We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Nice Apartment Style Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
plymouth, mi
Level Contributor
121 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Super Nice Apartment Style Hotel”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot is consistent with other Residence Inns I've stayed at. It's very nice and clean with an abundance of room. I had a full kitchen, living room, bedroom and a big bathroom. I always take advantage of the microwave popcorn too! I had a small balcony overlooking the street too. The bed was comfortable and the linens were nice - not amazing, but not cheap either. Parking is in the garage beneath the hotel and very easy to navigate.

The front desk staff was nice and accommodated my request for an early check-in with no problem. The lobby is rather large with a fireplace, library, pool table and large dining area. This hotel really seems like a nice apartment building!

The location of this hotel is not great if you are looking to walk around downtown. There are other hotels down there that would be better, but this property is probably a bit quieter and maybe a bit less expensive too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adavici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    79
    26
    11
    7
See reviews for
66
35
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here because we originally thought we would be traveling with our pet and this facility allows several kinds of pets. Parking is free, location is convenient for downtown Minneapolis, and you can choose outside parking or garage parking, subject to availability. It is walking distance to several restaurants and has a small convenience store off its lobby. Its staff is friendly and efficient and it is well lit. The facility is clean, but the carpet and appointments show signs of heavy wear and tear. Our one bedroom suite included a small room with tv, couch, small table and 2 chairs, small refrigerator, stove top and sink (a few dishes) -- connected to a small bedroom with a kingsize bed, closet, and bathroom. The bedroom had a tv. Both tvs were connected to cable. I found the suite small and furniture within it crowded, but again it was very clean and seemed reasonably priced for room size and location.Evenings include a complimentary glass of wine in the lobby with a few appetizers. Incidentally, I never saw or heard any pets here, although it is marketed as a pet-friendly establishment. I would not stay here again unless I was staying long term and on a low-end budget.

Room Tip: Especially for women, I suggest requesting a room close to the front lobby elevator to enhance secur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzdat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is the basic free breakfast found at most similar hotels. It would be nice if the TV service in the lobby/breakfast area was the same as the room. ESPN was not available on the lobby TV, a definite no no during college football season. I would think this could be easily addressed by management.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Deserthusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Saint Louis, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I recently stayed at the Residence Inn and after checking the bed bug registry I was concerned. There was a report from 2011 that said room 107 had them. Upon arrival at the hotel I mentioned this to the clerk and he assured me there were no bed bugs. He was funny and joked around with us. Once in our room, I checked the room in great detail to find no bed bugs. We were in room 103 and it was definitely clean-no bugs. Every staff we encountered in this weekend trip was helpful, nice, funny. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvhavinfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nahant, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

When we travel, we like to get a two room suite (emergency insomnia/snoring escape). This reasonably priced and well located hotel fills the bill, Bedroom is pretty small, but fine for sleeping, with a comfortable bed. Generous breakfast is included in the price. Wi fi in the room worked fine. Fridge is a little noisy if you are trying to sleep on the pull out couch in the living room. But it's great to have a place to sit around with friends/family and relax, other than the bedroom. Easy walk to the Mill City museum, the river and parks, and not too far from downtown. I like the location better than the Residence Inn in the downtown city center area. This is my "go to" place in MInneapolis.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bea409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I can understand how the two room suite would be very accommodating to you. I apologize for the noisy fridge. We will definitely have that looked at. We are located in a unique area of downtown that is great for walks, parks and easy location to get to the heart of downtown also. I'm glad to hear we will be your "go to" place when you return to Minneapolis. Thanks for staying at the Depot Minneapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pace, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. I was there FRIDAY night and SATURDAY Night. The hotel was very quiet which allowed me to rest before the Twin Cities Marathon. The hotel was very clean. The front desk was very accommodating with any request that I made. If I were to return to the area, this would be my first choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm glad you had a peaceful stay with us before getting ready for your marathon. I'm happy to hear our staff and rooms were ideal for you. I hope the Twin Cities Marathon went well for you. If you return to Minneapolis next year I hope you choose the Residence Inn Depot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

I came to stay with my granddaughter as her parents went to a wedding. The room was nice, roomy for three of us. Liked the kitchen as we ate in the room, except for breakfast. Spent most of the time at the water park. Breakfast had a great selection and room was large!! Given the same situation would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thanks for your great review. We appreciate any feedback from our guests. I'm glad your visit to see your family was a success. The waterpark is a great attraction for the kids. If you return to Minneapolis I hope you choose to stay at the Residence Inn Depot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minneapolis
Downtown
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warehouse District
TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown/North Loop
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot

Property: Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot
Address: 425 S 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401-2181 (Formerly Residence Inn at The Depot)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#21 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn At The Depot Hotel Minneapolis
Residence Inn Minneapolis
Minneapolis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing