We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Twin Cities!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Twin Cities!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

WE have had over a dozen incredible stays at The Depot over the last 6 years and it just keeps getting better and better. The management, the staff at the restaurants and front desk are just incredibly friendly and helpful. Besides being beautiful, the buildings are historic yet extremely well maintained. Liz and Brittney are always helpful with taking care of all of our reservations and special needs (traveling alone with 3 kids....these guys make it seem like a breeze!) and Ronnie always takes care of all our dining needs at Charley's restaurant. I'm not kidding....the omlette's that the gentleman that has been cooking up there for years at the breakfast buffet has mastered his craft! Delicious and get this...they serve those amazing maple donuts with bacon on top! Thank you Depot for making it so easy for us to know where we're staying each time we come to MN!!

Room Tip: The Suites are to die for! Totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myriahmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany E, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Myriahmor-

Thank you so much for your loyalty to the Depot Renaissance! I am so happy that we are able to make your travelling with three kids a little bit easier. I hope you have a chance to visit us again soon, and again, thank you so much for your review and loyalty. Guests like you are what make our jobs so enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    204
    50
    31
    24
See reviews for
141
96
25
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Downtown location. Very clean and friendly. Nice workout room. Full service with good food and cool bar. Great little patio out back. Only a few blocks from Nicolette Mall Area with great little eateries and bars. Best value and highly recommend when in MSP.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Arkansas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany E, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Arkansas B-

Thank you for taking the time to review the Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to utilize many different areas of the hotel. It sounds like you were also able to explore the surronding areas which is something Renaissance brands encourage for it's guests. I hope you have a chance to stay again soon!


Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Depot Renaissance is located near the riverfront area with many restaurants, biking, walking, and running opportunities near by. The hotel is part of an old depot which provides for some interesting historical context. The hotel is a short walk from the light rail station providing access to the airport and Target field. However, the rooms, service, and amenities are nothing special. I expected more from a "Renaissance" hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany E, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Mike V-

Thank you for bringing your concerns surronding staff service and the amenities provided to my attention. While we do try very hard to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable, enjoyable time with the best in guest service, we let you down. I am truly sorry that your stay was not what you have come to expect from a Renaissance property. I do hope that you will stay again so that we can show you the best in terms of service.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wentworth, SD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Everyone from the front desk to the valet were wonderful. The in house restaurant (Charlie's) served great food! Our waitress, Amy, was very helpful and attentive. It was walking distance to shop downtown or walk over the bridge to an area where everyone seemed to be out walking their dog or riding a bike because the weather was beautiful.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Suite that was bigger than we needed.
See more room tips
Green Features: I like the fact that they provided recycling bins near the elevators.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany E, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Sue A -

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel. I am happy to hear you encountered such friendly staff, especially Amy, and I will be sure she is recognized for her helpfulness and attentiveness. I am glad you also enjoyed our green initiative!

Thank you again for your review, I hope you have a chance to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for four nights and was extremely pleased. The rooms are very clean with very nice comfortable beds. The staff were all so nice and very helpful. The location of the hotel was excellent. Near the theatres, waterfront and right downtown. I dined at the hotel one evening and the food and service were excellent!! I would highly recommend this hotel if u are looking to stay in the downtown Minneapolis area. Just a little side note, if your room faces the street it will be loud at night so u may want to consider a room not facing the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishwex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany E, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Mishwex-

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel. I am happy to hear that the staff you encountered while staying with us was so helpful and I'm happy to hear you got to enjoy some of the sites near our property. I hope you have a chance to visit us again soon.

Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Two Harbors, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Had an overall wonderful experience at the depot renaissance hotel. Great location with so many restaurants and attractions within walking distance. Didn't have a chance to get to Charley's restaurant in the lobby but saw that it had good reviews. Staff was so welcoming and helpful throughout the stay, especially Charles and Tom at the front desk. Look forward to going back sometime soon.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany E, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Ashley D-

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel. I'm happy to hear you were able to enjoy our location and the many things to see around the hotel. We will be sure to recognize Tom and Charles for their service to you. We hope you have a chance to visit again soon! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel was really nice! It is located right downtown near the river and is within walking distance to many great restaurants, bars, museums, and many options for things to do. The hotel has great historical facts throughout about the history of the Railway Depot with statues all around which are really quite nice. We stayed in one of the historic suites that was very comfortable and nice. We were shown to the club suite while we waited for our room to be ready which was not a long time at all. We had arrived early in the afternoon. The front desk personnel was quite helpful and gave us some great tips for sightseeing of the river and places to eat lunch. My husband is a platinum member and we went to dinner that evening to return to find a birthday card and bottle of wine. The card had been signed by numerous staff members. It was really quite a nice gesture. We were traveling on business and it really was nice to see how a small gesture went a long way. We did order room service for breakfast which came in a very timely manner. We each ordered the Minnesota omelet. It was really unique. It had black wild rice in it, I really enjoyed it. I am not so sure my husband did but I guess what I really liked about it was it was so different. It's not like any other omelet I have ever had before. This hotel has an ice skating rink that I believe is seasonal and it also has an indoor water park. It is a very nice hotel with excellent service and in a great location to downtown. I would highly recommend the hotel to all and I would definitely stay here again when traveling.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the historic suites and I did hear that the suites are nicer than the other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany E, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Christine-

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel. It is great to hear that you and your husband had a chance to explore some of the area even though you were here on business. It's great to hear that you appreciate the history of our building as well and were able to learn a little more about it. Hopefully you can visit during the winter months when our ice rink is open for skating!

Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minneapolis
Downtown
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Downtown
aloft Minneapolis
aloft Minneapolis
#24 of 49 in Minneapolis
495 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#21 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot

Property: Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Address: 225 3rd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55401-2524 (Formerly The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel is the perfect blend of history and style. We are located in downtown Minneapolis' Historic Mill District on the banks of the Mississippi River yet close to Nicollet Mall, popular local dining, sports venues, theater the riverfront area. Discover something new and exciting at our Renaissance Hotel. Our hotel has exceptional dining at Milwaukee Road, our on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Minneapolis
The Depot Minneapolis Renaissance Hotel
Minneapolis Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing