We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My kind of motel”
Review of Snelling Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Snelling Motel
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Minneapolis
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I'm not a fan of the motels where you haul your suitcases through the lobby, then a quarter mile down an interior hallway to your room. And you pay well over $100 a night for the privilege. I prefer the moderately priced motels where the doorway of your room opens onto the parking lot, and your car is just 10 feet away.

That's what I love about the Snelling Motel, 5346 Minnehaha Ave, Minneapolis, Minn. 55417, phone (612) 721-4841. You park right outside your room, and rates are reasonable. We paid a total of $160, tax included, for a recent two-night stay in a comfortable room with one queen-size bed.

I'm sure many of its customers stay at the Snelling because of its proximity to nearby Fort Snelling and a Veterans Administration hospital. But we like it because it's close to some relatives we visit regularly in south Minneapolis.

The Snelling (snellingmotel.8m.com), which appears to been built in the 1940s or so, is well-maintained and clean. There are 32 air-conditioned units, and each has an in-room refrigerator and microwave oven, phone, free Wi-Fi and cable TV. There are both smoking and non-smoking rooms.

The light rail system is very close and offers access to the airport, sports arenas and the Mall of America.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AngusVicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while we lined up a job in Minneapolis. It's located right next to HWY 55 and one Block away from Blue Line (Metro Train ) Stop. The room was priced very reasonably and the room was nicer than we expected. There was nothing particularly magical about the place but everything was in order and I was given nothing to complain about. I recommend it.

Location is pretty easy to find, right off of HWY 55 and 54th Street East. Pretty close to Minnehaha Parks and Falls, MOA(Mall of America) and the MSP airport .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank cortezTX s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This is a small Motel in MINNEAPOLIS, MN but it sure delivers a great value for the price. We use a coupon rate per night and it was just what I expected. No frills, but comfortable and clean. The rooms were spacious. The staff at the Motel were very friendly and helpful.

I would definitely choose this Motel again for an inexpensive stay in the Twin Cities metro area. This Motel is within about 3 mins of the Minneapolis airport, Mall of America,Downtown Minneapolis, etc. Very convenient location at a great price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lion962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinup P, Owner at Snelling Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to express your opinion. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stay!
Thanks and looking forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Just got back after a 2 day stay. Very impressed with this motel. Great value. Very clean and quite. Beds were comfortable.Very friendly and helpful staff. Would definately stay again! Nice location close to MSP Airport and Downtown Minneapolis. If you are looking for a place to stay and don't need luxury this will do the trick. We stayed in a one King room. It has a fridge and a microwave which was a plus.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank brandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We have stayed at the Snelling motel several times.we always stayed multiple nights every times.we selected it each time because it is a reasonably priced metro area motel & it's only a one minutes walk from a stop on the light rail.fast food restaurant subway,pizza,burger king,mcdonald & gas station are just a mile away.we never been disappointed by the service or staff.would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jorge120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This was just a terrible place. I booked it because of the great location near the light rail stop. It was very hard to find, however. "Fortunately" the toilet exploded and I didn't have to stay. I found another place with a huge breakfast bar and pool for the same price. See my picture of the step up to the bathroom. I didn't catch the actual explosion, but I had a cascade of water down the step into the room that soaked the carpet. My sympathies to veterans who come there only because it is next to the Veteran's Hospital.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The one gentleman stated it right "broken English". But it more than a simple communication issue; the new owners lack courtesy, professionalism and cleanliness.

I seen cockroaches in the lobby and in the bathroom.
Unfortunately it was too late to get another place for us.

Best Advice: Stay away from this one!

P.S. I cant help but see trpadvisor receiving a lot of comments from people who are 'stuffing' the first-hand experiences (ie. the owners of the hotel are writing glowing reviews).

Room Tip: Stay away; new owners could care less about you or your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Art B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
University / Dinkytown
Ramada Plaza Minneapolis
Ramada Plaza Minneapolis
#21 of 50 in Minneapolis
1,268 reviews
University / Dinkytown
Hampton Inn and Suites Minneapolis University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Hotel University Ave SE
#36 of 50 in Minneapolis
1,192 reviews
Millennium Minneapolis
#15 of 50 in Minneapolis
767 reviews
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snelling Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snelling Motel

Address: 5346 Minnehaha Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55417-2329
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Minneapolis
Price Range: £64 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Snelling Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Snelling Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snelling Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing