We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique, trendy and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of aloft Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
aloft Minneapolis
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Unique, trendy and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the aloft based off a recommendation of a friend. He was spot on to the uniqueness, hipster crowd it caters towards. We don't for in that particular 'crowd' but felt very welcome and at home.

The rooms are small, to the point. Very clean, comfortable with high end touches.

We visited the lobby bar for a bit during the evening and drinks were great, although arrived a hefty price.

Overall great hotel, only true negative was the limited parking.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luvtotravelhemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are delighted to hear our trendy, chic hotel made your feel relaxed and comfortable during your recent stay with us. We hope that we have the opportunity to provide you with another exceptional stay in the near future. Thank you again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    190
    57
    27
    19
See reviews for
77
119
38
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Only time will tell if the Aloft concept will endure or become a passing fad, but if my stay at Aloft Minneapolis is any indication, at least for the foreseeable future, a stay at one of these hotels will be a pleasant, enjoyable, and even fun (can you say that about a hotel?), experience. Compared to its peers, Aloft stands out and thus earns a 5 rating.

The Aloft experience begins even before you arrive with a reservation confirmation email that opens with, "Your reservation’s all set for [date] and you’re ready to a-go-go!" and includes this to whet your appetite: "Aloft Minneapolis is perfect for the traveler who appreciates personal style, innovative design and one-of-a-kind experiences. A new adventure awaits you!" Wow! It's not just a hotel stay, it's an "adventure." And five days before the start of your stay you receive another chipper email to kick your anticipation up another notch: "Are you ready to a-go-go? Your Aloft Hotels adventure is coming up, and we can't wait to amuse you with an amazing, one-of-a-kind experience. Soon you'll see for yourself why everyone's all abuzz about Aloft Minneapolis."

What I saw for myself when I arrived was a hotel that seemed to be designed primarily for the young urban crowd, but was also something that anybody who was open to new things would appreciate. There was a definite relaxed, hip, feel to the place, and even the elevator music had a strong beat to it. Check-in was wonderful, especially when the person checking me in acknowledged the trouble I had making the reservation after he read a note that was attached to my folio. Although the hotel's web site said that cribs were available, Central Reservations (the 800 number) didn't see that option in their system, and to make things more difficult, a crib was considered equivalent to a roll-away bed, which meant that a small child was considered by the system to be an older child or an adult. This then disqualified me, according to their system, from making a reservation for a King room, which had a max occupancy of two people, and required the Central Reservations clerk to put me into a room with two queen beds. I was advised to call the hotel directly and that the hotel could get me into a King room with a crib. Seeing that we had a small child, the clerk gave us an ideal quiet room: top floor at the end of the hall and facing the rear of the hotel (towards a nice park and away from a busy street). The concern, kindness, and thoughtfulness of the person checking me in caused me to forget my reservations run-around and left me in a positive mood, ready to, as Aloft puts it, to "a-go-go."

The room was Spartan and a bit on the small side, but it was very nice. The quality furniture was clean and in good repair and consisted of a platform bed with a very comfortable mattress, two small night stands, a built-in desk with a cool-looking chair on casters, and a built-in leather-topped bench that spanned the space between the two large picture windows. The windows coupled with the 9-foot ceilings gave the room a more open feel and also made it seem larger. The flat screen TV was on the wall above the bench--ideally mounted for viewing from the bed. A wall behind the bed separated the living area from the sink, tiny closet, and the bathroom, which had a sliding mirror-fronted door for privacy. The size of the room and its layout pretty much meant that any socializing would be done in the lobby area--and I think that this is an intentional part of the design.

The lobby is a part living room, part game room, and part bar, yet it seems to be a coherent whole. It's all designed for relaxed socializing, and that's what ties the pieces s nicely together. There is a full-size pool table in the game room section, the cozy bar is along one wall, and the rest of the lobby is filled with an assortment of furniture for sitting and table for holding drinks and food. A pretty barren multipurpose room is off to the side and can be used for private get-togethers and meetings, and when not in use guests are able to use the shuffleboard and other games (such as a bean bag toss). When the weather is nice, a courtyard between the lobby and the enclosed pool area has space and seating for mingling.

Eating options included a well-stocked "grab-and-go" food area that contains a good variety of drinks, snacks, and refrigerated items and, in lieu of a restaurant, a nice, but limited, breakfast menu (wraps, both pre-made, and made-to-order) and bar food menu (burgers, pizza, appetizers). The grab-and-go area is outfitted with a microwave oven is available for all to use as well as coffee and a cappuccino machine. We enjoyed wraps, pizza, and a hummus and cheese appetizer, and all of the food was fresh and tasty. The hot food was just the right temperature. If you will be eating in the lobby area, the staff will bring your food to you.

A big bonus is the free shuttle that will take you to and pick you up from anywhere within five miles of the hotel. Make sure to book your ride as far in advance as possible, for I found this to be a very popular perk.

The hotel is well-located, being near a big park, several restaurants, the Guthrie theater, and a light rail station. The University of Minnesota Minneapolis campus and the university's medical center are a mile away, and if you're going staying at Aloft due to a visit to the university or its medical center, ask to see if you qualify for the U of M rate, which is fantastic.

The only real drawback of this particular hotel is the lack of on-site parking. Aloft is an urban hotel, and that usually means little or no free parking. A public parking structure is right across the street, and the rates are reasonable, all things considered. The hotel has a few spaces near the entrance that are reserved for people checking in and out.

If you want to try something a little different when in Minneapolis, stay at Aloft.

Room Tip: Get a higher level room facing the park for better views and less noise. You'll have to be mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. Loved their decor and the room. Both the lobby and bathrooms along with the room were very clean. Because of the way the room is set up we did not hear anyone else in the hotel that evening. It was very quiet and we got great sleep. Their shuttle service picked us up in the morning and then retrieved us from campus at the end of day after we called them. Both of our drivers were very friendly and helpful. We at 2 great restaurants- one Japanese across the street and a Thai restaurant around the corner. Excellent recommendations from the lobby staff. Decor is upbeat and very modern. Nice bar and pool table in lobby. They also host a nice continental breakfast in the morning. We will return if our child chooses U of M.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 775trishaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We planned a weekend long reception event at this property not too long after they opened and that is always a dicey proposition, however, we were not disappointed. The property was clean, the staff helpful on every level and the event for 350 was really well executed. I feel the block rate offered was very fair and the amenities were on or above par for this hotel class an property. The venue was carefully chosen for it's location as well as the flexibility of the space. The bar was amazing and really became such an integral part of the client and guest experience throughout the weekend. I cannot say more about the customer service of the staff. I will be watching the development of this brand as it grows. It is becoming an interesting option for the client who is looking for an approachable value without sacrificing aesthetic or experience. I'm liking it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sephra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
We appreciate your thoughtful review, thank you for sharing. We strive to provide the very best in superior customer service and our dedicated team of associates are always happy to go above and beyond to make your stay as memorable as possible. Thank you again and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The location is good; close to the light rail, a few stops off of Hennepin Ave., and near the Guthrie. However, parking is poor. There is a small lot off the back of the hotel for check in purposes, but it was full even on Sunday afternoon when we arrived to check in. On the up side, the parking garage is across a not very busy street. We had a room on the back of the hotel from which we could see the arch way bridge, river, and park.

The room was very clean; however, the pocket door to the bathroom did not slide easily. It felt as if one of the rollers was off the track.

Staff was very helpful in providing neighborhood maps.

Overall nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waverly, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here a couple years ago with another couple for a night out in MPLS.I loved the decor! Very modern and cool! Beds were pretty comfy. Not the best but not the worst. I would recommend it. It wasn't anything too special but it was a nice clean cool place to stay. I went to bed, but the rest of my group went down to the wxyz bar downstairs when we got back from our night on the town. They said it was ok. Too spendy for drinks. And there were some people that came in off the street that were bothering them and trying to get them to buy them drinks and give them cigarettes. That is when they decided to call it a night and go back up to the room. They said it wasn't cool. When you are trying to enjoy yourself, and then people come in and start begging to customers to give them and buy them stuff?! Not good. Overall it was an ok stay though.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEPHANIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with. We apologize for the inconvenience your friends experienced while trying to enjoy themselves at W XYZ Bar. We have notified our staff of this instance, asked that they be aware of this and address these issues immediately to remove patrons who are bothering other guests. I can assure you this type of occurrence will not happen in the future and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future the next time you are in downtown Minneapolis. Thanks again and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Though this wasn't my first stay at an aloft, the hotel surprised me in a variety of ways: It's a vibrant lobby and bar (complete with pool table) and made for a nice setting for socializing at the end of the business day, and the room itself was particularly well appointed and comfortable (great bed!). Overall, like other alofts, the hotel has a funky vibe (and not the usual food items at the breakfast and bodega set-up in the lobby), and is airy and visually eye-catching. Staff was fine, though check-in was exceedingly slow, and the location is terrific - close to downtown, close to University of Minnesota and within walking distance of several destinations. Also a very well equipped and space-filled workout area, accessible without walking directly through the lobby. All in all, a good value and a very hospitable stay that I'd certainly visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cowslower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown
#19 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#22 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aloft Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Minneapolis

Property: aloft Minneapolis
Address: 900 Washington Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55415-1223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#22 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Minneapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Minneapolis is a bold new hotel featuring loft-inspired design for an easy Twin Cities stay. Stroll out our door to explore downtowns trendy Mill District, rich in history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Starwood, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your aloft Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing