We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Underwhelmed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Minneapolis
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here as a conference attendee and the location for that couldn't be beat. There were no major issues here - they have comfortable furniture and a really nice gym with pool. However, there are just these little inconsistencies that made it an unremarkable stay. First, all of downtown Minneapolis has free wifi but somehow Hilton feels it's appropriate to charge for wifi so it's not accessible anywhere except the lobby (really? For $200 a night you can't include wifi?). Also, they routinely had one or two people at the front desk at all times. This is a large hotel and the lines were always quite long. And lastly what really bugged me is that anyone can get in the elevators - no key card access is required despite the presence of card readers.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahjarunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMinneapolis, General Manager at Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for this review. I am glad to see that you enjoyed our close proximity to downtown attractions, fitness center, comfortable accommodations and overall had no issues. I would like to apologize for any wait you incurred at our Front Desk - I will be sharing your comments with my Director of Front Office Operations. As a complimentary amenity to all guests we offer free wi-fi in our lounge and lobby. This includes a connectivity station with complimentary access to PC's, MACs, hardwired internet and has printing capabilities. Again thank you for this review; we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

John E. Luke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    429
    157
    52
    33
See reviews for
203
211
46
634
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Don't bother expecting to be fed if you arrive within 1/2 hour of closing. Food was gone and not replenished. Staff indicated that if the kitchen did not send up food, they could not put it out. One morning all of the bread (bagels) was gone before breakfast time finished, the oatmeal was tempid, and the fruit bowl empty.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMinneapolis, General Manager at Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for bringing your experience in our Executive Lounge to my attention. We want to make you feel welcome, cared for, valued and respected. I would like to sincerely apologize for the service you received - it is not up to our high standards. I will bring your experience to my Director of Front Office Operations as well as my Director of Food & Beverage in effort to ensure this does not happen again. Again, thank you for the opportunity to make it right.

Sincerely,

John E. Luke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perham, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed in August of 2013 for a getaway weekend. Nice place, close to downtown Minneapolis, plenty of restaurants to visit in the area and great nightlife. Lots of places to just people watch, close to Loring Park and walking distance to Target Field. Would stay again in heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMinneapolis, General Manager at Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for this review - I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed our close proximity to downtown attractions! I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

John E. Luke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hibbing, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We waited in the honors line for hours just to be told that we couldn't check into our room until at the earliest 7:00 P.M. Apparently a very large group made arrangements for a late checkout. Everyone that made reservations was simply out of luck.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMinneapolis, General Manager at Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during check-in and assure you that we take your comments very seriously. I have brought this issue to my Director of Front Office Operations; we will be using your review to take corrective action ensuring this does not happen in the future. I would like to personally follow up and apologize again, please call me at your earliest convenience. My direct line is (612) 397-4800.

Sincerely,

John E. Luke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was a nice, quiet hotel. I like the steel ice containers that kept the ice from melting too soon. The hotel has a Starbucks with limited menu in lobby which was nice. No issues with check in or check out and staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMinneapolis, General Manager at Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay, our staff and Barron's Brew in our lobby selling Starbucks Coffee. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

John E. Luke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catskill, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Hilton Hotel is spectacular. The rooms for spacious and clean. The food in the restaurants was excellent. The staff were always friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. The location was perfect to walk to restaurants and the Light Rail to travel to the Mall of America. The phrase "Minnesota Nice" definitely describes the city and the people.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMinneapolis, General Manager at Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your review! I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, our restaurant, newly renovated rooms and staff! We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

John E. Luke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
demaileron
Level Contributor
213 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Excellent place to stay! I had a one night stay on the Executive Level (I'm Hilton Gold). I didn't expect to stay overnight in Minneapolis. Painless, quick check-in process, very quick elevators (a big plus), excellent eats in Executive Lounge and delightful breakfast spread. Wonderful large pool & hot tub on second floor. The hostess in Executive Lounge served as a great tour guide; pointing out Downtown landmarks from the 25th floor. Special thanks to her and front desk (night auditor) Patrick.

I did not have a car so cannot speak to the parking situation. Everything spotless clean!

Only regret is not staying longer! I really look forward to my return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMinneapolis, General Manager at Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share such a great experience at our hotel! I will pass along your kind comments to the team members mentioned. We're looking forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay next time!

Sincerely,

John E. Luke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#18 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Minneapolis

Property: Hilton Minneapolis
Address: 1001 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 821
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience style and elegance when you arrive to the city’s largest Four Diamond Hotel. Hilton Minneapolis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown and connected to five miles of climate controlled skyway. Hilton is just steps from Nicollet Mall where you can enjoy shopping, bars, restaurants, street cafes and quaint coffee houses. Our hotel features 821 deluxe guest rooms and suites, 24 hour business center, wireless internet (nominal fee), complimentary fitness center, indoor pool, in-room dining, and SkyWater Restaurant & Cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hilton Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Hilton Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing