We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Nearby Hotels
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites(Minneapolis)(Great Value!)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
WHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Northstar(Minneapolis)(Great Value!)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Minneapolis(Minneapolis)(Great Value!)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,146)
Filter reviews
1,146 results
Traveller rating
778
230
90
29
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
778
230
90
29
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslifetime fitnessathletic clubwine hourwine receptionrunning trackcomplimentary winesoaking tubyoga matluxury suiteroom serviceseparate showerlocker roomlobby barhotel gymhuge bathroomvalet parkingfront desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
769 - 774 of 1,146 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Unfortunately I was only able to stay here one night. Room 1013 was dreamy, too bad I wasn't able to enjoy it longer. Three TVs, a gorgeous bed, nice layout, great decor. Very tastefully decorated, loved the colors. The bathroom was large enough to hold a party.
Service is top-notch. Everyone encountered was just too nice. Professional. Helpful.
The complimentary wine hour is always enjoyed. This hotel had a large lobby but limited seating compared to other Kimpton hotels.
Had a meeting and the room was perfect, the cookies served were award-worthy.
The gentleman at the lobby bar was super nice and very proud that he was serving local craft brews. That's a great touch.

The only cons are: steps at the front door and nobody to help with luggage and the on-site restaurant, Rare, for breakfast was blah. Service was non-existent, very slow, egg white omelette was really greasy. Prices were fair.

Room Tip: Upgrade, the room is awesome.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Terriv: Thank you for taking the time to write about us. I wish you could have stayed longer too! I agree, room 1013 is dreamy! It's one of my favorites. Thank you for commenting on the decor. The design team we hired when we completely renovated did a phenomenal job! We are so proud of our beautiful little hotel. I love that you had a chance to visit the Six15 Room and meet one of our talented bartenders. They are so friendly, and love recommending local craft brews and mixing up craft cocktails. I'm disappointed to read about your breakfast experience and I've shared your comments with the owner and operator of Rare. Thanks again for sharing your experience. See you next time your in Minneapolis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel is very centrally located, and rooms are well appointed. Beds are comfortable, rooms are spacious and very clean. We stayed for four nights, and we were able to enjoy live music and a complimentary glass of wine before dinner in the lobby each evening.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and greeted us whenever we entered the lobby.

Valet parking is reasonably priced, but there is more economical parking in the parking garage across the street. Loading and unloading is a bit awkward, since the area in front of the hotel is a bus lane with no stopping allowed. Instead, the valet parking and guest loading area is around the corner, but once you get to the hotel entrance, you will have to drive around the block to get to it.

There are stairs from the lobby to access the pedestrian mall that connects various buildings in the downtown, with access to lots of great shopping. The weather was fine when we were there, but in winter, this series of bridges and passageways would allow you to wander the downtown without worrying about inclement weather.

The restaurant in the hotel has an excellent varied dinner menu including some excellent sushi choices, and there are lots of other options within easy walking distance from the hotel.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarlanRegina_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear HarlanRegina_Ca...: Thank you for this fantastic review! I'm pleased that you found the room comfy, clean and spacious. Thanks for praising our staff. They are so attentive and friendly and jump at the opportunity to help. Just to clarify about valet, we do actually have a zone directly in front of the hotel for loading and unloading. We just ask that you check in with our valet attendants at the corner of 2nd and 7th first. If the zone in front of the hotel is clear, they will instruct you to pull around the corner to unload. There are less expensive self-parking options in the area, but they don't extend the in and out privledges like our valet. In addition, we have some super friendly valet attendants that are always willing to help and give recommendations of what to do while your visiting our lovely city. Thanks again for this excellent review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We booked our first two nights of a two week trip at this lovely hotel at a great rate, then joined the Kimpton rewards program. First they upgraded us to a larger room, then we enjoyed a glass of wine in the lobby and headed out to dinner. There are lots of restaurant choices within walking distance and we were given very good directions.

The room was quite spacious, with a very comfortable bed. Everything was spotlessly clean and the room was very quiet. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Minneapolis.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor and it was very quiet. We had a view of an office building, but that was okay with us.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleSpeckledTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear LittleSpeckledTrout: I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us! Thanks for joining the Kimpton In Touch loyalty program. If you haven't yet, be sure to indicate your preferences in your profile. It will help us to personalize your future stays at all Kimpton hotels. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy the Minneapolis restaurant scene! We have some amazing restaurants within walking distance. I know how important a good night's sleep is when you're traveling, so it's wonderful that the room was quiet and the bed was comfy! A quiet hotel room and comfy bed can be hard to find. Thanks so much for this fantastic review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is amazing! Absolutely perfect for anyone looking to stay at a location that is in the heart of downtown! The rooms were clean, spacious and very well decorated. The beds were very comfortable. The staff has excellent customer service!! (Kudos to the management team for training and maintaining a top of the line staff). We were in town for a girls bachelorette weekend and we couldn't have asked for a better experience!! I HIGHLY Recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacklyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Jacklyn A: Thank YOU for this absolutely wonderful review! You covered it all. I appreciate the mention of our prime location, clean, comfy, spacious and stylish rooms, and of course the fantastic staff representing the hotel! We are so fortunate to have an ownership group that enables us to keep the hotel in top notch shape and embraces the Kimpton culture of hiring the most genuine people! I'm so glad that the bachelorette weekend was a success. Congrats to the wedding couple! I trust we'll see you next time you need a place to stay in Minnie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

What a stay, this property and it staff is second to none! I was traveling with my daughter who was competing at the University of Minnesota and I was blown away by the staff knowing the days she competed and more importantly having their whole team make and sign a good luck postee which was delivered to our room the day of her competition. It is the small stuff that makes a big difference and the staff could not have been nicer. Additionally the property and rooms are great! I will definitely be going back and would recommend this as a great location!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Tim B: This is so cool! I can't thank you enough for sharing this. We empower our team to make these kind of connections with our guests and they always jump at the opportunity to do so. The more we know about why you're here, the better! It helps us to personalize your stay. I've shared your review with the staff and several of them have commented about how much they enjoyed meeting you and rooting for your daughter! So neat! We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews