We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 June 2014

But they charge $24 a day to valet park your car right under the hotel. They charge enough for the room NOT to have to charge extra for parking. That was stated on the web site but disappointing that they even do that. Walked a half of a block and paid $6 to park in a garage all day.

Again very nice and clean hotel, that was near everything. Breakfast not included,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaleyD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dustin P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to give others your opinon about your experience with us. While it appears you enjoyed some aspects of the hotel, you were obviously disappointed about the price you paid for the valet services. I understand this price may seem high, but it is one of the cheaper valet prices in all of downtown. As you can park your car at nearby establishments for day parking, the closer overnight parking would be about 2 blocks away from the hotel. We try to keep our prices low based on the market, as well offer many discounts and packages that include parking for little to no money above your normal price. Please look for our parking package the next time you are in town. I hope this doesn't deter you from giving us another chance to serve you. Thank you again for taking the time to write the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

903 - 909 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

My son and I checked in around 6 pm. We walked in and had a pretty good idea our stay would be nice. The Lobby area was a welcoming sight. Our room was on the 5th floor, and the view from the room out across the city was beautiful. Looking out we spotted a dog park. This was great to see.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dustin P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Kevin D,

Thanks for your review and thank you for staying with us. While our building is not in the center of downtown, this works to our advantage as our views of the city and surrounding areas are awesome. Stay with us again and I promise to put you on a higher floor for an even better view. It was a pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you and hopefully we can earn an even better score from you the next time. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

When we were unexpectedly "dumped" by the Millennium Hotel in Minneapolis, the folks at the Garden Inn came to our rescue. For those of you who read my reviews, you may know that I don't mind walking an extra block or two while visiting a new city. (After all, as much as you eat when out of town, you need a little extra exercise!) This property was about three rather short city blocks from "the action," but easily walkable, plus Minneapolis has a great public transportation system. The entire staff was excellent from the manager to the guy mopping the floors.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dustin P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

K L,

I am sorry you were "dumped" but glad you headed our way! It was a pleasure to have you. Thanks for your kind comments about the staff; they truly make the difference. Everyone believes in having fun and sharing that attitude with our guests, even the "guy mopping the floor". I hope we see you back in the future and have a chance to earn a 5 star review next time. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

With a few days to spare before a company function my sons and I needed a room for the weekend. I made the call, and luckily rooms were available at this hotel. We arrived via the light train rail, and were picked up quickly at the Government Plaza Station. This was our means of transportation, and much cheaper than a taxi.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dustin P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you so much for experiencing the Hilton Garden's style of hospitality. We know you have many options to choose, so we hope you will come back and see us the next time you are in town. We really want to have our guest's experience a perfect stay, so please let me know what else we could have done to have made your experience even more enjoyable. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Pleasant hotel experience. Staff are all very friendly, and helpful. Nice environment and good food served. My room was very quiet, and was pleased with housekeeping. I recommend staying at Hilton Garden Minneapolis.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Rachelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dustin P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for experiencing the Hilton Garden Inn Hotel in downtown Minneapolis. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We appreciate all the comments you provided and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and earn a 5 star rating from you, as we truly do strive for a perfect stay with all of our guests. Enjoy the summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I spent 1 sleepless night before seeing in the Lobby that the beds are adjustable! Yikes! A sign in the room would be nice. Clean rooms, with microwave, fridge, and keurig machine. Room was about 60 when we checked in- should be set to a more normal 68 to save energy. Nice place, would go back! Close to lots of good downtown places!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Guitarjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dustin P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

I am so sorry that you did not know that are beds are adjustable. It is a great feature but to no avail if you didn't know about it. I feel awful you didn't get a good night's sleep the first night. I hope it was not enough to deter you from staying with us again. Thanks for still giving us a good review despite your hardships. I hope you continue to come back to us in the future and allow us the opportunity to make this up to you. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My son, a high school senior, and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in downtown Minneapolis during a recent visit to the Twin Cities for a tour of the University of Minnesota. It was one of the hotels recommended by the U of M and we couldn't have been more pleased with our decision to stay there. Great service, staff, facility, and location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dustin P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

We are all very excited that you and your son enjoyed your experience with us. We try to create just that, an experience, and make connections that will last a lifetime. It is nice to know the the U of M suggested our hotel. We have lots of great connections with the U of M and am so glad they trust us to take excellent care of their guests. Good luck and we hope your son makes the U of M his choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,486 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Millennium Minneapolis
#15 of 52 in Minneapolis
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,743 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 1101 4th Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55404-1022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: £61 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in the heart of downtown Minneapolis’ corporations and entertainment districts at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown. You’ll be within walking distance to the exciting Nicollet Mall shopping and just one block from Minneapolis Convention Center. Visit the Walker Art Center or see a show at the Orchestra Hall. Stay in a spacious guest room at this downtown Minneapolis hotel, all of which feature contemporary decor and include complimentary high-speed internet access. Stay energized with the hotel's indoor swimming pool and keep up with your routine with the modern cardiovascular machines and weights in our fitness center. Start each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® restaurant, or pick up supplies at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing