We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midsomar Celebration”

American Swedish Institute
Ranked #9 of 211 things to do in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1929 by Swan J. Turnblad, this castle serves as a combination historic house/museum that features exhibits and programs of the Swedish culture.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Midsomar Celebration”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Absolutely beautiful building and great gift shop. Wonderful exhibits and accommodated the Midsomar celebration that had gotten rained out. Parking is easy and entrance is easy. Definitely would say review the website and catch the great events that are available.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank n4matishun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    109
    18
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“delectable lunch in a light filled room”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had not time to explore the exhibits but did visit the gift shop. Our main reason to go there was to have lunch on a friend's recommendation. We will definitely go back if we visit again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank marzipan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
295 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Scandinavian Delights”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The American Swedish Institute is a great place to have lunch (at Fika, their in-house restaurant) followed by a tour through the lovely old mansion exhibiting Scandinavian art and crafts. The volunteer docents are very knowledgeable and engaging. Enjoy the exterior courtyard on a beautiful Minnesota summer's day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank fififlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Home”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We enjoyed the tour of the home but were VERY disappointed with the food. We were looking forward to something very Scandinavian but the portion was small and it was very average.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swartz Creek MI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is GREAT place, Was so nice to learn about swedish culture. It's not easy to find and literally no one from our hotel knew how to give us directions. -- It is worth the search :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lcavett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed American Swedish Institute also viewed

 

Been to American Swedish Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing