We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Head scratcher of a hotel”
Review of aloft Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
aloft Minneapolis
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Head scratcher of a hotel”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Simple, well designed rooms, stand-up showers, and functional lobbies are why I normally go for Aloft properties. This hotel is the Aloft experience, for the most part. The only bizarre things are the location and parking in a garage across the street.

The hotel is in a weird part of town where there seems to be ample land and yet it's curiously jammed up against all these apartment complexes. The entire thing reeks of a deal crafted by city government to "revitalize" a part of town in lieu of a new stadium a few blocks away that is currently just a hole in the ground.

The hotel is set right against the street with no porte-cochere or obvious signage for where to go to unload a car. This was odd since most of the guests seemed to be business travelers in rental cars. Parking is available across the street in a ramp (what Minnesotans call a parking garage).

There are some good comfort food restaurants within walking distance to the hotel along with light rain transportations a few blocks away. The whole area has this feel of "trying to hard."

The rooms are normal aloft types. The main reason I love these hotels is the stand-up showers and well-lit vanity area. The also, cleverly, don't waist space on closets. The beds are comfortable and the wall-unit ac works well. The lack of true "black-out" curtains was a bummer here. My east facing room got the full force of a very early sunrise.
This hotel would be a winner if it had a better location and actual on-site parking.

Room Tip: Stay on the side facing Washington Street, lest you want to be awakened by a very early sunrise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bearpster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    206
    61
    29
    20
See reviews for
83
125
40
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I loved staying at this hotel while I was in town for work. Very hip, very modern, with all of the amenities you could ask for from a Starwood hotel. Check-in is fast, and if you refuse maid service, they will either give you 250 Starwood points per night, or $5 to use in the market in the lobby. There is hot breakfast available, free coffee, and a bar in the lobby that offers a full menu. The rooms are very clean and modern, and the beds are super comfortable. I never wanted to get up for work in the morning! There are flat screen tv's in the room, as well as charging stations for electric cords, or USB cables. They also offer mini-fridge, coffee maker in room, and free bottled water. One of the best perks is that if you forget your toiletries, they have shampoo, conditioner, and body soap pumps installed in the shower. It is also very convenient to the Metro Lightrail, so you can easily go to the Mall of America or the airport without any hassle.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Pounding music in the lobby, free bananas, a pool table -- younger guests clearly felt comfortable and safe. We checked out a room: Queen bedrooms have no tubs, are small, decor is chrome, clean, shiny and hard-edge. The overall vibe is one step up from a high end hostel, and reminded me of my experiences in hostels long ago in Europe, which were positive. Neighborhood is close to the Guthrie and the Flour Mill museum but otherwise nowheresville. The right place for some, but not us (older couple here on business.) We could not have peacefully hung out anywhere here --not in the room, and definitely not in the lobby. We cancelled here and stayed instead at the Nicollet Island Inn, a historic building in the middle of the Mississippi river, comparable in price but more quiet and welcoming. Staff at Aloft was courteous.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillValleyTrueLotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the aloft based off a recommendation of a friend. He was spot on to the uniqueness, hipster crowd it caters towards. We don't for in that particular 'crowd' but felt very welcome and at home.

The rooms are small, to the point. Very clean, comfortable with high end touches.

We visited the lobby bar for a bit during the evening and drinks were great, although arrived a hefty price.

Overall great hotel, only true negative was the limited parking.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luvtotravelhemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are delighted to hear our trendy, chic hotel made your feel relaxed and comfortable during your recent stay with us. We hope that we have the opportunity to provide you with another exceptional stay in the near future. Thank you again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Only time will tell if the Aloft concept will endure or become a passing fad, but if my stay at Aloft Minneapolis is any indication, at least for the foreseeable future, a stay at one of these hotels will be a pleasant, enjoyable, and even fun (can you say that about a hotel?), experience. Compared to its peers, Aloft stands out and thus earns a 5 rating.

The Aloft experience begins even before you arrive with a reservation confirmation email that opens with, "Your reservation’s all set for [date] and you’re ready to a-go-go!" and includes this to whet your appetite: "Aloft Minneapolis is perfect for the traveler who appreciates personal style, innovative design and one-of-a-kind experiences. A new adventure awaits you!" Wow! It's not just a hotel stay, it's an "adventure." And five days before the start of your stay you receive another chipper email to kick your anticipation up another notch: "Are you ready to a-go-go? Your Aloft Hotels adventure is coming up, and we can't wait to amuse you with an amazing, one-of-a-kind experience. Soon you'll see for yourself why everyone's all abuzz about Aloft Minneapolis."

What I saw for myself when I arrived was a hotel that seemed to be designed primarily for the young urban crowd, but was also something that anybody who was open to new things would appreciate. There was a definite relaxed, hip, feel to the place, and even the elevator music had a strong beat to it. Check-in was wonderful, especially when the person checking me in acknowledged the trouble I had making the reservation after he read a note that was attached to my folio. Although the hotel's web site said that cribs were available, Central Reservations (the 800 number) didn't see that option in their system, and to make things more difficult, a crib was considered equivalent to a roll-away bed, which meant that a small child was considered by the system to be an older child or an adult. This then disqualified me, according to their system, from making a reservation for a King room, which had a max occupancy of two people, and required the Central Reservations clerk to put me into a room with two queen beds. I was advised to call the hotel directly and that the hotel could get me into a King room with a crib. Seeing that we had a small child, the clerk gave us an ideal quiet room: top floor at the end of the hall and facing the rear of the hotel (towards a nice park and away from a busy street). The concern, kindness, and thoughtfulness of the person checking me in caused me to forget my reservations run-around and left me in a positive mood, ready to, as Aloft puts it, to "a-go-go."

The room was Spartan and a bit on the small side, but it was very nice. The quality furniture was clean and in good repair and consisted of a platform bed with a very comfortable mattress, two small night stands, a built-in desk with a cool-looking chair on casters, and a built-in leather-topped bench that spanned the space between the two large picture windows. The windows coupled with the 9-foot ceilings gave the room a more open feel and also made it seem larger. The flat screen TV was on the wall above the bench--ideally mounted for viewing from the bed. A wall behind the bed separated the living area from the sink, tiny closet, and the bathroom, which had a sliding mirror-fronted door for privacy. The size of the room and its layout pretty much meant that any socializing would be done in the lobby area--and I think that this is an intentional part of the design.

The lobby is a part living room, part game room, and part bar, yet it seems to be a coherent whole. It's all designed for relaxed socializing, and that's what ties the pieces s nicely together. There is a full-size pool table in the game room section, the cozy bar is along one wall, and the rest of the lobby is filled with an assortment of furniture for sitting and table for holding drinks and food. A pretty barren multipurpose room is off to the side and can be used for private get-togethers and meetings, and when not in use guests are able to use the shuffleboard and other games (such as a bean bag toss). When the weather is nice, a courtyard between the lobby and the enclosed pool area has space and seating for mingling.

Eating options included a well-stocked "grab-and-go" food area that contains a good variety of drinks, snacks, and refrigerated items and, in lieu of a restaurant, a nice, but limited, breakfast menu (wraps, both pre-made, and made-to-order) and bar food menu (burgers, pizza, appetizers). The grab-and-go area is outfitted with a microwave oven is available for all to use as well as coffee and a cappuccino machine. We enjoyed wraps, pizza, and a hummus and cheese appetizer, and all of the food was fresh and tasty. The hot food was just the right temperature. If you will be eating in the lobby area, the staff will bring your food to you.

A big bonus is the free shuttle that will take you to and pick you up from anywhere within five miles of the hotel. Make sure to book your ride as far in advance as possible, for I found this to be a very popular perk.

The hotel is well-located, being near a big park, several restaurants, the Guthrie theater, and a light rail station. The University of Minnesota Minneapolis campus and the university's medical center are a mile away, and if you're going staying at Aloft due to a visit to the university or its medical center, ask to see if you qualify for the U of M rate, which is fantastic.

The only real drawback of this particular hotel is the lack of on-site parking. Aloft is an urban hotel, and that usually means little or no free parking. A public parking structure is right across the street, and the rates are reasonable, all things considered. The hotel has a few spaces near the entrance that are reserved for people checking in and out.

If you want to try something a little different when in Minneapolis, stay at Aloft.

Room Tip: Get a higher level room facing the park for better views and less noise. You'll have to be mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. Loved their decor and the room. Both the lobby and bathrooms along with the room were very clean. Because of the way the room is set up we did not hear anyone else in the hotel that evening. It was very quiet and we got great sleep. Their shuttle service picked us up in the morning and then retrieved us from campus at the end of day after we called them. Both of our drivers were very friendly and helpful. We at 2 great restaurants- one Japanese across the street and a Thai restaurant around the corner. Excellent recommendations from the lobby staff. Decor is upbeat and very modern. Nice bar and pool table in lobby. They also host a nice continental breakfast in the morning. We will return if our child chooses U of M.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 775trishaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We planned a weekend long reception event at this property not too long after they opened and that is always a dicey proposition, however, we were not disappointed. The property was clean, the staff helpful on every level and the event for 350 was really well executed. I feel the block rate offered was very fair and the amenities were on or above par for this hotel class an property. The venue was carefully chosen for it's location as well as the flexibility of the space. The bar was amazing and really became such an integral part of the client and guest experience throughout the weekend. I cannot say more about the customer service of the staff. I will be watching the development of this brand as it grows. It is becoming an interesting option for the client who is looking for an approachable value without sacrificing aesthetic or experience. I'm liking it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sephra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
We appreciate your thoughtful review, thank you for sharing. We strive to provide the very best in superior customer service and our dedicated team of associates are always happy to go above and beyond to make your stay as memorable as possible. Thank you again and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Radisson Red Minneapolis
Radisson Red Minneapolis
#31 of 49 in Minneapolis
112 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown
#19 of 49 in Minneapolis
243 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aloft Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Minneapolis

Property: aloft Minneapolis
Address: 900 Washington Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55415-1223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#22 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Minneapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Minneapolis is a bold new hotel featuring loft-inspired design for an easy Twin Cities stay. Stroll out our door to explore downtowns trendy Mill District, rich in history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your aloft Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing