We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice for us!”
Review of University Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
University Inn
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great choice for us!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We are retired, frequent travelers; and are always on the lookout for clean, comfortable, reasonably priced places to stay. I don't normally write reviews, as most places are pretty much what you'd expect, and are for the most part "forgetable". However, I think the University Inn is worthy of mention. Our room was clean and comfortable with a kitchenette. The staff was friendly and VERY helpful. I highly recommend the University Inn; I don't think you will be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University_Inn_MN, General Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Hello BigEvans,

What a nice review! I really appreciate your kind comments - especially considering your statement that you "don't normally write reviews", I'm honored that our hotel and it's team made a strong enough impression to inspire you to write this one! Thank you very much!

Joe McCurdy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    110
    25
    8
    2
See reviews for
107
59
36
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Location was convenient for campus and Dinkytown access on foot. The most impressive amenity was the cleanliness, friendly and helpful staff. Complimentary lattes, coffee, and hot cocoa in the lobby!! Rooms are spacious, updated, and very comfortable. Amazed at the full fridge and kitchen equipment in our room! Easy public transportation access to airport and Mall of America. Quiet and safe. I would DEFINITELY recommend staying at the University Inn and hope to be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University_Inn_MN, General Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hello Jean H,

Wow, thank you for a very nice review! I'll make sure to tell the housekeeping staff you appreciate their efforts, I know they take a great deal of pride in keeping our hotel clean. I'm glad you enjoyed the free coffee too, and I'm pleased to report that the free coffee service (introduced in February) has gone so well that we're upgrading our machine and adding some new beverage options! Thanks for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Joe McCurdy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Not only do these rooms come with a full fridge, stovetop, and sink, but they also provide a few dishes, dishsoap, and a dish towel. Everything is very clean and comfortable. It was also quiet even though it is on a busy street. The staff was very friendly. When I came in, all the desk attendants were busy on the phone helping other guests, but both quietly assured me that I would be helped shortly. The price can't be beat. Most hotels do not have a fridge or any other handy features and are twice the price. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and would stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University_Inn_MN, General Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hello Jo N,

Thank you so much for a delightful review! I really appreciate your kind comments, and I'm pleased to read of our Front Desk team's professional response to being busy. We really appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Joe McCurdy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My hubby and I loved our room at University Inn! It was convenient to the downtown area and in a safe part of Dinkytown near the UMinn campus.

Nadia, the front desk manager, was so helpful and made us feel comfortable.

Thanks for a great 2 night stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamsunnysideup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University_Inn_MN, General Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hello iamsunnysideup,

Thank you so much for your kind review! Nadiya is a credit to our team, and she was really happy to be mentioned in such a nice way. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Joe McCurdy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Peter, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed two nights for a weekend away August, 2014. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location was safe and convenient to NE MSP craft breweries, St. Anthony Main Street, Nicollet Island, Stone Arch Bridge and downtown. Parking was included and easy. Room was clean, comfortable, and nicely appointed. For being next to and facing I-35W, room was remarkably quiet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University_Inn_MN, General Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi Jeff D,

Thank you for your very nice review! We really appreciate your feedback and I also enjoyed reading through your other TripAdvisor reviews of nearby restaurants and entertainment - It seems you had a fun weekend! We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Joe McCurdy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The room was clean, reasonably sized, and featured a small kitchen with all the basic necessities. Staff was friendly. It was located within walking distance of University of Minnesota, which was really good for me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbruun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University_Inn_MN, General Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello jbruun,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, I'm glad you found our location to be convenient for your visit to Minneapolis. Our staff prides itself on our friendly, professional service and it's nice to be recognized by our guests. We really appreciate your comments!

Sincerely,
Joe McCurdy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed one night at the university inn and found it to be just as it is represented in the website pictures. The rooms are no frills, but comfortable, clean and everything you really need is available. The staff is exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Also, there is decent coffee available, good snacks, a little work out room, and laundry. I also loved that I could actually open up the window in my room. I'm not a fan of air conditioning but love fresh air and appreciated the screen as well. The location is great - right in dinkytown and on the university campus, you are also within walking distance of the stone arch bridge which will take you across the Mississippi River. I would definitely stay here again if I return to minneapolis and don't want to blow my budget on hotel stay but want the friendliness and decent basics.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University_Inn_MN, General Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello Sarah M,

What a delightful review! I'll make sure your compliments are passed on to our whole team. Thank you so much!

Sincerely,
Joe McCurdy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
The Commons Hotel
#10 of 49 in Minneapolis
952 reviews
University / Dinkytown
Hampton Inn and Suites Minneapolis University Area
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Millennium Minneapolis
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
710 reviews
University / Dinkytown
Ramada Plaza Minneapolis
Ramada Plaza Minneapolis
#20 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn

Property: University Inn
Address: 925 4th St SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414-1944
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > University / Dinkytown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel just 4 blocks from the University of Minnesota. All rooms feature kitchenettes and are ideal for both longer-term overnight stays. Free parking for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing