We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Reviewed 8 December 2010

After reading the reviews, we expected clean and quiet. What we did NOT expect was lovely. Very reasonably priced. Our next stay in downtown Mpls will be here.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arlenemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2010

This hotel is old but very modern, rooms and beds were great. Upgraded in 2009 they did a great job. Parking was resonable and secured lot.
After reading a review about bugs we looked very hard and did not see anysign of anything, very clean.

Only complaint - the hot tub in the Pool area was not hot, it was luke warm. It was not very comfortable,

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Hogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

I was looking to check in at the Hilton (across the road) or the Hyatt. However, there were no reservations available there and had to check into this hotel. I wasn't hoping for much because it is an "Express" version of Holiday Inn. But it pleasantly surprised me. First of all, there was a Jacuzzi right in my room. The room was big. The staff were friendly and responsive. The breakfast was complimentary - standard fare - but still good food and a decent spread. Location was in downtown Minneapolis and pretty near a Skyway entrance - also 2 blocks away from Nicollette Mall with all sorts of restaurants there. You can order Pizza in the room and other things, as the hotel does not have a restaurant.
Clean and well maintained too. Oh! How could I forget? There was a fireplace too, which made it very cozy when there was a thunderstorm outside! So, all in all it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thought_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This was one of the most positive hotel stays we have ever had. The staff, especially Mike and Stosh but others as well, were helpful and accommodating making us welcome no matter what we needed. It is a small place, especially compared to the grand hotels in the neighborhood, but this may have resulted in better interaction with the front desk staff. We chose this hotel in order to spend time exploring the downtown area. We felt as if we were on the edge of the center but we were only 3 blocks from Nicollette Mall and we were right across the street from the Convention Center. We were within walking distance of major downtown sites - the Walker Art Museum, the theater district, Nicollette Mall, the Old Mill Park on the Mississippi. Plenty of restaurants in the neighborhood. For those who prefer to get to local sites on wheels, there were several handily placed Bike Share stations in the neighborhood and lots of buses.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Changeable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Hotel is located perfectly for short walk to convention center or anywhere else in the downtown area, had no complaints, breakfast was good and varied daily with hot items.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkbfngrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

We stayed in a "suite" with a pullout couch, plus mini-fridge and microwave. The room was very comfy and clean. Pretty quiet too. Didn't hear much hall noise, but could hear some street noise. It didn't stop us from sleeping, though.
The staff was very helpful, with restaurant recommendations, directions, etc.
The breakfast selection was good.
There's a small pool area with hot tub, which was nice.
The location is kinda on the edge of downtown, but only 3 blocks from Nicollet Mall, and 6 blocks from a light rail station.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenGoesOnTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

I purchased tickets for the Wicked musical and wanted to stay downtown so we would be within walking distance of the Orpheum Theatre about 6 blocks away. I booked a one bedroom suite with livingroom, small kitchenette for 131.00 taxes, parking and complimentary breakfast included. The hotel and rooms were beautifully decorated, clean and very comfortable. Nicolette Street(mall/restaurants/bars), LRT(train) and Target Field are all within walking distance of the hotel. We were absoulutely amazed to find a hotel for this price that was so conveniently located. We would definately stay here again.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
Thank carbqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Millennium Minneapolis
#15 of 49 in Minneapolis
746 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,410 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)

Address: 225 S 11th St, Minneapolis, MN 55403-2520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#29 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: £75 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ANNOUNCEMENT: The pool area will be closed for scheduled maintenance from Monday, June 6th - Friday, June 10th 2016. Stay smart in the heart of downtown Minneapolis! This hotel is easily accessible from the freeway, and within easy walking distance of Nicollet Mall and all that Minneapolis has to offer. Conveniently stay just one block from the Minneapolis Convention Center. Enjoy the incredible value that is included with every reservation: -Free Wifi -Free Full American Breakfast -Heated Indoor Pool and Hot Tub -Fitness Room -All Non Smoking Rooms *This hotel is credit card only at check in. Parking near the hotel is available for an additional fee. Call hotel directly for additional information and details.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing