We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel; fun for children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Minneapolis
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Enjoyed this hotel with our 8 year old. The attached water-park was great but check the hours before your visit as it was only open on the weekend (we had arrived Weds. night) and closed Sunday at 3:00. The hotel is centrally located and we were able to walk across the river (huge pedestrian bridge over the Mississippi River) and find a restaurant with outdoor seating across the way. In bad weather, the hotel is only about a block away from the skybridges that connect many buildings and a small mall. The room was nice and we enjoyed all the old memorabilia from the train days.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LyndaNewport_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Depot Renaissance is well located in central Minneapolis and only a quick drive (or ambitious walk) to St. Paul's university area and Dinkytown. It is located in the old Milwaukee Road depot, and has maintained the historical importance of that building. Most area restaurants are a short walk away, and other attractions are easy to get to by train. The hotel shares some property features with the Marriott Residence Inn, including a interior patio seating area, water park and ice rink. The restaurant, Charley's is an affordable restaurant with wonderful food-- highly recommend the walleye cakes-- that is also family friendly. In general, the experience was what one can expect from Renaissance with the added benefit of its historical location.

Room Tip: If you are planning to use the water park, locate near the water park elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank crw1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel proved to be a great solution to staying in the suburbs. I don't care about paying for parking in the city, but the water park fee was too high OR should only have been charged for children because it is primarily designed for young kids.

Restaurant was empty? But the food and service was great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StationWagonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Located in the heart of Minneapolis's historic core, the Depot was a major station on the old Milwaukee Road railroad. Decorated with railroading memorabilia, it has an appealing adjacent water park that's great for kids. Walking distance from the old Mississippi flour mills (Pillsbury, Gold Medal, etc.) with lots of eating and drinking boutiques nearby. Very good service: my original room smelled musty (the windows don't open) so I was changed to an excellent room that had the extra quality of not being on the street -- and thus quieter. Very accommodating staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This hotel is built in an old railroad station. The lobby has a nice restaurant and some exhibits of the old train station. The rooms have definitely been updated and come complete with black out drapes so absolutely no light can come in, which is a huge plus for someone who likes to sleep. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms modern. The best part of hotel was the location. Its only a couple blocks to the street car system which can take you to the baseball stadium or Mall of America. Another huge plus is the location to the Mill City Museum. It's really in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kovacicn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We had several family members staying here, while in town for our Son's wedding.
Great Hotel. Great Location. Walking distance to the train (2 blocks). We took the train to the airport and Mall of America. We walked across the bridge where the falls on the Mississippi are located. A cute little village there with restaurants. Wonderful rooms, staff and the lounge area inside and outside are great.

Room Tip: Wonderful hotel. We pre-paid on the website and got a bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

First time reviewing, although I stayed here before a couple years ago. I'm platinum in Marriott Rewards, so I was upgraded to a 2nd floor "historic suite". Check-in was a breeze and the front desk was helpful and also explained that a wedding was planned for the night and it might be a little loud in the hallway. No free bottled water as elite amenity or breakfast coupon for lounge not being open on weekend. $15/night for ramp parking on-site (even for weekends).

Room & Amenities: The suite was nice, 2 rooms / 2 flat panel TV's, King bed & pullout sofa. It was an outside hallway corner room, so right off the street. The bathroom was pretty "smallish" for me, especially the sink/counter. Housekeeping: Not so great. No extra housekeeping with turndown service (like towels), only chocolates. The first morning I noticed no bath amenities which was odd (remedied by a stop at the front desk). I also made coffee, but the coffee pack was not replaced. Overall, it seemed like very little housekeeping effort.

Noise: The street noise can be a little loud in an outer room. I would probably ask for a room further not on Washington Ave. next time.

Bar/Lounge: Even though there was a wedding, it was sad to see only one bartender that night. I got frustrated waiting for a beer and left.

Overall: I would definitely rate this above average for the room/stay, but not Very Good or Excellent due to the items noted above. My rate was $189/night, which to me is a little steep for the value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not on the hallway adjacent to Washington Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bk_t1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minneapolis
Downtown
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,300 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot

Address: 225 3rd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55401-2524 (Formerly The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: £96 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel is the perfect blend of history and style. We are located in downtown Minneapolis' Historic Mill District on the banks of the Mississippi River yet close to Nicollet Mall, popular local dining, sports venues, theater the riverfront area. Discover something new and exciting at our Renaissance Hotel. Our hotel has exceptional dining at Milwaukee Road, our on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Minneapolis
The Depot Minneapolis Renaissance Hotel
Minneapolis Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing