We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Basic Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)
Ranked #35 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Basic Budget Hotel”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Spent three nights here for a family graduation and visit. Hotel is clean, staff very helpful, free internet in the lobby, clean, quiet, nice pool, location is within walking distance to nice restaurants. Location, right off the highway made it easy for relatives to pick us up and there is a spot in front of the hotel for unloading & loading. Although the Convention Center was not on our schedule, this hotel is very convenient to it. The breakfast was better than one usually gets in a budget hotel. One morning there was pre-made ommletts and bacon and the next scrambled eggs and ham. Both mornings there were wonderful cinnamon rolls, pancakes and biscuits and gravey. However, a real nice surprise is that you can have continental breakfast delivered right to your room at no extra charge! We did that once for coffee, muffins, cinnamon rolls and juice.
Overall, I recommend this hotel for a budget stay in downtown Minneapolis.

Room Tip: Note that restaurant is only for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molly1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    107
    38
    9
    3
See reviews for
48
42
24
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My wife and I visit Minneapolis at least once a year to take in a few ball games and do some bike riding on the fantastic bicycle trails found in the area. We've stayed at several different places over the years, but keep coming back to the Holiday Inn Express Downtown because everything about this place works for us. We've probably stayed there on 7 or 8 diffent occaisions, including just last week when we stayed for 3 nights. It's nothing fancy, but we love the location, it's always clean, it's quiet, good size rooms, comfortable bed, affordable, friendly staff, great service, free hot breakfast, decent pool & exercise room, and overall value is very good! Recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lma204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Grande, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The establishment clearly went out of their way to provide extra services required for the purpose of this conference. We only had to ask one time and our request was quickly received. The front desk personnel were extremely courteous and knowledgeable. All in all I certainly would use this facility again.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are quieter and seem to be more roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davetta1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Nice place to stay in downtown.The room is clean, decor is up to date & the beds are comfortable.We liked the pool & it's just us using it every time on a spring break...weird in a good way:) The breakfasts are the kids favorite...bacon,sausage,pancakes & yogurt.The only bad experience we had is that it took a long time for the front desk to open the gate( we waited patiently for 5 mins)until my husband went to the front desk to let us out from the parking lot.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoWelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Was visiting Minneapolis for a Dental student convention. Picked this hotel because of the location (close to the convention) and the price. Among the downtown hotels, this place was quite affordable and had all the amenities you could need. They have a pool, hot tub, small business center, and a great continental breakfast. The rooms were just average, but overall the experience was great, so I'm giving it 4 stars.

The rooms are nothing too fancy. Decently comfy beds with nice clean sheets. This place did have HBO which is a plus when you're stuck in the room and bored. Bathroom was nice and had everything stocked double for some reason (which is good). Lots of towels and the service was great every day. We stayed for four nights and every day, the service did an awesome job cleaning and stocking up the room.

I will probably consider staying here again, but it's nothing too fancy. Just a great place to stay if you are looking for simple hotel with affordable prices in downtown Minneapolis.

Room Tip: Perhaps request a room not so close to the vending machine or elevators because it can get loud. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkhuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zionsville
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I can't say one thing bad about his hotel. Will stay there again and again. Very accommodating. Close enough to walk to Convention Center.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoodooVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Very nice hotel. Clean rooms, pleasant staff, good breakfast, and a convenient location. The only downside is that the parking is not especially convenient but it's a very minor problem. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevelertom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Millennium Minneapolis
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#15 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,311 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)
Address: 225 S 11th St, Minneapolis, MN 55403-2520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#29 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ANNOUNCEMENT: The pool area will be closed for scheduled maintenance from Monday, June 6th - Friday, June 10th 2016. Stay smart in the heart of downtown Minneapolis! This hotel is easily accessible from the freeway, and within easy walking distance of Nicollet Mall and all that Minneapolis has to offer. Conveniently stay just one block from the Minneapolis Convention Center. Enjoy the incredible value that is included with every reservation: -Free Wifi -Free Full American Breakfast -Heated Indoor Pool and Hot Tub -Fitness Room -All Non Smoking Rooms *This hotel is credit card only at check in. Parking near the hotel is available for an additional fee. Call hotel directly for additional information and details.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing