We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
122
46
16
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
122
46
16
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmississippi riverst anthonyfireside roomlobster weekhorse drawnhistoric hotelsleep number bedanniversary nightdaughter's weddingfollowing morningroom pricecorner roomtwin citiessmall hotelwonderful weekendguthrie theatremodern amenities
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We selected the Nicollet island inn for a special weekend getaway. The setting on a small island in the Mississippi River is very picturesque, and within easy walking distance from he Heritage Trail, which goes along the river and provides good views of the falls. It's also close to the Guthrie Theater. The hotel was nicely decorated, the staff was friendly, and the room was relatively large and comfortable. We really liked their history, having originally been a factory. My only suggestion for improvement would have been nicer sheets and softer pillows. All in all, we really liked our stay at this historical inn and would stay there again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were in Minneapolis in April and stayed at the Nicollet Island Inn for a family wedding. The place is located about fifteen minutes from the airport and within walking distance of many attractions. We were so impressed with the charm and European flavor of the inn. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It is a small place with less then 25 rooms situated on an island on the Mississippi River. The views are spectacular, especially at night. The room maintained its "old world " charm and was very comfortable. We had a delicious breakfast at the Wilde Roast. We would definitely stay there again ! Our room faced the park and river and was a short walk to the Nicollet Island Pavilion where the wedding took place.

Room Tip: Book early to get the room you want as it is a very small place!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I was in Mpls on business (husband accompanying) and we switched there at the last minute on the recommendation of a local friend. Spent 5 days. Beyond thrilled! It's on a little island in the Mississippi, analogous to the Ile de la Cite in Paris (but not as densely developed). Each day we looked out of its deep, ancient windows onto trees and the river, glittering at night in the street lamps, purling during the day. It was like being at a country resort or B&B for pleasure, which was good because the weather was stormy. A perfect retreat after business or sightseeing. It's a historic building, nicely converted from an 1880s window factory built of stone. Attentive staff. Decent restaurant open for all meals. New, very comfortable bed. I love this sort of vintage, quaint, boutique place (like the Tabard in DC etc.) and don't require high-rise soulless style newness. No pool etc. and free internet station for boarding passes is slow. The only drawback is its strength: it's a little removed and it would have been easier if we'd had a car or bike (or the weather had been better.) We did, however, walk to the Stone Arch bridge, view the falls, try out Minneapolis's "Nice Ride" bike rental program, and visit historic sites nearby (the oldest section of Minn., St. Anthony's.) We spent two out of our five days barely leaving the premises. I caught up on sleep - better than at home! There are restaurants (Wilde Roast for breakfast, Asters for bluegrass Sunday brunch) an easy quiet walk over to the Riverplace side, and a Whole Foods a convenient but unpleasantly noisy 4 block walk over the busy Hennepin Bridge in the other direction towards downtown. The Hennepin bridge is a major thoroughfare, so I wouldn't stay at the end of the hotel that faces that way. We had a "river view" queen room -- that's the way to go unless you get the very best room in the house, a corner room facing towards the park. Noise didn't bother us and I am extremely noise sensitive. If we return to Minneapolis we will definitely come back. Great for single women business travelers too.

Room Tip: River view Queen and corners overlooking the park are quietest, with gorgeous views. Avoid looking towards the Hennepin bridge or over the parking lot.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillValleyTrueLotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for a night over Easter weekend - a 10 year anniversary get away from the kids. The hotel employees are fantastic, from a friendly welcome at reception through to great restaurant and bar staff - everyone was great. If you're looking for cookie cutter hotel rooms, then you're not going to find them here, the rooms have charm and are very well appointed. My only (and very small) complaint is that the bed makes noise when you move but to be fair, what else would you expect from a four poster bed?.
There are lots of places within walking distance for food, drinks etc but you will miss out if you don't at least eat dinner in the hotel. A menu with just the right amount of choice and the food was fantastic. Even better was the complimentary glass of champagne each from the hotel to say "Happy Anniversary".
Great hotel, loads of charm and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: The "classic" package allows you to choose any room and receive a voucher for dinner - we chose the deluxe corner room - you should too.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyNiemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We enjoy eating at the Inn on special occasions. This year for a birthday celebration we decided to stay. It was a great choice! The service is wonderful and accommodating. Rooms are on the smaller side but have all the amenities and great views.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flt72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews