We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school charm downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nicollet Island Inn
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Set along the mississippi and smack dab downtown minneapolis you wouldn't expect to find a hotel that makes you feel like your back in time. There restaurant is also very good. Across the street you can wander the other great bars and restaurants along the mississippi.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xtremejms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Nicollet Island Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Staff were young and eager to please like good Lutherans. Garrison Keillor would love the Minnesotaness of this place. See through elevator equipped with an operator seat. Beautifully restored rooms with firmness selection on each side of the bed. Best Wi Fi I have ever had in a hotel. comfortable, quiet and cozy. We stayed in our room and did room service. Impeccable. The next day we could see the beautiful restaurant, but alas we had to be on our way. Definite repeat. First name basis with the staff. This Inn has good management and it shows.

Room Tip: Not really
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lordegbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed overnight as an anniversary "staycation" and we were pleased. Promptly greeted by front desk staffperson who was very polite. Room was beautifully decorated and looked well kept. The room door even needed a "real key" to get in, which in an odd kind of way, was really nice. Floor was slanted in the room, but that is what gives the Inn its uniqueness (and it shows it is a historic place). The bed was a Sleep Number bed, which is great- we were both able to set our sides to our preference- I don't think I have slept so well in a long time. While it was wintery and snowy, the stay was perfect. I can only imagine how much nicer it would be to stay there in the summer and walk to the nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Front desk staff was wonderful, yet the manager seemed to be overwhelmed and many of our guests commented on her curtness. Beautiful dining areas with beautiful views of river, great placement and walks to Stone Arch Bridge. Out of town guests get great experience of historic Minnespolis.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank FatherandToddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My husband surprised me with a Groupon to the Nicollet Island Inn. I had never been to this area of the city and was really excited as we drove up and I could see the historic little inn. We were greeted warmly at the reception and were given a standard room. I thought it was supposed to overlook the city or park but it actually overlooked the river, which was a bonus. Too bad the river was frozen over, but it was still a great view in the dead of these Minnesota winters....

I loved the period furnishings all over the building. What a surprise to experience a sleep number bed as well!

We ordered room service the following morning and it was brought very quickly. My husband has had a lot of breakfast in his lifetime and he said that this was his BEST room service breakfast ever! He ordered the American fare with eggs, toast, hashbrowns, bacon and a side of their house made maple sausage. He raved about the bacon and the sausage. I must say they were very delicious, especially the sausage. It was that good!

We will definitely be back, only this time it will be in the summer or fall so we can really enjoy the view out our window. Loved it!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mlempx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

A very nice break from the generic modern, large hotels with "everything". This historic hotel is a perfect getaway for couples. Your on an island so it feels remote, yet you are just blocks away from all the things to do in Minneapolis. Rooms have a sleep number bed which is always a plus. The staff was very friendly and the food was incredible. We will be taking the family back for their Sunday brunch!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I attended a wedding at this historic hotel. The rooms are historically decorated and very clean. If you like old architecture this hotel is for you. The staff was very helpful and attentive. It's located in the middle of downtown Minneapolis along the Mississippi river in the historic milling district. Lots of sightseeing and good restaurants within walking distance. The hotel prepared food was excellent.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#12 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,277 reviews
University / Dinkytown
University Inn
University Inn
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,692 reviews
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicollet Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicollet Island Inn

Address: 95 Merriam St, Nicollet Island, Minneapolis, MN 55401-1524
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#18 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: £161 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nicollet Island Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Nicollet Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicollet Island Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing