selection of fun restaurants. No need to valet at the hotel; reasonable parking lots are located within blocks of the hotel.Easy access to the expressways and the light rail system, too. Perfect for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acdhuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    269
    115
    47
    27
See reviews for
86
250
56
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kimberly, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Great downtown location. Close to even centers, rail and great restaurants. If you stay here I recommend you park across the street. It is $4 overnight and a secured building. If you are here on a weekend, be aware that you will have to buzz security in the tower to let you completely into the building. Otherwise getting your car could be tricky.

The room we had was a handicap accessible so there was a ton of room. The front desk staff is very polite and helpful. The room was nicely appointed and clean. Wish I could have stayed longer!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Csmith89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I travel on business to Minneapolis a few times a year and stay in this place. On my last trip I stayed an extra night until Sunday and the place changes entirely on the weekend. This hotel does a great job of catering to business travelers. It is well kept and the lounge on the top floor is great. They are very centrally located and I go for walks at night in downtown. Starting Friday night and especially Saturday night the mood changes to much more of a party mode and it is not as restful. The service is still the same for the most part, but it seems like the staff is spending more time putting out fires than, tending to travler needs. One manager told me that he has to kick out at least one party every weekend. It's a very nice place, but not my best pick for a restful weekend. Very clean and well kept.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The defining feature of this hotel is the art deco feel to the decor. The lobby and signage and elevators and amenities all shared that theme. Super cute!

Definitely a high quality room. Free bottled water. Good service, except for the lack of Star-Tribunes available on Sunday morning. We did not eat in the hotel.

A refrigerator and safe in the room are helpful amenities. the room is not terribly large but about what you'd expect from a city hotel. Trendy bathroom fixtures.

The location is good--in the middle of the business district, next to major government buildings, other hotels and nightlife. Restaurants are walking distance away. The light rail line is very close, which travels between Target Field and Mall of America.

FYI, this Autograph Collection is in the Marriott family but is a slight upgrade over a standard Marriott, and therefore pretty high quality.

Highly recommended overall.

Green Features: A refrigerator is helpful so you don't have to keep collecting more ice to keep beverages cold. The free bottled water probably isn't so enviro-friendly.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I've stayed at this hotel four times in 6 months w/varying results. The hotel is very convenient to the businesses that I work with, the front desk staff are friendly/helpful, internet service good, and concierge lounge a lifesaver. But, on my last stay, I found myself with no toilet paper at 1 a.m., leaving me very surprised and upset! The first night I had it, but the second, there was barely any on the roll when getting back after a long day and longer dinner meetings. I should have checked before bed, because the toilet seat was left up after cleaning, the mushy, used soap had been put in my travel bag (a first), and I was left with no refill of hair conditioner.
Other notes ... the rooms are painted in dark colors and depending on location of room, it can be poorly light w/all the lights on. The last stay, the carpet was terribly stained and looked dirty overall. There is a light rail station somewhat close and restaurants easily accessible. (As a Marriott regular, I'm sure I'll go back, but may look at other options the next time.)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelbyJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison S, General Manager at The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
hank you for offering your feedback on your recent stays. We strive to exceed every guests’ expectations and appreciate the feedback offered from our guests, especially our most loyal. While I appreciate the compliments on the staff and lounge offerings I must apologize that you experienced cleanliness issues in your guest room and that your amenities were not restocked. I have followed up with our Housekeeping team to ensure these details are followed through on every day. I realize that those are the little details that set one hotel apart from the rest and will continue to focus on those details. Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott and I hope you will give us another chance in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
180 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Minneapolis while downtown for a night out. It was very nice. The rooms were smallish but nicely acquainted. The hotel is a short walk from what would typically be considered the nightlife (i.e., along Hennepin and First Ave) but certainly does not require a taxi (other than perhaps in the dead of winter). My only complaint was that the bed was incredibly uncomfortable. Amazingly so.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lonsdale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Some friends of mine were staying at this hotel and because we were checking in very late (or early, depending on how you look at it) they ran into some trouble getting into their room. Jason F at the front desk was incredibly accommodating and VERY patient with us and was able to get us checked in. The lobby is REALLY cute and modern and I liked the room, despite the fact that it was VERY small (no dresser for the TV to sit on, it was mounted on the wall and the mini fridge just sat on the floor) I would stay here again if I needed a hotel in Minneapolis!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#22 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#12 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Property: The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Address: 215 4th Street South, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#21 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#27 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection is conveniently located in downtown Minneapolis combining urban energy with a sophisticated and comfortable experience that truly mixes business with pleasure. The hotel is connected to the city's renowned skyway system and within blocks of the city's most desirable destinations:Nicollet Mall, Target Headquarters, the Minneapolis Convention Center, Mall of America Field, shopping, entertainment, and restaurants including the award winning restaurant MAX located right at the hotel. The hotel is also located 1 block from Light Rail Transit connecting to Minneapolis International Airport and Mall of America. Featuring 6,000 square ft. of flexible meeting space, 24 hour fitness and business center, and 222 guestrooms with high-speed wireless Internet Access, work desks, flat screen LCD televisions, and MP3 docking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minneapolis Doubletree
Minneapolis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing