We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mother's Day Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tavern on France

Tavern on France
Ranked #224 of 1,793 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Mother's Day Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I took my mom, husband and daughter's age 8 and 11 here for their brunch. My mom wanted to go there because she has had the brunch and said it was wonderful. My husband and I were not overly impressed. It was ok but honestly, everything tasted the same. The dessert was the best part. However, we had a good time because all of us were able to find something to eat. We didn't sit on the patio but walked out there and it is really neat! Thinking of going for happy hour some night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank latzkero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    94
    28
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mt Prospect
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great food and attentive wait staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

When a restaurant is packed on a Wednesday night they must be doing something right. There was a wait, but it wasn't long and the food was worth the wait.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank driverandnapigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
87 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So-So”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I have heard good things about Tavern on France. However, my experience was decent food and service. Lunch time salad was well sized which I liked but taste was nothing to write home about. Server was very slow and not very engaging. I will go again but it won't be a priority.

Helpful?
Thank motznarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good news/bad news.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The good news is that this restaurant adds a lot to the Edina restaurant scene, especially for young professional adults. The bad news is that unless one goes at some odd hour it is too crowded and too noisy, more like a bar scene. Hamburgers where you design your own are excellent. Great bar. Parking is a problem during busy hours, as is service and noise problem.
Patio is much appreciated in the few nice weather months in Minnesota therefore it is always crowded. Allow plenty of time for a great night out if you are in the party mood.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donnamarie1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
365 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Came in for lunch on a very busy day. We were seated promptly and the server was excellent in explaining the menu. Our salads and soup were fresh and very good quality. Food was served promptly as well. Excellent place for a business lunch despite the crowd.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ECU1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tavern on France also viewed

 

Been to Tavern on France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing